We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$89
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/07
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Chateaux Deer Valley(Park City)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's MountainSide(Park City)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
US$370
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Westgate Park City Resort & Spa(Park City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$205
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Resort & Hotel(Park City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Centric Park City(Park City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Summit Hotel(Park City)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$299
US$284
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
45
32
3
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
32
3
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilver lakeblack beansmid mountaindeer valleythe private hot tubthe living dining areahour coffeefront deskcorner unitdirectly across the streetwalking distanceworked greatminute walkrestaurants and shopsliving roomski rentaltop floor
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 91 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2017

We had a great trip. Glad we stayed at Black Bear Lodge. (Unit 408A)

LOCATION:
Easy walk (1 block?) to the lifts. Deer Valley has complimentary ski and boot storage, so you can leave all of your gear at the bottom of the lift and not lug it to the Lodge. Free hotel shuttle to downtown, and they're very accommodating. Plenty of shops and restaurants right by the lodge, or go downtown to eat and shop.

THE ROOM:
Unit 408A was spacious, and we had lots of room to spread out. The loft is best fit for kids or young adults -- it has a narrow spiral staircase to access, and you have to duck and/or climb over a low wall to get to the beds upstairs. But it's very much OK for guests who don't mind that; and it's quite safe for kids.
The kitchen is well-supplied with pans and utensils for cooking, baking, etc. There are no condiments provided (by law, unopened containers etc). The shuttle will gladly take you to the grocery stores in town.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are relatively recently updated, clean and well kept. The master bedroom window faces the outdoor, common walkway between units, and overlooks the outdoor pool and hot tub, so I can understand why some reviewers mentioned noise. We didn't have much trouble with noise, but it would be useful to have a "white noise" app on your phone to mask it.

STAFF:
The lodge staff were great. Very polite, helpful, patient, and eager to please. They went out of their way to accommodate our requests, large and small. This includes the shuttle drivers as well. (The older reviews that complained of rude or unhelpful staff must be outdated by new management or staff.)

FOOD
There is no food onsite, but there are several good restaurants within a very short walk around Silver Lake Village. The lodge has a complimentary coffee stand and light snacks in the lobby.

SHOPPING and GEAR
There are plenty of ski wear and ski gear stores nearby. I give a shout-out to Ski 'N See which is just up the street from the lodge: they have good gear at very reasonable prices for the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knwpsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia S, Marketing Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for this awesome review! I love the detail. I think our future travelers will find this very helpful. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience.

Kind regards,
Alicia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Unit 201 was a fantastic corner unit with great views of the mountains. The unit had plenty of space for my wife and I and two little boys (5 and 1) plus one of our grandma's. The Lodge is right across the street from the ski lift and with the on-site storage at Deer Valley it made it easy getting to and from the mountain without have to carry all of our equipment. The employees at the front desk were extremely welcoming and nice throughout our entire stay. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank millera980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia S, Marketing Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Alicia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2017

Black Bear Lodge is just a couple doors down from a couple of very expensive hotels, offering the same access to restaurants and the ski slopes (+ 50ft of extra walking). Our condo (#305) was comfortable and roomy with a private hot tub on the balcony. and a view of the ski hills at about 1/3rd the price of the hotels. Excellent Value!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeffrey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia S, Marketing Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again soon.

Best,
Alicia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2017

We stayed in a one bedroom. It was spacious, clean, and well equipped. The hotel is across the street from the Park City free bus and three buildings from Deer Valleys mid mountain lodge (silver lake lodge). No need for ski in ski out, this is essentially the same for a little less. There is no restaurant on site, but Davanza's in Park City will deliver a delicious pizza or sandwich in less than an hour if you are lazy to travel. Free coffee in the lounge and shuttle to town (not to airport though).

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia S, Marketing Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review! Great tips for future travelers. We're glad you enjoyed your stay!

Cheers,
Alicia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

This was our second stay at Black Bear Lodge. The internet for our unit did not work. Also the ice-maker in the refrigerator did not work. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay in close proximity to Silver Lake Lodge.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia S, Marketing Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to hear that you had trouble with the internet and the ice maker during your stay. Since we have a front desk on site at Black Bear Lodge, we can usually tackle those maintenance issues pretty quickly. If guests let the front desk know there is an issue, we can usually take care of it while they're out skiing. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Thanks for staying with us, again! We hope to see you again next season.
Kind regards,
Alicia S.
Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews