We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crescent Moon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crescent Moon Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 St. George B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Be warned”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Lovely decor but far from town, only one restaurant and not always open, overlooks a storage yard on one side and the unplanted downslope of a reservoir on the other. No one on site and we had to drive to an office then it took 20 minutes to wait for someone to bring keys. There is NO breakfast included (other than a small pack of oatmeal, an apple and a banana) though it lists itself some places as a B&B. The towels had holes and, though clean, the disinfectant smell in the place required open windows for a long time. NO amenities (no room service and no fitness center) and about 11 miles from St George. It is a rental condo only and should not promote itself as anything else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerMorales, Manager at Crescent Moon Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
The Crescent Moon Inn was just rated one of the Top Ten Off-The-Grid Getaways by Sunset Magazine, so we pride ourselves in being away from town. We are located in Kayenta Utah, a community 12 miles west of Downtown St. George. The closest restaurants, grocery stores, and other modern conveniences are within 5 miles.

The restaurant that is located in the Coyote Gulch Art Village (a 5 min walk from the Crescent Moon Inn), Xetava Gardens Cafe, is open 7 days a week from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and they are open for dinner Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. We are sorry that you arrived on a holiday, Easter Sunday, when the restaurant was not open. Xetava Gardens Cafe and the Crescent Moon Inn are not under the same management or ownership.

The Crescent Moon Inn’s office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily. Our check-ins are from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. and we state in our confirmation letter that if you are arriving after these hours to give us a call to arrange a late check-in. Since you called us at the point of arrival on Easter Sunday, it took some time to get to the office to check you in.

The Crescent Moon Inn does not currently offer a breakfast with our stays. There are a few complimentary snack items in each room that are our gift to our guests. We are only an 8 unit Inn at the moment so we get classified into the Bed & Breakfast/ Inn Category but we do not have the facilities at the moment to serve a breakfast. The Crescent Moon Inn will be expanding and creating more rooms and amenities with-in the next year.

Another thing we pride ourselves in is cleanliness. Our suites are cleaned from floor to ceiling after every stay. We use a disinfectant cleaner that typically has a citrus aroma; we are very sorry that you didn’t like the odor of that cleaner.

The Crescent Moon Inn is a great place to experience the outdoors and to enjoy the solitude and peacefulness of nature. We encourage people to hike and bike as a means of exercise, and to explore the unique area where we are located.

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your one night stay but we encourage most people to stay 2 to 3 days with our “extended stay discount” so that they can really appreciate what The Crescent Moon Inn and Kayenta Utah has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    7
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

When I came across the Crescent Moon Inn, I knew it looked like somewhere I had to go and I am glad I did, it was a great time. It is in the middle of the red rocks with light restrictions, so if you are into star gazing, this is a great place to go and sit on the balcony and look up at the beautiful night sky. I loved that there was a reservoir right over the hill, next time we go, my husband and I are bringing a raft to relax in the water. The restaurant there was fabulous, we had dinner there and it was great! I am definitely returning to the Crescent Moon Inn and Kayenta - what an absolutely gorgeous place and an extremely great way to get out of the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas. Thank you to Crescent Moon Inn for making a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend for my husband and I.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I booked a room for just one night at the last minute; we had wanted to take our dogs on a little car ride (St. George is just a couple hours north of Las Vegas) for the weekend and was pleased to find availability at Crescent Moon Inn. The setting is spectacular, set at the base of the red mountains, and nestled up against a small lake. The room was spotless and I really appreciated the smartly designed space, which felt roomy for two of us and our dogs. I especially liked that there was no carpet, so I didn't have to worry about my dogs making a mess with their feet! The kitchen is small, but well appointed (though, it could use a small cutting board). I really appreciated that there were snacks and water in the room, which really came in handy. (my parenthetical rant about the lack of food in Utah follows: For some reason, I've never been able to get a decent meal in Utah (multiple trips...never once have I had good food), and this time was no exception...except for the fact that we couldn't even find a place to eat. The restaurant wasn't busy, but apparently was expecting to be busy later, so wouldn't seat us (just us...not the dogs!). The only other sit-down restaurant in town was booked until 8:30, so we hit the grocery store. The next morning, the on-site restaurant wasn't serving breakfast until 10 a.m.! They only had coffee, tea and pastries available.) Rant complete. Everything about the room was comfortable, clean, modern, and as high end as most good Las Vegas hotels. Another reviewer complained about the noise of the a/c unit, but I didn't find it to be an annoyance; it was actually a nice white noise which helped make the room more comfortable to sleep in, and happily, helped keep the dogs calm as well. The beds are firm, there were plenty of pillows, nice soft blankets, plenty of fresh, soft clean towels, a comfy sofa & chair in the LR, an ironing board in the closet, etc. There was plenty of room for us, and it is a great home base for those wanting to have some quiet place to relax and enjoy nature. We saw lots of bunnies, quail, bats (at night), ducks, people fishing at the lake, people walking their dogs, people riding bikes, etc. We didn't bring our swim suits, but there is a pool that you can use as well (it is quite hot in Ivins/St George in the summer). We will for sure keep Crescent Moon Inn on our list of close get-aways from Las Vegas, and will be back (this time sans dogs, with dinner reservations, and for more days).

Room Tip: if you want a view, get a 2nd floor room, or the suite at the front end of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFarleyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed for 1 week in March and had a great vacation. The setting of the Inn is absolutely beautiful. There are lots of walking trails and numerous photo opportunities in the community. The restaurant (great food) and the art galleries are within walking distance and Snow Canyon is a short drive from the inn. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. We stayed in an upper unit which had great views of the red rocks.

Tyler, the owner is a gracious host and always available if you have questions.

Room Tip: This is not a good location for children as they would probably disturbed the other guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank where4artthou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here end of Feb. It was a great location to explore Snow Canyon and the St George area, but simply spending time here in Kayenta with the scenery, the hospitality, the restaurant and the labrynth was incredibly relaxing. We had dinner at the restaurant which reminded me of a kiva. There is a strong yet soothing Mother Earth feeling throughout. Sunrises and sunsets were amazing. The accommodations at the Inn are well thought out and high quality. It was the most comfortable bed I have ever experienced on vacation. Everything we needed was at the Inn. We were in a bottom unit which was spacious and convenient. Hopefully next time we can try an upper unit. Hope to make it back maybe next fall.

Room Tip: upper rooms have access to roof, are quieter and have even better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley15126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Crescent Moon Inn for our one year anniversary. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Our room was beautiful, yet cozy at the same time. The surrounding scenery was just as beautiful as the Inn itself. A morning walk around the Inn was so refreshing. The nearby community of Kayenta completed our amazing stay. A great combination of nature and luxury. The Crescent Moon Inn will definitely be on for list for future amazing getaways.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
221 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The rooms are big and well docorated. The furniture is of high quality materials. Very clean and pretty comfortable in general. The kitchenette and the bathroom are well constructed and easy to use. It is a comfortable place for families.

The surrounding environment is very nice. The small lake nearby is very conveneint and very nice for a morning trail run. Overall, Kayenta is a very quite and secluded place. Perhaps most houses are not regularly occupied.

I have only two concerns. First, the airconditing system is quite noisy. While this is not unusal for a motel room in America, this place is quite expensive. People should perhaps expect more. Second, the sound insulation between rooms is pretty bad. We have heard dogs upstairs and noise from nearby rooms at night. Fortunately, exterior sound insulation is pretty good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George hotels
13.9 km away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 41 in St. George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
15.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
15.5 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#11 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
16.0 km away
Comfort Inn at Convention Center
13.6 km away
Seven Wives Inn
Seven Wives Inn
#1 of 9 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Moon Inn

Property: Crescent Moon Inn
Address: 1504 Cresent Moon Trl, Ivins, Utah, St. George, UT 84738-6728
Region: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the red cliffs of Kayenta, the Crescent Moon is the perfect escape from city life. Come relax and enjoy picturesque desert surroundings and an unobstructed view of the night sky in a private lakeside suite. The Inn is just a short walk away from Kayenta’s Coyote Gulch Art Village where locally-owned art galleries and restaurants house the very best collections the region has to offer. Beautiful surroundings, great company, and delectable menus; it's all waiting for you at the Crescent Moon Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crescent Moon Inn St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing