We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Coalville, Utah, Usa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You can do better.”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Not all rooms are created equal. I stayed here for a week while working in Vernal. Some were clean, some were dirty but all were quiet. Service is mediocre and breakfast is non-existent. The price went up, so I went next door for a nicer hotel. All rooms have flat screens, but only basic cable. If you are just crashing for the night, it's solid. Don't vacation here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delarsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    35
    31
    10
    16
See reviews for
35
34
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Another average hotel on a budget. Although this one did have laundry that we needed and that was welcome, the room was fairly old and a slight smell but have stayed in worse.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akoobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

I have been there for especially with business purpose and decided to stay there and i think i got right decison its nice & enough room with 32 inch flat screen T V & its nice and quite accomdation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 60922David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylmar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The bed was as hard as if we slept on the floor. The room smelled very musty. Luckily we always bring along a Fabreez candle. I would only stay there again if there wasn't anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nldevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernal hotels

Phoenix
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Don't let the exterior fool you, you'll be pleasantly surprised. I called the Choice Hotel phone line (for each 2 stays (max 4) you get a $50 gift card for Chili's restaurant if you reserve on line or call. This hotel is located in Vernal, UT close to Flaming Gorge National Reservoir and Dinosaur National Monument. For $60 (included tax) we were pleasantly surprised. The Motel is nothing to look at, believe me I wouldn't have given it a second glance but the Trip Advisor reviews were OK. I was lucky to get a non-smoking handicapped room (last non-smoking left). What a nice suprise. It was very clean, TV, WiFi, Contental breakfast (nothing special), iron, ironing board, frig, microwave and king bed, but no newspaper. I slept very well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumbylives10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harlem
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Where do I begin..... 1. I booked this room because I was traveling with a toy dog. I went online and this was one of the two hotels in this town that allows pets. The hotel clerk accused me of sneaking my pet into the hotel. (Even though I was walking him around the building on and off the entire stay.) I NEVER would have stayed at this establishment if I did not need pet friendly accommodations. 2. The front desk person is SO RUDE! I booked this hotel by calling the 800 number on the website. Apparently this as an issue for the front desk person. He speaks very little English and acts as though he is doing you a HUGE favor by allowing you into his hotel. (Snide tones and dirty looks even..) We decided to leave one day early and he told me I had to call the 800 number and get my money back from them.. (Is this not one company?!) Rather than tracking someone down for reimbursement we stayed. With that it was an issue to get housekeeping service. The housekeeping staff was genuinely nice. However, they speak NO English. Kind of hard to communicate what you want done with NO way to communicate.. They did a good job considering what they had to work with. 3.The rooms are SO old and disgusting. Above the shower the ceiling is black (Mold?) and it looks as though the ceiling was going to cave in. The carpets are dirty and VERY smelly! You could tell someone used Lysol right before we got there. The microwave and coffee maker sounded like they were going to blow up. The "flat screen" television cut in and out and was not in good picture quality. Beds were VERY old and uncomfortable. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!! There is another pet friendly hotel in Vernal it HAS to be better than his place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loladubowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Very clean and comfortable, out going friendly staff, great location! Give them a try if your in the area you can't go wrong especially with the amazing price...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeriandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernal
1.5 km away
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
#3 of 17 in Vernal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Vernal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Vernal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vernal-Dinosaurland
2.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Naples Vernal
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 311 E Main St, Vernal, UT 84078-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Vernal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Vernal
Vernal Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Downtown Vernal, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing