We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best of the best B&Bs in the country”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We've stayed at B&Bs across the country and Maple Leaf Inn remains our favorite. We always try to make the B&B that we choose part of the overall vacation experience and not just a place to crash for the night and get breakfast. This is our second visit to Maple Leaf Inn and it's like staying with old friends. Mike and Nancy are the perfect hosts from check-in to check-out. You're helped with your luggage when arriving and departing (not something that most B&B innkeepers are even willing to do). Breakfasts are delicious multi-course events. Wine or beer are offered in the afternoon as you relax in rocking chairs on the front porch. The innkeepers' dog, Beckett, provided fun afternoon entertainment. Despite their busy schedule, Mike and Nancy make time to have friendly chats with guests (again, not something that we found every innkeeper is willing to do for more than a minute or two). Enjoyed an evening sitting out by the fire pit under a full harvest moon chatting with other guests. Plus you'll find a different inn chotchkie every evening when your bed is turned down. A really nice touch. After 3 wonderful days, we were sad to have to drive away as Nancy waved from the front-porch. A third trip to Vermont and Maple Leaf Inn is definitely on our to-do list.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 2 different rooms on opposite sides of the house on the second floor and have had abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank_and_Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place to stay in! Perfect service, beautiful Victorian house ,excellent rooms and sleep quality and a delicious local breakfast. The location just by the lake is also perfect.
Warmly and definitely recommended !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shanij60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Nancy and Mike make the beautiful inn a welcoming place. My husband and I stayed for two nights and only wish we could stay for more. Even though we did not see the leaves in their peak foliage, it was a memorable and beautiful trip thanks to the amazing stay we had at Maple leaf inn. Nancy prepared special vegan breakfast items for our sake which we loved! The room itself was perfect and Mike made sure that we had everything to our liking.
Go if you love small, personal touches that adds character and memories to your stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeviKum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Even though we stayed only one night, Mike and Nancy were so warm and hospitable. We felt welcomed as soon as we walked in. The inn is beautiful, clean and quiet. Breakfast was delicious!Their dog was fun. Highly recommend if you travel to Vermont. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pekin, Illinois
4
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Maple Leaf and we just love it there. We love the rooms and the location is centrally located to Woodstock and the Upper Valley. The hosts are fabulous and it so peaceful there. I wish we could have stayed a few more days!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Mike and Nancy were very accommodating and very sweet. The breakfast they served, tasted amazing and looked very appetizing. Offered their knowledge of Vermont and recommended us to visit and eat at nice places! Overall very happy with our choice to stay here!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The beautiful location, comfortable rooms, 3 course breakfasts, and Inn Keepers (Nancy & Mike) attention to detail all add-up to an excellent guest experience. The Maple Leaf Inn is a "must" for anyone seeking an enjoyable and memorable place to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Maple Leaf Inn have unique attributes and characteristics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mricca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
13.9 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
447 reviews
18.9 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
14.1 km away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
468 reviews
13.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
13.8 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range: $205 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing