We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Perfect”
Review of Hen of the Wood

Hen of the Wood
Ranked #5 of 249 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Sit at the kitchen counter -- watch really talented and well trained chefs prepare food that is intoxicating. The Parker House buns with the salted butter.. we could have stopped there and called the dinner a sublime experience. Fortunately, we persevered and shared the duck breast with plum sauce. We watched the duck cooking - it took some time but we loved sitting there and seeing it all. The plum sauce - wow, who came up with that perfect concoction. I would fly back to Burlington just to have dinner there again. Oh, and the noise level was reasonable and the service friendly and professional. Eat here! Often!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 888rsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 874 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Husband had researched carefully where to eat whilst staying two nights in town. Travelling from the U.K. you are reliant on often unreliable review websites but our excitement built when we arrived and everyone raved about this place.

We were lucky to be looked after by two extremely lovely servers who laughed along with us, helped us with our choices and just made for a better experience. Please management if you read this know that you gave gems in Daniella and Tatyana.

All the service and excitement in the world is worth nothing if the food isn’t up to scratch. No worries, it was fantastic. We had three small plates...rabbit, mushrooms, tartare, and a main of hanger steak, all between two. My favourite was the rabbit, soft meat in a light crunchy batter, not u like calamari. The hanger steak perfectly cooked which we had alongside the most flavoursome mushrooms on toast. We finished with some local cheese...this would be my only gripe (not just aimed at Hen) that it was served just too cold.

Thanks guys, you were ace and gave us our top eats on our trip.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MarcB194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018

When Hen of the Wood first came to Burlington our excitement could not be contained, however, over the last year and half of so the menu has gone from creative to predictable.

The pricing used to be a good value, especially for creative entrees, however now you pay >$30 for 5 slices of steak. There are better values elsewhere. Its sad to see a gem start to slip, I hope it turns around.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnchimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

It was enjoyable, but noisy.
I did the oysters and the fried rabbit. Both were prepared well. The oysters were the perfect bland of salty-sweet. My wife's salad are nondescript.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WanderingParsifal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The service and ambiance we recently experienced at Hen Of The Wood were nothing short of outstanding, however the food was extraordinary. The Rabbit Liver Pâté had a mild, yet succulent taste and was especially creamy to the tongue. Accompanied with wood grilled toast, whole grain mustard and house pickles, this small plate offering was exceptional. The Hen of the Woods Mushroom Toast was a perfect fusion of sautéed fungi, wood grilled bread (buttery, smoky and crunchy), a crisp slice of house-cured bacon and a poached egg, perched atop. The contrasting flavors and textures of this appetizer were a marriage made in heaven. Our individual large plate orders of Hanger Steak and Black Trumpet Tagliatelle were also amazing; we craved their complex flavors the following day. Complemented with a smooth and fruity Italian Le Sincette Groppello, this dinner was truly memorable. We eagerly await our next visit to Hen Of The Wood.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hen of the Wood also viewed

 

Been to Hen of the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing