We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Turkish Cuisine ”

Istanbul Kebab House
Reserve with OpenTable
Istanbul Kebab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 244 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Description: Turkish food is a true fusion of many different cultures, a collage of different cuisines so to speak. Turkey, geo-physically located as a bridge between Europe and Asia, has been a melting pot of many civilizations since the beginning of history. Once the land of Hittites and the Greeks, it later became the home of the Turks, a nomadic peoples. Therefore, its cuisine is not only a collage of all the cultures that lived in Turkey throughout history, but also a collage of cuisines from all the lands Turks lived before settling in what was then called Asia-Minor. Today's Turkish cuisine is a fusion of Turkic, Ottoman, Greek, Persian, Arabic, Lebanese, and Armenian cooking that can be defined as a true and unique Mediterranean food experience. Turkish food, as most Mediterranean food, relies heavily on appetizers called "mezes" and especially the freshest of ingredients. Although it has many meat specialties, it is predominantly based on fresh vegetables. Therefore, it offers a perfect combination of vegetarian and meat dishes, appealing to a broad spectrum of the eating public.
Restaurant details
Description: Turkish food is a true fusion of many different cultures, a collage of different cuisines so to speak. Turkey, geo-physically located as a bridge between Europe and Asia, has been a melting pot of many civilizations since the beginning of history. Once the land of Hittites and the Greeks, it later became the home of the Turks, a nomadic peoples. Therefore, its cuisine is not only a collage of all the cultures that lived in Turkey throughout history, but also a collage of cuisines from all the lands Turks lived before settling in what was then called Asia-Minor. Today's Turkish cuisine is a fusion of Turkic, Ottoman, Greek, Persian, Arabic, Lebanese, and Armenian cooking that can be defined as a true and unique Mediterranean food experience. Turkish food, as most Mediterranean food, relies heavily on appetizers called "mezes" and especially the freshest of ingredients. Although it has many meat specialties, it is predominantly based on fresh vegetables. Therefore, it offers a perfect combination of vegetarian and meat dishes, appealing to a broad spectrum of the eating public.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Wow, what a great surprise in Burlington. Every dish from appetizer to desert were fantastic. We tried the Falafel, Hummus, Haydari, Lavash Bread and mixed grill kabobs. The mixed grill included chicken, lamb shish kabob, doner and lamb kabobs. The rice, beets and onions were very good. All the foods were fresh and well seasoned. After enjoying all this food we couldn't resist ordering the baklava with Vermont maple syrup and the Sultan Turkish coffee. If you love Mediterranean food this is a must have, enjoy.

Thank justrong90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your kebabs and sides of pickled red cabbage, rice and marinated onion! You made a great choice with desert and after dinner drink, nice work! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2017

The dining room is small, tastefully decorated and quiet. The service was excellent. It was a pleasure not having someone ask "How is everything?" But the waitperson was ready to respond to any question we might have. I had lamb shish kabob, done medium as I had asked. My wife had stuffed eggplant. We agreed that both dishes were expertly done and expertly presented. The portions were generous but not overwhelming. We shared rice pudding for desert. It had a bit more custard and a bit less rice than one usually finds in such a dish, but it was very good. We are in Burlington rarely, but will make it a point to return to Istanbul House the next time we are in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 949hbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so happy you had a wonderful experience at Istanbul Kebab House. Our Head Chef, Veli, has over 20 years of cooking professionally in some of Istanbul's greatest kitchens. We pride ourselves in serving truly authentic Turkish cuisine and we are so happy you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

After a picture-perfect day on the Burlington Bike Path and Causeway with friends, they took us to Istanbul Kebab House, which for those who remember, stands on the spot of the old Five Spice Cafe.

Highly recommend the Turkish Meze Platter as a starter with includes haydari, hummus, babaganoush, Turkish salsa, stuffed grape leaves, and lavash bread. There is a gluten free option (veggies instead of lavash).

Following the starter I had the Shrimp Güveç a traditional casserole cooked and served in an earthenware dish--shrimp, mushroom, onion, pepper, eggplant, creamy tomato & vegetable sauce, topped with cheese. I chose a Turkish beer (Efes) but there were suggested wine pairings for each dish.

Topping it off was the rooftop dining option which, if available is what you should go for.

Great night, highly recommended.

Thank Aldous802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thank you so much for you wonderful review! We are so happy you and a memorable dinner at Istanbul Kebab House. The rooftop is such a delight, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere was very nice (good service also). However the portions were small (both appetizers and entrees). I wish they were a little bit larger and that would significantly increase the value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frg0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

We have traveled many times to Istanbul over the years, so going to this restaurant was eagerly anticipated. We were greeted warmly and shown to the rooftop. Server was very pleasant and friendly. We had the hummus and wonderful bread to start and then the appetizer platter for two, which consisted of lamb, chicken, beef, pickled onions. Delicious and ample for two. Had two Effes beer to top it off. I would definitely return.

Thank Darleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you so much for the 5 stars and kind words! We are so delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Istanbul Kebab House also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing