We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, NY
2 reviews
“A wonderful, relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights at The Inn at Ormsby Hill to celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary. We were hoping to find a comfortable, quiet, relaxing place to unwind for a few days. We could not have been happier with our choice! Chris and Ted were wonderful hosts, and made us feel very welcome upon our arrival. We got a quick tour of the Inn, and information on shopping, restaurants, and things to do in the area. Our room was fabulous! We stayed in the Tower, which had a desk and chair just inside the door. A few steps up was the bedroom with a beautiful canopy bed, a gas fireplace, a couch and chair, and a television. Up another flight of stairs was the bathroom with a large jacuzzi, and a large shower that doubles as a steam room. The windows in the bedroom and bathroom offered breathtaking views of the mountains. The breakfasts at the Inn were delicious. The Inn is close to many restaurants, stores, and historic sites. It it meticulously decorated and cared for. Ted and Chris and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend the Inn to anyone who wants to escape from the stresses of everyday life for a little while and reconnect with nature.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We are so thrilled you found us comfortable, quiet and relaxing place to unwind and ESCAPE to celebrate your 31st anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you for your 32nd!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    22
    6
    10
    19
See reviews for
24
317
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights with a spring special in the Lincoln room. The room was a good size and nice and bright, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and had a nice large shower. A couple of things to mention would be that the windows did not have room darkening blinds. Also, this room is on the front side of the inn which gets road noise. These may or may not be important to you, but could help pick the right room for you. We found the owners to be nice people. While we were there breakfast was served at 9am only, maybe due to slow season. We would have preferred having a window of opportunity to eat. The view from the breakfast room is beautiful.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pernicketytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Ormsby Hill, and we very much appreciate your comments. Because of the direction of the Lincoln Room, we had never considered room-darkening shades, nor had we had any comments in the past. But we will work on this. Breakfast - yes it was a very slow time of year (hence the special!), which is why we just did breakfast at 9:00. But, once again, thank you for your thoughts which we will seriously consider. We very much look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I recently visited The Ormsby -- our 4th trip, but the first in many years -- and it was just as outstanding as we'd remembered. I booked it as a surprise for my husband for his 40th birthday and mentioned that to Ted and Chris. When we arrived, we received a wonderful welcome by their assistant and it was clear that she was aware of the purpose of our little getaway...wishing my husband a happy birthday. We were given the tour, which was a good refresher since it'd been so long since last time, and then shown to our room. (So far, we've stayed in the Library, Taft, Pierrepont, and Tower rooms, and each one is elegant, yet 'comfy'...which can be a hard mix to pull off. We look forward to our next stay...I think we'll try the Lincoln or Frances next!) We quickly fell into "Vermont time" and loved every moment of it. The breakfasts that Chris creates are SO yummy!...and you won't have a need for lunch. Since it was my husband's birthday, he received a special breakfast plate....with a candle on top of his coffee cake. I hadn't asked for that...they're just really good people that cared about making his day special. We also got excellent advice on local restaurants for dinner. And when we had a need for anything -- like a knife to cut the local VT cheese that we'd picked up and an ice bucket for a bottle of wine -- it was accommodated right away (with a smile). We couldn't have asked for better service throughout our stay. There are so many reasons that keep us coming back to The Ormsby...and we'll most definitely come back again -- though we won't wait so long until the next time! Thanks Ted and Chris!! And give Chance a scratch on the ear for us!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmg4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
K&M - we loved having you back once again, especially for the 40th surprise!!!!!! After all, we love celebrations at Ormsby Hill. As for Chance, consider the scratch taken care of, and he looks forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We made reservations to stay at the Inn over our spring break just for a relaxing getaway from the stresses of work and college courswork. We sure picked the right place to stay. The Inn is located extremely close to downtown Manchester and there was plenty to do within the surrounding areas. The Inn itself is beautiful and exceeded our expectations. Both my girlfriend and I are gluten-free and with advance notice, Chris was able to accommodate our food allergies and served us an amazing breakfast both mornings. This was our first trip to Vermont but won't be our last for sure and we can't wait to visit the Inn at Ormsby Hill again. We will be recommending this B&B to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrballar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We can handle any dietary restriction with advance notice and appreciate the challenge. We are grateful that you will be recommending Ormsby Hill to EVERYONE - but we especially look forward to YOUR return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is our 3rd visit to the inn in the last 4 years and it's become our go-to place to get away from the daily grind and rekindle the romance. The historic charm and comfort of the inn is unmatched as is the hospitality and service that Chris and Ted so happily show towards their guests. The breakfast is more exquisite than a 5 star NY restaurant and it will surely fuel you for a day of hiking, snow shoeing, skiing, or shopping without the need for lunch! When staying at the Inn at Ormsby Hill Chris and Ted make you feel less like a guest and more like a part of their house and community. We have stayed at inns throughout New England and nothing matches the charm, attention to detail, comfort, elegance, and service that we get at the Inn at Ormsby Hill. We can't wait until next winter or maybe a summer visit for our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaInCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for coming back to Ormsby Hill to escape and rekindle the romance - doesn't get much better than that. But, "...nothing matches the charm, attention to detail, comfort, elegance, and {amazing} service that we get at The Inn at Ormsby Hill" truly humbles us. We very much look forward to seeing you next winter - and perhaps this summer for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I decided to take a ski trip and chose to stay at The Inn at Ormsby Hill. So glad we did because we had a wonderful and relaxing time, and Ted and Chris were warm and welcoming!! They prepared us a delicious breakfast each morning fully accommodating our dietary requests. The inn is beautifully maintained and our room was tastefully decorated, we loved the cozy fireplace and whirlpool tub. It was a great value as well with the 25% off in honor of the inn being in business for 25 years. We look forward to our return stay and will recommend the inn to our family and friends!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We are very happy you decided to stay at Ormsby Hill for a "wonderful and relaxing" ski trip to Vermont - and the skiing was so awesome with the recent storm!!! We truly look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watervliet, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I chose this Inn due to the fact that it was listed on the Select Registry and my wife and I had a gift certificate to apply. It was a romantic getaway that we normally would not have the necessary funds to experience if it was not for the gift certificate. We accept some responsibility due to the fact that we had not read the fine print prior to booking (which said to let the inn we were staying at know that we had a gift certificate when booking), but due to the stringent cancellation policy of this property we had no viable options other than losing our substantial deposit. In trying to work with the innkeepers to come up with an amiable solution we experienced what I can only call poor and inflexible customer service and the stay cost us significantly more than we had budgeted for.

The remainder of the stay was less than welcoming. Neither my wife nor I were treated with the comfort and hospitality expected of such a highly rated private Inn. I can agree that the property itself was beautiful and well maintained, but the experience with the Inn Keepers put a damper on the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Regretfully, this couple has not explained correctly what transpired.

Susan spoke with Chris over the phone on the morning of their day of arrival. They had reserved in a three-night stay on a special that we were running – using their credit card as a 50% deposit. She was calling because she wanted to use a Select Registry gift certificate for her stay. Chris explained that we should have been made aware of their Select Registry gift certificate at time of booking (as is noted on the gift certificate). Had we known at that time, we could have explained that they may use their gift certificate, but not also receive the special discounted package that they requested. Chris explained that we do not receive the face value of the gift certificate, thus we note on our promotions that one cannot use a third-party gift certificate. She told Chris to keep the reservation as booked, which we did.

At check-in with Ted, Susan asked him to explain this to Kevin. Ted did so, and Kevin made the decision to use the gift certificate and not participate in the promotion. Therefore, we took off the promotion rate, charged them the regular rate of stay, and applied the gift certificate. This consumed nearly all of the gift certificate value. The amount that was still left on the gift certificate was noted on the gift certificate, following SR directions, and given back to them that evening. Thus, even though they did not make us aware of their SE gift certificate when booking their reservation, we did honor it and applied it to their stay.

We feel our service was excellent. However, they feel otherwise because they would have liked us to take responsibility for their actions/mistakes. This, to us, does not measure up to poor service. We make every effort to be fair, and we hope it is clear that we cannot give a special rate, and then also accept less than the full payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
7.5 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
2.7 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
429 reviews
2.5 km away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
5.2 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Property: The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing