We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for a Motel”
Review of The Red Sled

The Red Sled
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Sled
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 26 May 2009

It smelled really bad. No hot water in the sink. Beds were good, though for a motel. Very expensive for a motel. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

As in a previous response: Our business had been leased to a company totally uncooperative in maintaining the standard of the facility they had leased; causing their guests constant anguish and reflecting adversely on the owners after they regained the property. Litigation ensued with the owners prevailing a second time.
We can only apologize to the writer and hope they will consider us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2008

The red sled is a great place to stay for cheap. It is only a mile from Manchester Center and has an indoor and outdoor pool. There is also a trout pond stocked with huge rainbow trout that rival Orvis. Not the most upscale place but not bad for a few nights.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank VTROCKS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

This hotel is awful. Stay away. The owner, is unprofessional and rude. Every time we tried to phone to book it went to the answer service. When friends tried to contact us while we were there they couldn't. Phone was never answered. It is expensive for the amount of money you pay. There are much better places to stay in Manchester. Rather go there.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstravelworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

We are not able to identify the writer because we had leased our business to a ski area entity.
This company abused our property; would not answer the phones for their guests; would not take care of garbage strewn all over property. Notwithstanding, litigation ensuing against this company with owners prevailing.
Too late to address writers difficulties. We can only offer our apologies and hope the person will return for a different and new adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
78 reviews
2.5 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
661 reviews
2.9 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#2 of 16 in Manchester
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
4.4 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
3.4 km away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Sled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Sled

Address: 2066 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-4464
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $143 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Sled 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Red Sled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing