We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, comfortable and friendly for you and your pooch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casablanca Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, comfortable and friendly for you and your pooch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I really loved this place. They gave us a blanket for the dog (yes, she sleepson the bed), a towel to wipe her feet and local, organic dog biscuits. You get the picture, even Roxy felt welcomed. This little place is not fancy. When the current owners updated the didn't make major changes. The rooms are small, but each has a fridge and microwave. Each cabin has a unique theme and is brightly painted with a small sitting porch. Service is casual (we had to ask for shampoo) but accommodating. The grounds are very nice with a hiking trail at the rear of the property. Outdoor grills and a play area with a gazebo would make this a great spot for a family reunion. The Casablanca is very inexpensive in a pricey area making it an excellent value.

Room Tip: The Only cabin that looked too exposed to road noise and lights was the one facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carryon247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We’re so glad this guest enjoyed her stay with us. We feel the cabins are an extension of our home and we want our guests to feel welcomed, relaxed and comfortable.

While we hope that all dogs would stay off the furniture, we know many dogs (and their people) cannot resist cuddling up to each other on our beds. When we are made aware of this, we are happy to provide a large blanket to cover our bedspreads in effort to keep the bedding clean and fresh, so you’d never know there was ever a dog in that room.

Our environmentally sensitive amenities are travel sized and do include a small bar of soap and a small bottle of shampoo. We’re not sure why this guest needed to ask for shampoo, perhaps it was an oversight on our part. At the Casablanca, we strive to anticipate and accommodate your needs while here.

We welcome you to a casual, comfortable country atmosphere where you will enjoy the privacy of your own single or double-room cabin. As this guest mentioned, we are a great place to hold your next family or friends’ reunion or hold a small, intimate outdoor ceremony. We offer a screened gazebo (with lights, WIFI and electrical outlets), three acres of open land, lawn games, gardens, charcoal grills and more. Think back to a simpler time and come share what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    47
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
99
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Considering the cost of other accommodations in the area, this place is great, for the price.

Pros: grounds are nice, would be great for summertime family fun. Inn keepers are nice and friendly. Heaters in rooms work well.

Cons: "Cottages" are really just painted-up cabins and they are very small; decor is tacky. Rooms look like they were furnished with garage sale finds. Beds are just OK; no extra pillows or blankets. Bathrooms are tiny, cramped, with very old fixtures. Bath linens are old, small and of poor quality. Toiletries meager.

But, here's the thing, we were there to see the countryside. We were on a budget. We did not want to dump a lot of money on luxury accommodations. We just wanted a place to sleep, because we planned to be up early and out of our rooms, enjoying Southern Vermont. Our "cottages" were warm, dry, and safe. We spent the days touring the area, seeing the sites and enjoying great restaurants.

Try Backroads Discovery tours, we had an excellent time!! There is so much to see and learn!
Also, Jonathan's Table is a wonderful little restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Travelers, please note that this guest said the Casablanca Motel was "great for the price". She went on to say she was "on a budget" and did not want to "dump a lot of money on luxury accommodations". Although her rating choices are not what we'd like to see (we strive for all 5"s!), we did seem to meet her needs of a budget friendly,comfortable but not luxurious, place to sleep where she felt warm, dry and safe.

This guest must not have visited our website or seen any of our advertising prior to arriving where we clearly state that we are a cabin property offering uniquely themed single and double-room cabins. Each private cabin is complete with full bath, in-room coffee & maker, small fridge, microwave oven, individually controlled heat/ac, DirecTV and more. Our cabins offer different bed arrangements such as king, queen or two double beds and are decorated in honor of something unique to the Southern Vermont area. Requests for certain cabins are gratefully accepted and we will do our best to give you your first choice in rooms. All of our rooms/themes can be viewed by visiting our website. We invite you to take a look.

Our bathroom linens are standard sized and in my opinion, thicker and more absorbant than some of the chain hotels/motels I've stayed at recently. Our bathroom amenities are travel sized in effort to conserve and produce less waste from guest who might use them only once. These amenities are environmentally safe and believe it or not, once used, are sent to a facility (at our expense) that sterilizes and repackages them for distribution to homeless shelters in the U.S. and to third-world countries to help combat the spread of deadly diseases. All amenities are replenished each day so you will always have enough for the length of your stay. Your comfort while here is important to us. Should you be in need of more soap, shampoo or even extra pillows and blankets, all you need to do is ask.

Please notice that we are open year-round and this guest enjoyed the individually controlled heater in her room. Should the weather be warm, we also offer individually controlled air conditioners or simply open one of the two windows in your cabin for some fresh country air. She also noted that our grounds "would be great for summertime family fun". While we prefer to address any problems or issues while you are here (when we can do something about them), we appreciate the feedback and this guests opinions. Check us out for yourself. Once you are here we think you'll enjoy the privacy and comfort of your very own cabin. We'll even be happy to make suggestions on favorite restaurants or local drives or tours you might enjoy. We're pleased this guest enjoyed our suggestions too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Casablanca Motel. The proprietor was very friendly. We stayed in the Manchester cabin with our 1-year old Chihauhau mix, who received organic treats upon arrival! The room was very clean and nicely-decorated. The king size bed was comfortable. My mother had stayed at the Equinox the weekend prior, and though the two properties are very different, one thing she noted is that we had a large refrigerator and she didn't! That helps when you don't want to eat out at every meal or if you have leftovers (there's a microwave, too). My only complaint (and it's very minor) is that they mention fresh New England coffee, which I thought meant that they make it on the premises and offer it to guests, but it was really just an in-room coffee pot with one of those filter bags. But otherwise, the experience was great and we'll be staying at the Casablanca again on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

simple cottage, sort of like camping out but with a bit more decor..room was same size as average hotel room..clean aside from age related spots on walls,tub,sink drain..housekeeping did clean room daily and made beds nicely...deep cleaning with tilex in bathroom would be very beneficial..grounds are quite lovely..well kept..cheaper plastic porch seats should be replaced at 100$ a night because the porch is really cute to use..nice to be able to bring our pet and stay somewhere decent..if we didnt have a pet, we would opt for a cleaner, less rustic and brighter hotel room though..but for a pet friendly decent room, this fits the bill..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is the 3rd year for our group to gather for our annual Motorcycle Tour of Vermont and New York. Coming from Massachusetts it is a pleasure to head out to this area for the amazing scenery and serenity. We always have a great time no matter what the weather, it has mostly been very nice this time of year and The Cottages work out very well for our group. The owners are great and will help you with whatever you need. We are already booked for our 4th year .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cchuckmmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

These little cabins have everything you could ask for - TV, A/C, Table & Chairs, Coffee Machine, Fridge and Microwave. We rented a pet-friendly cabin and it was very very clean. The grounds are very nice for walking the dog, sitting in the gazebo or cooking outside. The owner was very accommodating. It's close to town. Very cozy and comfortable. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookhaven, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We LOVED our cottage. The owners are the nicest ladies, they make your visit incredibly warming. The cottages are simple awesome. They reminded us of a Gingerbread House only without the candy. Each one is unique in it's own way. They were clean in and out. Amazingly roomy for a cottage. We'll be going back again and again to our "Home" away from "Home".

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjnangle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.1 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 km away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.4 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.8 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Motel

Property: Casablanca Motel
Address: 5927 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Green Hotel in Manchester
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From Main Street to the Mountains, A Simpler Way to Stay" Yankee Magazine calls the Casablanca Motel "Vermont's Best Retro Escape". What's the secret? Ten charming, restored cabins offering a vintage vibe with modern amenities, friendly innkeepers, and realistic rates , recalling the hey-day of American Travel. Whether seeking adventure, exploring the arts or looking to relax in the heart of the Green Mountains, the Casablanca Motel has it all. A year round destination with cozy, clean, comfortable cabins that are individually themed and freestanding with your own private porch and on site parking. Floor plans accommodate, singles, couples and groups. Each private cabin offers Free Wifi, Individually controlled Heat/AC, flat screen DirecTV, full bath with tub & shower, daily housekeeping services, radio alarm clocks, hairdryers, microwave oven , dorm size refrigerator and 4 cup coffee makers with New England coffee, teas and condiments. Pets are welcome in select cabins. Enjoy our 3 acres of grounds with fire pits, screened and lit gazebo, lawn swing and gardens, horseshoe pits and walking trails. Located one mile from the center of town. Your all fun, no fuss Vermont getaway is waiting for you at the Casablanca Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casablanca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing