We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best weekend getaway and most welcoming Inn keepers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Best weekend getaway and most welcoming Inn keepers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This surpassed any and all of our expectations in terms of convenience, service, and proximity to Okemo ski slopes! Our group had a total of four people and from the moment we were welcomed till the time we left, we had an extremely pleasant and accommodating experience. The bedding was softer and more comfortable than in many high end hotel chains. And of course the food was delicious as was the bottomless cookie jar ;)~ We will recommend this inn to all of our friends and plan to only stay here when planning a trip to Okemo. Thanks again to Julie and Michael for their hospitality!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we saw were extremely cozy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great location a few miles from Okemo with very accommodating hosts (Okemo shuttle stop is just outside). Stayed the weekend in a very comfortable, roomy guestroom and enjoyed an excellent breakfast that is top quality. Fresh-baked cookies and chocolate cake as well as cider and coffee available throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I were looking for a cozy B&B for a skiing weekend at Okemo Mountain. And what we found was way more than we had expected! Already on the phone the owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful with a couple of questions that we had in advance! Arriving at the Inn, a delicious soup as well as cookies and hot apple cidre were waiting for us. Also, we found a small welcome package with lip balm, hand cream, tissues and hand and foot warmers in our room! Just fantastic! Our room was very quiet, very nicely decorated and the beds were so cozy! Breakfast was freshly made by the owners and really really delicious. The location of the Inn is fantastic if you like to go skiing at Okemo. It is less than 10 minutes away by car.
All in all, this was our best B&B experience we have ever had! Already planning when to go back there. Can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our family stayed for 5 days over the Christmas Holiday 2011. The hosts Julie and Mike Wood were very warm. We celebrated Christmas Dinner the first night. The rooms are comfortable with good mattresses and clean bathrooms. Some have been recently rennovated with new bathrooms and gas fireplaces. The breakfasts are always delicious, different and plentiful. Apres-ski is great with cookies, tea/coffee and soup. You can bring your own wine, beer or scotch to enjoy with your party.

If you need help with skiing options, activites or dinner reservations, Julie is always accommodating with suggestions and help. We have been going to the Golden Stage Inn every year for the last 3 years and highly recommend it for families, firends, and couples.

Jeff L

Room Tip: Ask Julie for her suggestion based on who is coming
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My friend and I wanted a place in between where we live so we decided on the Ludlow area.
We were so lucky to find the perfect accommodations at the Golden Stage Inn in Proctorsville. It was the perfect spot! From the gracious Innkeepers, Mike & Julie, the beautiful antique fllled common areas with fireplace, the delicious hearty country breakfast and the charming Rev Warren room we shared we loved every moment of being at the Golden Stage Inn.
We were lucky again and stumbled upon Singleton’s General Store located just down the road from the Inn. This unique store is known nationwide for its famous Vermont Smoked Meats. What a treat to find such a unique store that offers just about anything you might need.
I do hope to return to this gem of an Inn and the Ludlow/ Okemo area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlac117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The final night of our family vacation coincided with Tropical Storm Irene. It was a difficult drive into Vermont only to find our originally booked hotel evacuated and closed due to the storm and flooding. Our family of 5 was stranded late in the day with most mountain roads closed. Locals recommended the Golden Stage Inn where we found shelter. Though the Inn was busy, our hosts offered a beautiful 2 room suite for our family. We found the Historic Inn to be updated and very well maintained. Our bedrooms and private bathroom were nicely appointed with a combination of antiques and modern amenities. Our hosts were incredible friendly, accommodating and hospitable throughout our stay. The best part was the dinner they made for us which included a freshly baked chocolate cake for our son's 12th birthday. It turned out to be the highlight of our vacation!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently, I recommend viewing them on-line at the Inn's website prior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Golden Stage is one of the nicest inns we have stayed at while vacationing in Vermont over the last 8 years. Julie and Mike made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived. Our room was well decorated and the bed was comfortable. The common area of the inn is very inviting. We stayed for three nights, and each morning breakfast was delicious. Julie and Mike are really attentive to the needs of their guests. The Golden Stage is a great base location for day trips. In addition to the Ludlow/Okemo area, the inn is close to Weston and the Weston Playhouse, Woodstock, Chester, and other great places to explore. We definitely recommend a stay at the Golden Stage Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctorsville
1.2 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
5.3 km away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
5.7 km away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#5 of 9 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
12.9 km away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
4.1 km away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 399 Depot St., PO Box 218, Proctorsville, VT 05153
Region: United States > Vermont > Proctorsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Proctorsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Golden Stage Inn, we pride ourselves on providing just the right balance between intimacy and privacy, between luxury and down to earth comforts. Situated just miles from great hiking trails, cycling routes, and Okemo Mountain resort (have you tried the zipline?!), Our grounds offer a convenient respite from it all. Stroll down to the babbling brook, get an inside tour of our honeybee hives, enjoy the in-ground pool or sit inside our historic building reading a book or working on a puzzle. Homemade and wholesome breakfasts always included in our rates. Two family suites plus six guestrooms, all with private baths. We redefine the Bed and Breakfast experience! This summer, ask us about our discounted theater tickets to the Weston Playhouse, available for guests staying 2 nights or more. You won't want to miss a theatrical night out in one of Vermont's most charming villages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing