We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, new and near route 2”

Pica-Pica Filipino Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Pica-Pica Filipino Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Description: First and only full-service Filipino restaurant in Vermont! Filipino cuisine reflects centuries of colonization and foreign influences. Evolving from a cuisine predominantly Spanish-based, it is infused with Asian and North American influences. The Chinese brought soy sauce, noodles and stir frying; the Spaniards cattle, grains, tomatoes, potatoes; the Americans burgers, hotdog, rock-and-roll! NOTE: Closed between 12/23 to 12/30. We will have a spacial New Year's Eve dinner (check our website or Facebook site). We will be CLOSED from January 1, 2019 until February 12, 2019.
Restaurant details
Description: First and only full-service Filipino restaurant in Vermont! Filipino cuisine reflects centuries of colonization and foreign influences. Evolving from a cuisine predominantly Spanish-based, it is infused with Asian and North American influences. The Chinese brought soy sauce, noodles and stir frying; the Spaniards cattle, grains, tomatoes, potatoes; the Americans burgers, hotdog, rock-and-roll! NOTE: Closed between 12/23 to 12/30. We will have a spacial New Year's Eve dinner (check our website or Facebook site). We will be CLOSED from January 1, 2019 until February 12, 2019.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

A lot of fun to eat well prepared food from another part of the world. We don't always stop in St Jo, but this is another good reason too pay a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2018

The restaurant has a welcoming atmosphere and the photos offer a nice touch. Pica Pica offers a diverse menu and authentic flavors from the Philippines. The lumpia appetizer can be shared and offers a crisp, light but rich taste. Our family tried several of the main dishes and the pork was most popular with everyone. Be sure to leave room for dessert, the Mango Cake is delicious and the generous portion allows for sharing. The service was efficient and friendly. Be sure to say hi to the chef, he is always willing to share his passion for this special cuisine.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cherylmK3735KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

I randomly Googled "Filipino food in Vermont" and this place popped up. I was surprised to find an authentic Filipino restaurant in St. Johnsbury and we made it a point to stop there on the way home to Boston from Burlington, VT. Our server, Lance, was SUPER friendly and nice.

I am Filipino and was super impressed with the authentic and delicious, as well as beautifully presented food. We were brought complimentary pan de sal with butter (which my daughter quickly devoured), as well as our brunch appropriate -silog plates. The lumpiang Shanghai were crispy and delicious, the sauce accompanying the siopao was addictive...the dessert turonitos were absolute perfection (especially the ube ones!) and the mango cake was as advertised--light and fluffy!

The chef, who is not Filipino, came out to talk to us as well. We were there at 1:00 on a Sunday afternoon, and brunch ends at 2:00, but they let us stay a little later because it was raining and we were not done with our food. Super kind and accommodating! Though pancit is not on their regular brunch menu, the chef was kind enough to make some pancit bihon for my five year old who demanded pancit since she knew she was at a Filipino restaurant.

I only wish this place were closer to Boston--if it were, I'd be there at least once or twice a week!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gusterviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Not only is it important to drive off the Interstate and past the string of wretched fast-food joints which usually congregate around the exits, but to drive into town-- in this case the intriguing center of St. Johnsbury (used as a location in Jay Craven's film, set in the 1920's, of "Where the Rivers Flow North")-- where we found the unusual Pica Pica. I last ate at a restaurant featuring Filipino Cuisine in Manhattan, circa the 1980's. I had the pork adobo, my wife eggplant stew, and for desert we had the entree where everything is thrown in (can't remember the name, but it was splendid). My adobo was satisfying and filling, and the cuisine an exotic variation (Filipino food is a mixture of Spanish, Chinese, and indigenous island cuisine). The service was attentive, the decor a mixture of Filipino folk art, fotos of Filipino pop stars. One disconcerting feature was the bathroom, from which you can see outward, through a one-way glass wall, into the main room of the restaurant. Fortunately, the other patrons cannot see in the other direction! Nevertheless, I had to check this out first, before I, err, "eliminated!"

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank eastmagicmountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We recently visited the Fairbanks museum and found Pica-Pica within walking distance from the museum. The restaurant was not busy, but it was early on a Wednesday afternoon. Our waitress was fantastic and answered our many questions about the cuisine with a smile. We were happy to find they had a vegetarian menu with many options on it for the vegetarian in our party. The chef was also accommodating about special requests from our picky eater in the group. He even came out at the end of the meal to say hello. We enjoyed the entire experience at Pica-Pica and would highly recommend the spring rolls with a San Migel beer.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelmomma91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pica-Pica Filipino Cuisine also viewed

Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Pica-Pica Filipino Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing