We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Brass Lantern for two nights in March 2012. The entire experience was delightful. The hosts were very accomadating and welcoming. We staying in Room #1 which was more than adequate. The breakfasts were delightful, with plenty of selections. The fresh cookies in the afternoon were over the top.
The hosts were also very informative regarding restaurant recommendations and activities planning.
We enjoyed our visit to the Brass Lantern very much, and we will certainly stay at the same location the next time we visit Stowe.
P.S., the view from the hot tub on the back deck is out of this world.

Room Tip: Room #1 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKOddjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment our efforts to create the kind of stay you describe. Room 1 - Spruce Peak is definitely one of our most requested rooms and thanks to your comments we are sure it will remain that way for the foreseeable future! Thanks.

And Mary Anne was thrilled to read that you enjoyed the afternoon tea and cookies.

We hope to see you back soon - just let us know when you would like to stay in your room again!

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
475
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at this charming B&B. We enjoyed the warm hospitality provided by Mary Anne and George. They are very knowledgeable regarding the surroundings and can always recommend a restaurant or activity in the area. We loved waking up to the delicious breakfasts each morning and the beautiful view of Mt. Mansfield. The inn provided a great location for skiing at Stowe and was also close enough for a day trip to Smuggler's Notch. The living room with the fireplace was a nice place to relax after a day of skiing. We also enjoyed the hot tub at night with the beautiful view of the stars. Although the room that we stayed in was small, it was warmly decorated, cozy, and clean. We highly recommend this B&B to others wishing to stay in the Stowe area!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and extended stay. Isn't that view of Mt. Mansfield incredible? That was one of the selling features to us when considering ownership of the B&B. We appreciate the kind words and truly hope we have the opportunity to host you again!
Warmly,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We came here first in Oct 2011 because of the nicely decorated rooms and the atmosphere. We loved it, came back in Feb 2012 and loved it again!

Pros:
- Nice, spacious rooms, well decorated (British / new England style), all have their own gas-powered oven, and all are very clean!
- Overall nice and cosy atmosphere: Inn has only around 10 rooms, people meet at the living room
- Excellent breakfast. Big and fresh. Gives you strength for outdoor activities. Home made cookies and pastries in the afternoon when you come back
- There is a hot tub with excellent view at Mansfield mountain range
- The two owners are soo lovely. They make you feel at home instantly. Also have good local tips for dinning and hiking trails.

Cons:
- If you look for a place to ski-in / ski-out this is not your place to stay. It is located at the rim of Stowe village
- In peak season get booked out quite early

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you as well for your kind words and reviews. Your comprehensive list, especially on the "pro" side matches quite well with our overall business model! Thank you for noticing and most importantly for sharing that notice with the Trip Advisor audience. Truly, a very, very kind thing for your to do for our family owned/operated business.

And yes, while we don't have a ski in/ski out location we hope to offset that with an incredible view of Mt. Mansfield from most guest rooms and especially from the breakfast room. Thus, allowing you to plan your day of skiing from the warmth of your breakfast table! And as for the "booked out quite early" well, we have to admit our goal here is to fill the Inn with lots of happy guests all of the time - so, yes, book early, especially for those peak times!

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experiences here at the Brass Lantern Inn. We hope to see your next trip back to Stowe.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have stayed at many places of this genre over the years in Vermont and Maine, and this is our favorite. The rooms are great, the food is delicious, and the hosts are friendly and helpful but not overly clingy. There is no question that we will be back.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the street. It can be a little noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catriotinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments. We are especially please to read that we are your place of choice when your travel plans include Stowe. Thank you!

And we will do our best to keep you updated on the moose on the mountain! So glad you had a chance to experience that sighting and we enjoyed hearing your stories on that as well.

We hope to see you again soon,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn two times now and this is the best bed and breakfest we have stayed at. Mary Anne is so warm and friendly and makes you feel so welcome that you feel like you are guests of hers. The rooms are very nice and clean and the breakfest is amazing. There is no reason to stay at any other B&B in Stowe...we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Book a room with the fireplace...definitely cozy in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Of course we love to read reviews like this as it help reinforce what we work towards each and every day as Innkeepers of this great place. Thank you for such positive recommendations and we truly hope to host you again, very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the Brass Lantern. George and Mary Anne were perfect hosts. Our room was cozy, clean and comfortable. George's breakfasts were incredible. Both George and Mary Anne were a wealth of information, and quick to provide advise and recommendations on the local area when asked. It was obvious their main goal was to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed the charms of Stowe. I just can't imagine a better experience than the Brass Lantern. We will go back for a summer visit to Stowe, and we will definitely stay at the Brass Lanern.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for the very kind note. And apologies for the delayed response as we have just been wonderfully busy this ski season this one some how slipped our attention.

In this business/lifestyle the rewards are many but one reward that we very much appreciate is the thoughtfulness of your review. Followed closely by reading that you had such a great time here that you want to experience Stowe in one of our other great seasons! Perfect, and thanks again.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Spent a long weekend at the Brass Lantern Inn with my girlfriend a few weeks ago, and despite the temperatures dipping below 0 for most of the weekend, we had a fantastic time. Mary Anne and George are incredibly hospitable and really made the whole experience memorable with their friendly personalities and genuine concern for our comfort and satisfaction with everything. I think I have found my new "home away from home" in Stowe, VT!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopherG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We are so grateful to read that we provided your "home away for home" experience. Thank you for the kind words and for your stay. Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you this way again!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.7 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
5.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
3.2 km away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing