We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Romantic weekend get away...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Stowe
1 review
“Romantic weekend get away...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I had a fabulous time at your hotel, all the staff we're helpful and accomidating to our every need. The frontdesk staff, wait staff, and house keeping were all very pleasent and made our stay with you even more enjoyable....we are very much looking forward yo our next trip. We also enjoyed the sweet little shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnmr5397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    170
    82
    28
    18
See reviews for
127
145
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have stayed here several times and its always been great. The Staff is amazing.. they will go way out of the way to help you in any way they can The Hotel is a bit dated.. but its clean and very comfortable. The food and the service in the restaurant are great. We will stay there again... for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhebayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate knowing how our guests feel about their experiences so that we can make improvements where needed. I am so glad that you had a wonderful experience.

I want you to know we appreciate your comment concerning our establishment being dated. As the economy has been difficult for the past few years we have only been able to update a few areas at a time. Our most recent update, last spring, was putting new carpet throughout our public areas (corridors, lobby & stairs) and new wall paper in the stairways. We do have plans for more updates next spring.

Again I am so glad that you had such a wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We just had a fantastic weekend at the Commodores with our group. We absolutely loved the staff who attended to our every need from check in to check out! Its been a long time since we have had such fantastic service, and its clear that this is a family run inn who values their guests every need. The restaurant was great with good food and awesome service, we enjoyed kicking back at the bar with a cocktail as well as relaxing by the fireplace.

We would highly recommend the Commodores Inn for anyone looking to spend time in the Stowe area

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
286 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Although I enjoyed my stay, I must be honest and tell you that this hotel is a mixed bag. I got a great rate and for what I paid, I would gladly return. The cookies and cider were there when I checked in, but I never saw them again and I stayed 3 days and 2 nights. The restaurant is just AWFUL. The buffet dinner is a gross arrangement of old food, overcooked, blah.Wilted lettuce on the salad bar ( how old was it?) I didn't eat it. A person at my table said it rated a 4 out of 10. The staff gave it a 6 because I wanted an honest answer and my own guess from looking at it was about a 5 out of 10.The chef refused simple requests to improve MY dining experience that I was paying for...I ordered off the bar menu which you may not be told about when you are seated. Someone needs to tell that guy that he is there to feed us, we are not there to feed his ego! Luckily, I had food I had brought with me and a cooler in the car. So it was easy for me to use the lobby microwave to cook meals and I packed my lunch for the great bikepath nearby. I had to ask for a different room when I checked in bec it smelled and when I picked up the phone to call the front desk, it smelled so bad I didn't want it near my mouth! I could also hear the tv clear as day from the next room. That was in the rooms around 105 or so. I ended up being put next door to the pool. My room was ajar when I went to put the key in and the window was open slightly. Security risks need to be paid attention to. I used the pool and hot tub which were both nice. Would have liked the pool a tad warmer. I didn't enjoy it as much as I would have normally so only used it once. The staff was helpful. The second room was clean and the bed was comfortable despite it's age. The furniture really has to be from the 70's and 80's it is really out of date. The conference room was across the hall from me and they woke me up. Someone had keys jangling in the hall at 2"30am but I wasn't quite asleep yet. Needless to say, you can hear everything between rooms and into the hallway. It is a tired old outdated motel being passed off as an Inn, but it is one mile from the lower village of Stowe and therefore convenient. For the amount of time you would spend in the motel, the price is right if you want a budget rate in a great location. It is handicap accessible, but they could use self push buttons for the front doors. They have luggage carts which is nice. They have a cozy living room area with a fire place that looked nice. I would strongly recommend you check your room before you accept it. I was lucky they were not full and were able to give me a different room which was overall just fine. I have been travelling through 10 states over the last 2 months so I have seen a lot of different hotels, inns, and motels. I would rate this a 6or7 out of 10 primarily because of the gross food, outdated image of the rooms, and the noise level if you don't have respectful neighbors or a large group staying when you are. But for me, the location and rate let me overlook the flaws of the place and I would go back.

Room Tip: Check your room before you accept it. Go into town for dinner. The buffet is gross. Bring your own f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your stay with us was not all that you had hoped it would be. We always appreciate the feedback.
Unfortunately, you must have missed the timing on our cookies and juice, as we set our afternoon refreshments out everyday at 3pm and keep them available until 6pm.
I was surprised to hear that our chef was unwilling to fulfill your requests, as he prides himself on going the extra mile to satisfy all of his guests and that you were not pleased with your overall dining experience. I will definitely bring your concerns to his attention and have them addressed. We typically do not offer our separate lounge menu in our dining room, as the majority of guests are intending to eat from our country prime rib buffet, but it is always available upon request.
I will speak with our head housekeeper about your concerns within the first room you were assigned and am sorry that your neighbors were not respectful in their noise levels.
With the economy the way it has been for several years now, our remodeling has been slow, but steady. We have made great strides in improving our guests experiences and intend to continue in this trend as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband and I came to Vermont the last week of October and were disappointed after the check in. We looked at reviews before checking in to see free cookies and apple cidar, buffet breakfast. We found no cookies, apple cidar, and no buffet, even though the price for one was included in the hotel fee. The two double beds had terrible old mattresses and our backs hurt every morning. We had no ironing board in the room and when we asked for one were sent a travel board, not much good for ironing pants, etc. Our dining experience was less than expected. We arrived later in the evening and you could not order off of a menu only take the buffet. There were exactly seven dry small shrimp left and not replenished. The next morning we went to the expected breakfast buffet and found that the chef had decided not to do the buffet that morning! When we complained to the on duty manager she proclaimed not to know and told us to order what we wanted on the menu. The waitress then questioned us about this and acted as though she was doing us a favor. When we received the breakfast we were missing items and had to ask and wait for them only to find the potatoes were the left over potatoes from the buffet the previous evening! NO Laundry facilities either so if you have been traveling for a month like we were you might need to wash some articles of clothing. We were given directions to a laundromat in Stowe. Obviously we did not have a great experience at the Commodore Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate the feedback.

Unfortunately, you must have missed the timing on our cookies and juice, as we set our afternoon refreshments out everyday at 3pm and keep them available until 6pm.

I apologize that there were not enough options available on the evening buffet the night of your arrival, the buffet should be presented exactly the same regardless of the time that you arrive. As for the lounge menu, this is a separate menu from the dining room and is only available until 9pm daily. The breakfast in our dining room was available as an included amenity with your room, however, during times when our occupancy is lower we find it to be a benefit to our guests to have their food cooked to order to ensure the ultimate in freshness, with as many options as they would like.

With the economy the way it has been for several years now, our remodeling has been slow, but steady. We have made great strides in improving our guests experiences and intend to continue in this trend as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

what a find...fabulous homely hotel, very friendly staff, with pool, jacuuzi etc. free cookies and apple cider at the comfy reception area. friendly staff and fabulous breakfast. also got lovely meal for good price in the evening and had great craic in the yacht club bar. only negative is that the hotel does not have a washing machine for guest use, which is much needed by long distance travelers, nevertheless everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Commodores Inn. We always appreciate any feedback that we can get as it helps us to give our guests the best possible experience. I am sorry that we did not have a washing machine available. There is a laundromat just 1 mile up the road which our guests will use. If our housekeepers are not too busy, they are happy to wash some clothes for a long distance traveler! We look forward to welcoming you back again someday.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here the first week in October; our stay in the area was not planned in advance and since it was leaf-peeping season most hotels were booked. The staff were professional, extremely polite and friendly. We stayed in a room with a king-sized bed - the room appeared clean and was a nice size, although it smelled a little on the musty side. It was not significant enough for us to request another room. We did not take advantage of the breakfast that was included in the cost of the room only because we wanted to sleep in late in the morning. We found the hotel to be very quiet and got a great night's sleep - so overall I'd rate the room as average, but the customer service was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We always appreciate the feed back. It helps us to give our guests the best possible experience. I am sorry that there was a slight musty smell in your room. We would have been more than happy to move you if you thought necessary. With the economy being sluggish for the past few years we have not been able to do any major renovations. We have been doing some updates each year. This year we have done all new carpeting in our hallways and common areas and we have also done some updating of wallpaper. In 2008 we updated furnature, carpeting and bedding in about 1/3 of the hotel. So we are slowly making progress. We are happy that the staff were welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back again someday soon.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
10.8 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 25 in Stowe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.4 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.9 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Route 100, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing