We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Nice Grounds”
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good Location Nice Grounds”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This Inn has a good location on the fringe of town, away from some of the busier spots. Nice grounds including a man made lake. Nice patio overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: Accepted our dog without question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    177
    83
    29
    19
See reviews for
133
148
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, CT
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Great location from Ben & Jerry's to hot cider donuts at the Cider Mill. Or even VT Teddy Bear factory and many other great places in Shelburn only 1 hour away. We love this place and already have our next trip planned (before we left). Hotel staff is very friendly, food was great and we could tell that they knew many of the other guests around us. Which speaks highly for thier repeat business. Staying at another hotel would make my next trip incomplete! You have to see the cham of this place for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms 116 + are on the back side with a private parking lot in back. We liked being that close to or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We always appreciate whatever feedback that we get. It helps us continue to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience when they visit us. We look forward to welcoming you next time you are here.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had great time hotel was good staff was friendly, pool hottubes what a great place to unwind after long day of sking site seeing. the cider mill up the street is a must

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I had a fabulous time at your hotel, all the staff we're helpful and accomidating to our every need. The frontdesk staff, wait staff, and house keeping were all very pleasent and made our stay with you even more enjoyable....we are very much looking forward yo our next trip. We also enjoyed the sweet little shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnmr5397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have stayed here several times and its always been great. The Staff is amazing.. they will go way out of the way to help you in any way they can The Hotel is a bit dated.. but its clean and very comfortable. The food and the service in the restaurant are great. We will stay there again... for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhebayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate knowing how our guests feel about their experiences so that we can make improvements where needed. I am so glad that you had a wonderful experience.

I want you to know we appreciate your comment concerning our establishment being dated. As the economy has been difficult for the past few years we have only been able to update a few areas at a time. Our most recent update, last spring, was putting new carpet throughout our public areas (corridors, lobby & stairs) and new wall paper in the stairways. We do have plans for more updates next spring.

Again I am so glad that you had such a wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We just had a fantastic weekend at the Commodores with our group. We absolutely loved the staff who attended to our every need from check in to check out! Its been a long time since we have had such fantastic service, and its clear that this is a family run inn who values their guests every need. The restaurant was great with good food and awesome service, we enjoyed kicking back at the bar with a cocktail as well as relaxing by the fireplace.

We would highly recommend the Commodores Inn for anyone looking to spend time in the Stowe area

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
285 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Although I enjoyed my stay, I must be honest and tell you that this hotel is a mixed bag. I got a great rate and for what I paid, I would gladly return. The cookies and cider were there when I checked in, but I never saw them again and I stayed 3 days and 2 nights. The restaurant is just AWFUL. The buffet dinner is a gross arrangement of old food, overcooked, blah.Wilted lettuce on the salad bar ( how old was it?) I didn't eat it. A person at my table said it rated a 4 out of 10. The staff gave it a 6 because I wanted an honest answer and my own guess from looking at it was about a 5 out of 10.The chef refused simple requests to improve MY dining experience that I was paying for...I ordered off the bar menu which you may not be told about when you are seated. Someone needs to tell that guy that he is there to feed us, we are not there to feed his ego! Luckily, I had food I had brought with me and a cooler in the car. So it was easy for me to use the lobby microwave to cook meals and I packed my lunch for the great bikepath nearby. I had to ask for a different room when I checked in bec it smelled and when I picked up the phone to call the front desk, it smelled so bad I didn't want it near my mouth! I could also hear the tv clear as day from the next room. That was in the rooms around 105 or so. I ended up being put next door to the pool. My room was ajar when I went to put the key in and the window was open slightly. Security risks need to be paid attention to. I used the pool and hot tub which were both nice. Would have liked the pool a tad warmer. I didn't enjoy it as much as I would have normally so only used it once. The staff was helpful. The second room was clean and the bed was comfortable despite it's age. The furniture really has to be from the 70's and 80's it is really out of date. The conference room was across the hall from me and they woke me up. Someone had keys jangling in the hall at 2"30am but I wasn't quite asleep yet. Needless to say, you can hear everything between rooms and into the hallway. It is a tired old outdated motel being passed off as an Inn, but it is one mile from the lower village of Stowe and therefore convenient. For the amount of time you would spend in the motel, the price is right if you want a budget rate in a great location. It is handicap accessible, but they could use self push buttons for the front doors. They have luggage carts which is nice. They have a cozy living room area with a fire place that looked nice. I would strongly recommend you check your room before you accept it. I was lucky they were not full and were able to give me a different room which was overall just fine. I have been travelling through 10 states over the last 2 months so I have seen a lot of different hotels, inns, and motels. I would rate this a 6or7 out of 10 primarily because of the gross food, outdated image of the rooms, and the noise level if you don't have respectful neighbors or a large group staying when you are. But for me, the location and rate let me overlook the flaws of the place and I would go back.

Room Tip: Check your room before you accept it. Go into town for dinner. The buffet is gross. Bring your own f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your stay with us was not all that you had hoped it would be. We always appreciate the feedback.
Unfortunately, you must have missed the timing on our cookies and juice, as we set our afternoon refreshments out everyday at 3pm and keep them available until 6pm.
I was surprised to hear that our chef was unwilling to fulfill your requests, as he prides himself on going the extra mile to satisfy all of his guests and that you were not pleased with your overall dining experience. I will definitely bring your concerns to his attention and have them addressed. We typically do not offer our separate lounge menu in our dining room, as the majority of guests are intending to eat from our country prime rib buffet, but it is always available upon request.
I will speak with our head housekeeper about your concerns within the first room you were assigned and am sorry that your neighbors were not respectful in their noise levels.
With the economy the way it has been for several years now, our remodeling has been slow, but steady. We have made great strides in improving our guests experiences and intend to continue in this trend as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
5.0 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
456 reviews
10.8 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
392 reviews
4.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,248 reviews
6.3 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing