We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for sightseeing!”
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location for sightseeing!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for visiting many places in and around Stowe. The price was right for a weekend getaway (off-season), but the place could certainly use some updating. The decor is 1980s and the bathrooms are just old. However, it was quiet at night, the breakfast was delicious (real maple syrup, of course!) and the staff was cheerful and helpful. It is very close to Ben and Jerry's, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, the village of Stowe (great restaurants and shops) and of course the mountain for skiing/riding. They were very pet-friendly (we took our golden retriever) and there is an amazing fireplace in the lobby (which, with a push of a button from the front-desk staff, became a beautiful roaring fire for us to sit by and read brochures!) We ate breakfast overlooking the lovely small lake and got a great recommendation for pizza delivery one night when we were tired. It was a perfect jumping-off spot for visiting Stowe.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the restaurant and lounge for quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONGOLDENPOND2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feed back.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all that the area has to offer within a short proximity to our inn.

I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant. We make every effort to make our guest's feel like part of our family from the moment they walk in the door.

Thank you for your feedback in reference to the needed updates. With the economy the way it has been for several years now, our remodeling has been slow, but steady. We have made great strides in improving our guests’ experiences and intend to continue in this trend as we move forward.

Warm Regards - Karen L. Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    177
    83
    29
    18
See reviews for
131
148
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2011

If you're on a budget and you don't mind staying in a hotel that is old and tired, stay here. There were several senior travel groups that stayed in the hotel while we were there. The rooms are old, the bedding probably hasn't been replaced in years and the carpet is worn thin. We had to pay a premium because it was during prime time but we will not stay here again. An update to the property would make a world of difference. The only positive is the staff is nice and they set out cookies every afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feed back. I am sorry that we weren't pleased with your stay and would like to address your concerns.

As with many New England towns, during peak foliage season there are several tour groups that visit our area to enjoy all that Stowe has to offer, just as I am sure you did.

I apologize that you found our inn to appear old and tired. As for the bedding, this was replaced recently and the carpeting is only a year old in all of the public areas and 2 years old in the rooms. With the economy the way it has been for several years now, our remodeling has been slow, but steady. We have made great strides in improving our guests experiences and intend to continue in this trend as we move forward.

I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant, as we make every effort to make our guest's feel like part of our family from the moment they walk in the door.

Karen L. Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This Inn has a good location on the fringe of town, away from some of the busier spots. Nice grounds including a man made lake. Nice patio overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: Accepted our dog without question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, CT
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Great location from Ben & Jerry's to hot cider donuts at the Cider Mill. Or even VT Teddy Bear factory and many other great places in Shelburn only 1 hour away. We love this place and already have our next trip planned (before we left). Hotel staff is very friendly, food was great and we could tell that they knew many of the other guests around us. Which speaks highly for thier repeat business. Staying at another hotel would make my next trip incomplete! You have to see the cham of this place for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms 116 + are on the back side with a private parking lot in back. We liked being that close to or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We always appreciate whatever feedback that we get. It helps us continue to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience when they visit us. We look forward to welcoming you next time you are here.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had great time hotel was good staff was friendly, pool hottubes what a great place to unwind after long day of sking site seeing. the cider mill up the street is a must

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I had a fabulous time at your hotel, all the staff we're helpful and accomidating to our every need. The frontdesk staff, wait staff, and house keeping were all very pleasent and made our stay with you even more enjoyable....we are very much looking forward yo our next trip. We also enjoyed the sweet little shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnmr5397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have stayed here several times and its always been great. The Staff is amazing.. they will go way out of the way to help you in any way they can The Hotel is a bit dated.. but its clean and very comfortable. The food and the service in the restaurant are great. We will stay there again... for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhebayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate knowing how our guests feel about their experiences so that we can make improvements where needed. I am so glad that you had a wonderful experience.

I want you to know we appreciate your comment concerning our establishment being dated. As the economy has been difficult for the past few years we have only been able to update a few areas at a time. Our most recent update, last spring, was putting new carpet throughout our public areas (corridors, lobby & stairs) and new wall paper in the stairways. We do have plans for more updates next spring.

Again I am so glad that you had such a wonderful experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
10.8 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.8 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing