We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Town & Country Resort Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very pleasant on the phone, but beware once you pay they are very unaccomodating. They did not want to get me linen for the sofa bed. I had to use my own blankets out of my car. It was extremely dirty and moldy. The apparent non smoking room (they swore up and down that it wasn't) stunk so bad my daughter was heaving in the middle of the night because of the smell. The smoke detector was disconnected, the hairdryer in the bathroom did not work, the pillow were as flat as pancakes and the beds were the most uncomfortable I have slept on ever! We had to sweep up about 200 cigarette butts outside our room. Most of the maybe five chairs around the pool were broken. We booked for two nights, but after the first night they would not refund our money. I Knew that it wouldn't be the most up to date of accomodations, but all I ask for is clean and maybe a pillow and blanket for ever party staying in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skinutstowe, General Manager at Town & Country Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

I just checked out another bus load of happy customers from Texas and then come back to my desk and read this review. I am obviously quite surprised. I wish you would have let the management know of your displeasure rather than writing what I consider an unfair review. I am not sure when you stayed or which room but we only have 3 rooms with sofa beds, I have looked up our history thru September when you claim to have stayed and I still cant figure out when you were here if at all, I dont see any guests from your town of Pelham Canada. However I just went thru my rooms with sofa beds and did not find any rooms with hair dryers that dont work, the smoke detectors were all connected, our sofa beds are always made up with linens ahead of time and our pool furniture was not "all broken". I personally attend to the pool furniture and know this for a fact. I also find it hard to believe the fact your daughter was sick due to our rooms. Our rooms are all non-smoking, unfortunately there are still people who break this rule on occasion which we try to discourage. I just hope you have the right property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

I recently had my wedding reception held here and then spent the night there along with many of my wedding guest (some spent several nights prior to the wedding here as well). Judging from everything they told me, I speak for us all when I say I loved staying here! The rooms were cleaning and plenty big enough. I rented out every room in the pool building for my bride and I and several of our friends and bridal party (other guest stayed in the main part of the inn). This worked out awesome because they have a huge balcony coming off the second floor as well as a nice sized 'common area' inside where we were able to unwind and be social together. I didn't get a complaint from any family or friends.

The wedding itself was perfect thanks to town and country- Rich and Millie (and others) were there to provide quick responses to any questions I had and was able to make all aspects I wanted at my wedding come to life (having a piano tuned and ready for my brother to play out first dance, having access to a portable projection screen so I could have a slide show running, red napkins, etc, etc) The food was delicious (LOVE the cheese fritters with Vermont cheddar) and presentation was nice, staff was friendly throughout the day.

We had breakfast there the following morning and that was just as good with a wide variety of breakfast options for guest that stayed and they let guest who didn't stay there still join us (at their expense for breakfast)

I only gave spa and fitness center an average rating because I did not use or see them, I was too busy, so I didn't want to say they were good or bad, I am sure they are quite nice though.

All in all, A+ experience. I recommend for a nice stay in stowe and/or a wedding reception site.

Thanks guys!
Ryan and Bonnie

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vt3dogs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The price was good for this area & it should be no surprise that this resort is a few decades overdue for a major update. I had stayed here before in one of the rooms attached to the main building and although it smelled a little bit, it was otherwise clean & comfortable. So I thought that I would stay here again in 2011.

This turned out to be a big mistake. We were placed in the annexe to the side with the pools. This whole building smelled awful (including our room), there were cobwebs on the windows & the ceilings, and we just didn't feel comfortable at all. In fact we almost considered leaving and finding another place, but in the end $115 was too much money for us to just waste, so we reluctantly stayed for the night.

If you really cannot find accommodation elsewhere in Stowe, then I advise that you check your room first before parting with your money.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skinutstowe, Manager at Town & Country Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. This is the first I heard of these complaints from you, hopefully you did let someone know at the front desk, if I had known about this I would have looked into the complaints and try to rectify them immediately. I do not know when you were here or which room you were in, as I can not determine this from your review. As for a smell present "throughout the whole building" I am not aware of any offensive smell throughout the building. We have many guests that enjoy the Pool building rooms and request them year after year, particularly for their privacy and extra space in the rooms.
Please let us know next time so we can take care of the situation. My family has owned and operated this property for quite some time and take pride in our guests satisfaction. We are sorry your stay was not up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This motel was fine. The rooms were a bit dated and the wallpaper in the bathrooms should be redone, but the room was clean and fine.
The motel isn't really walking distance to anything, but its only a short ride into the main area of Stowe.
The motel offers a free breakfast in what looks like a reception hall. There was only one waitress, but she did fine, and the food was ok. Nothing fancy, but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_hanson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Affordable place to stay when you just need a clean place to drop off your stuff & get out for the day. There are two large pools (one indoor with a hot tub & one huge outdoor).Lovely buffet breakfast.is served on lower level. Easy access to bike path & main street. Good value .....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DkmBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Travel all over New England and this place was very nice...was clean and a decent size TV--nice ground---nice pool---wifi worked and was "High speed"-- breakfaast was not the typical stale bagel they actual served you breakfast FREE.. you could order off the menu and a waitress served you .. FREE---- towels were not scratchy (like a resort I stayed at in Lincoln NH) --will stay here again for business.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phathomgourmeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had an impromptu extension to our stay in Stowe. We were really just looking for a place to sleep after a day of sight seeing. We did not require any extras and this motel seemed to fit the bill.

The left wing has an upper and lower section. The lower doesn't have much of a view but the sound from the highway is buffered. We stayed in the upper section and as the windows were open the sound of passing traffic could be heard in the morning. The right side units are more secluded and seem to be the premium ones and cost more. There is also a a large cottage for rent which looked well kept.

Our room was basic and looked dated but was clean enough. The one drawback was the slightly musty smell when we entered. The air conditioning was loud so we opened the windows which took care of the smell. The room included an older tv and free internet.

The indoor and outdoor pools were quite large and workers were cleaning them first thing in the morning. They also had tennis courts at the back of the property.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. I had the eggs, bacon and pancakes while my wife had the omelette. It also included coffee and a juice. I believe that at busier times it is more of a buffet style. The restaurant is surprisingly large and nice and bright. A pub is attached and the waitress was very attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
4.8 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
285 reviews
2.1 km away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#15 of 24 in Stowe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.3 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
0.2 km away
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
#14 of 24 in Stowe
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Resort Motor Inn

Address: 876 Mountain Rd, PO Box 1497, Stowe, VT 05672-4629
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range: $117 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town & Country Resort Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete resort motor inn with ideal group amenities including spacious dining room and Fireside Pub. Facilities include outdoor and indoor pools, sauna, hot tub, tennis court, pond, fishing stream and spacious grounds. Comfortable guest rooms with cable TV, telephone, hairdryers, coffee makers and free WiFi. Most rooms have 2 double or 2 queen size beds, some with king bed. Convenient location close to Stowe Village and walking distance to cinema, shops and nightclubs. Adjacent to the award winning Stowe recreation path for walking, biking and cross-country skiing in winter. Owned and operated by the Marron family since 1975. Forty-five rooms and one rental house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Town & Country Resort Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Resort Motor Inn
Town & Country Resort Motor Hotel Stowe
Town Country Hotel
Town & Country Resort Motor Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing