We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully convenient for skiers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have stayed at the SML three times, most recently this past weekend, and we have appreciated especially its convenience, its amazing heated outdoor all-season pool, and the many ways in which it pampers its guests. It's not perfect, and a few cracks start to show when you stay there during the high season (like school vacation week in February, our most recent visit), but we have enjoyed ourselves there enough to return several times, and hope to go back in the future. Summary of the key points:

Rooms: Beautifully furnished, comfortable beds, immense bathrooms (I would have traded some of the bathroom space for more room elsewhere). My husband and I and our two teenage sons were in a studio with king size bed and queen size pullout sofa, and it was tight but workable. The main drawback from our perspective was that there were very few places to hang wet clothes, of which we generated many -- since ours was an "owned unit", the main closet was locked and full of owner stuff, so we only had a smallish wardrobe with a handful of hangers, plus the bathroom with one towel rack. Why not install more towel racks and hooks in the bathroom for bathing suits, snowpants, parkas, etc.? Other issues: (1) no doubt because it was so busy, the beds didn't get made up till late afternoon, and the sofa bed didn't get set up till late, one night not till 8:45; (2) the South wing rooms are really far from the main lobby and restaurants and it's a constant parade of people going to and fro in both directions. It took us a good 5 minutes to walk from our room to the lobby. OK for us, but you have to be up for this; (3) SML is a pet friendly hotel, which means you might very well be living next to a dog, and if that dog isn't happy, you will hear it expressing itself -- not so nice. But generally, the rooms are well-appointed and comfortable.

Meals: Despite expanding rapidly each year in terms of rooms, the hotel only has the same two main restaurants -- the main formal one, Solstice, and the more informal bar/restaurant, Hourglass (where we happily had all our dinners). This means you have to plan ahead to deal with the crowds, or head elsewhere, like down the long hill into town. Our approach was to get a table at Hourglass in the late afternoon, like 4:30 or 5, hang out there with a glass of wine, and then get our boys to join us for dinner around 5:30 or 6. Families who arrived at 5:45 or after generally had to wait for a table, sometimes for a while. But -- we found the food to be quite delicious. At Hourglass, we had yummy flatbreads, calamari, and our boys had chicken nuggets and fries which they found satisfactory. The breakfasts at Solstice were delicious -- really tasty, crunchy granola, excellent yogurt, fresh fruit, wonderful sausages and croissants, etc. My only beef -- the coffee wasn't the greatest and not always hot, kinda crazy in a luxury hotel like this.

The pool: The wonderful, large outdoor pool is what really makes this hotel special, in our view. You can climb into it indoors and it's quite warm, getting a little cooler gradually as you head out through a transition area, but never too cool. There are two toasty hot tubs that are a wonderful guilty pleasure -- you can sit there for as long as you want, looking up at the slopes, in any kind of weather. There are little lockers for your clothes, and usually an ample supply of towels. It's the kind of place you can spend hours with a silly grin on your face. Only suggestion: they really need to add a warm spot (indoors?) where parents can keep an eye on their swimming kids. Not the little kids, that you need to be right next to, but the older semi-independent ones. You see lots of parents hovering, shivering, either outside, or in the windowed corridor upstairs (with an easily blocked view of the pool, and hordes of people tramping by, not a restful spot), How about carving off a little piece of the fitness area that directly overlooks the pool for this purpose, with chairs for watchful parents?

Other things to note:

Ski valet service: This is wonderful, and makes skiing ever so convenient. You just call from your room a few minutes in advance and voila, your skis are waiting for you on a rack just steps from the slopes. At the end of the day, you just hand your skis to the nice folks waiting at the rack, and head into the toasty hotel. Never had to wait. So convenient.

Cost: SML feels pricey to us, and it's the kind of place where money just leaks out of your pocket all day long. You have to be prepared for this. And prepared to spend your time with many other guests who seem to enjoy public spending of large sums.

Overall, SML has felt like a treat for us, a place we look forward to going and enjoying ourselves. But it ain't cheap, and for those connoisseurs of fine travel, it may feel more like a great bustling commercial enterprise than a grand hotel with service to match and a soul at the heart of it. But if you keep your expectations in line, you should enjoy the place a great deal, as we have.

Room Tip: South wing rooms are far from the lobby. And if care about the view, ask -- many rooms overlook park...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,662)
There are newer reviews for Stowe Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,245 - 2,251 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

It's not cheap but really worth every bit. Celebrity treatment, fantastic gym, pool & mountain sports.We've come here 3 times (in the fall for hiking and winter for snowboarding) and always a great experience. It's a good family resort. The outdoor pool is a huge draw and the two hot tubs were perfect. One tended to be adults only, and the other, the family hot tub. We went over two school holidays so there were a lot of families, so I'm not sure how it is for non-family travel. The ski valet was wonderful and made our trip so easy. No hauling equipment all over, just get off the slope and they take care of your gear until you are ready to go back on the slopes. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kccsnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Excellent accomodations at the Lodge and very accomodating staff. We stayed for 1 week and enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer. Terrific food, spa and layout of the hotel made for a very restful vacation. Staff was very professional and Concierge service exceptional. The Concierge directed us to great restaruants including the Solstice dining room at the Lodge. Ski valet a great touch. Look forward to our next trip to Stowe.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equal - choice of view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Bspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Extremely disappointing experience.....the hotel is for families with children only....it feels very much like an hotel in the Catskills in the 1970's.....there are unsupervised children everywhere......these children, who cannot seem to manage eating utensils properly, command the hotel and are continually praised by their parents....who I suppose received the same praise from their parents....the walls between the rooms in the hotel are extremely thin so the noise level from the adjacent rooms and the hallways is quite loud.....particularly in the early morning hours.....the families begin arguing and talking at full throttle without remotely considering that perhaps the people in the adjacent room may still be sleeping....absolutely no manners.....had the hotel been built properly with better soundproofing, perhaps this wouldn't have been as much of an issue.....the main restaurant of the hotel is not large enough to accomodate the amount of guests.....for breakfast in the morning it is necessary to go to the restaurant and place your name on a waiting list.....then wait for near thirty minutes for a table.....just as bad for dinner.....only then to sit in a room full with children.....the outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs are simply so unpleasant at the end of a long day of skiing.....they are filled to capacity with mainly children.....there are so many people that from a distance it looks like a public swimming pool on a hot summers day.....this hotel is not for people who travel properly.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdwgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. Stowe Mountain Lodge tries to cater to a variety of travelers - families and independant travelers, alike - and understand that effort conflicted with your goal for your trip. Please be assured we are looking into ways to decrease the crowding in the restaurants and pool at the end of the day by offering alternative options and activities. We hope that you will visit us again and see our successes in these areas.

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a very well managed property. Ideal location -- everything was handled by our online reservation, including our ski rentals and dinner reservations at Solstice. Ski valet had everything prepared for us each morning, so that immediately after the delicious breakfast at Solstice we could hit the slopes at 7:30am. The incredibly friendly valet staff and baggage handlers recommended where to go and what to see when we were not skiing -- we took their advice and visited the Matterhorn which was very enjoyable. We will be recommending this property to our friends and family, and absolutely returning to Stowe Mountain Lodge when next skiing in New England. Their prices are justified by their premier location, abundant amenities and terrific staff.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the mountain view, it is worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We came here on overly crowded president's day weekend - huge mistake. The resort has no problem hiring under qualified staff and charging outrageous prices- read $750 per night for a tiny studio room located on the ground floor overlooking the hotel lobby valet- without the ability to service the guests. The spa is overpriced and underwhelming and the onsote restaurants serve food that should be half the price, if that. The fireplaces didnt work and Even the one in the lounge didn't work becuae of a previous incident that the under qulaifiied staff couldnt explain. I've stayed at so many lovely resorts and never felt compelled to leave such a negative review but Stowe lodge was so disappointing. Icant believe we spent $5000 on 4 nights and such valuable time off to come here. We felt the experience was such garbage overall and wished we stayed home. Our room was well furnished and the sheets particularly
nice but the resort feel like its managed by children and the quality of service leaves much to be desired. Go elsewhere , you deserve much better.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've been to the Stowe Mountain Lodge 4 times now, and have had a terrific experience each time. We're picky travelers we're somewhat ashamed to admit (we've been very disappointed by some Four Seasons and Ritz hotels), but we have very little to complain about here. The rooms are extremely nice. Cocktail and appetizers in the afternoon is a nice touch. Terrific ski concierge and easy ski-in/ski-out. Wonderful hotel concierge will handle anything you ask. Restaurants are terrific. Hotel also provides outstanding service -- even unusual requests are dealt with happily. My wife loves the spa, and there are very few spas about which she'll say that. We're seriously considering buying a Front Four unit as a result. Only points we wish were better are (1) rooms aren't very well soundproofed to the hallways. Can be loud, as it's a hotel full of families. I don't know if it's that the families are louder than usual, or if the hotel has less soundproofing to the hallways than usual, but would be really good if they could find a way to improve this a bit; and (2) room service is good, but a little bit informal in the service experience -- the servers assume we want to set up the food ourselves, etc. But all minor issues, to an all around outstanding experience. Absolutely on par with the best resorts in the West, and there is absolutely nothing else close to it east of Colorado.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgrahamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for sharing such kind words about your recent ski vacation with us! We love the feedback that allows us to our celebrate successes like the spa, but also give us the opportunity to improve upon other areas like our In Room Dining you mentioned. We will certainly look into improving upon the formality of the delivery. We hope to see you back in Stowe for your 5th visit soon!

Regards,
Heinrich von Puschendorf
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
7.7 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
4.3 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
8.6 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
132 reviews
9.8 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
5.2 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: $279 - $1,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing