We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience”
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Main inn was a lovely building, nice porch and pleasant dining room. My room was not in the main building; and was very dismal, dated and gloomy. Bathroom outlet did not work, hairdryer was grotty and there needed to be a new mattress. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good location in center of town.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms outside of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

On a road trip through NH and VT, spent 1 night in Stowe. Very comfortable bed, clean and newish bathroom, with a sitting room as a bonus. An older hotel (heritage sight) right in the middle of town. Did not eat here, but have been told dinner is particularly good. Also serve breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

A TRUE GEM!! What a wonderful find! My friends and I passed through Stowe for one evening and stayed here. We were pleasantly surprised how adorable this Inn is when we pulled up! We were greeted by the owner who made sure our stay was fantastic. We enjoyed eating dinner at the restaurant (holy mac and cheese, YUM!) and having some drinks at the bar. The service is excellent and they really make you feel like you're a guest in someone's home. The hospitality is above and beyond here. You feel like part of the family. I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone who wants a comfortable, cozy, down home feel! Thank you to The Stowe Inn for giving us an unforgettable experience. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lexi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed in the main house, which was charming yet creaky. If you don't appreciate old farmhouse-style places, you won't like this inn. The decor of our room was gorgeous and it was well-appointed. The room was also very large. However, old places have creaks, cracks and lack certain amenities - like adequate outlets and key cards. (we had to use real keys for the door) My biggest complaint was that the boiler broke and we had no hot water...and in Vermont, the water out the tap is frigid. Showering was a misery. All would have been fine had the issue been acknowledged with an apology at the very least. Nothing. Not an "I'm sorry for the inconvenience" or an offer to discount our stay, a coupon for breakfast. Nothing. Its charm was overshadowed by the poor customer service. Oh, and there's no elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Song4Ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Checked into our room early in afternoon, staff was very nice. We never went to our room until later that evening and we had no towels. Asked the attendant if he could get us some towels and he came back a bath mat, a hand towel and 2 pool towels. We had 4 people in the room. The faucet in the sink looked like it was going to fall off and the shower faucet as well. The floor in the room had white stuff all over. We had young children in the room with us and they wanted to play with their toys and I had to tell them to get 0ff the floor. The furniture was dirty. For the price I paid it is absurd and It was such a disappointment the condition of this room. The hotel 8 would have been better. Pipes and wires were exposed from a heater of some sort in the wall. The management should be ashamed of renting this room. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The Stowe Inn provided all i needed. Upon arriving i was greated warmly by Lee. The accomodations for my teen daughter and i were in the main house. Nice big comfy beds and clean room. The restaurant was delish and the bar was great!!! Great selection of wine and spirits , but what put the cherry on top of my stay was the Heddy Topper. The Stowe Inn exceded all of my expectations. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Stowe Inn with my husband and four month old daughter. The room was comfy and had a cute little balcony, and the staff was super kind and accommodating. Plus, Stowe Inn is the only reasonably priced place to stay within walking distance of town! The restaurant on site looks tasty, but there are also a ton of other places to eat just ten minutes away on foot. Lots of hiking trails nearby, and the pool looks inviting, too. I would definitely recommend this Inn for families traveling in VT!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.3 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
154 reviews
10.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
285 reviews
4.5 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,367 reviews
0.6 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: $93 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing