We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
131
114
69
75
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
114
69
75
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver house restaurantthe main housecharacter and charmcharming placenew englandshort drivetavernpianofireplaceskiing
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 474 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Main inn was a lovely building, nice porch and pleasant dining room. My room was not in the main building; and was very dismal, dated and gloomy. Bathroom outlet did not work, hairdryer was grotty and there needed to be a new mattress. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good location in center of town.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms outside of the main building
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

On a road trip through NH and VT, spent 1 night in Stowe. Very comfortable bed, clean and newish bathroom, with a sitting room as a bonus. An older hotel (heritage sight) right in the middle of town. Did not eat here, but have been told dinner is particularly good. Also serve breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARYL2174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

A TRUE GEM!! What a wonderful find! My friends and I passed through Stowe for one evening and stayed here. We were pleasantly surprised how adorable this Inn is when we pulled up! We were greeted by the owner who made sure our stay was fantastic. We enjoyed eating dinner at the restaurant (holy mac and cheese, YUM!) and having some drinks at the bar. The service is excellent and they really make you feel like you're a guest in someone's home. The hospitality is above and beyond here. You feel like part of the family. I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone who wants a comfortable, cozy, down home feel! Thank you to The Stowe Inn for giving us an unforgettable experience. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LexiR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We stayed in the main house, which was charming yet creaky. If you don't appreciate old farmhouse-style places, you won't like this inn. The decor of our room was gorgeous and it was well-appointed. The room was also very large. However, old places have creaks, cracks and lack certain amenities - like adequate outlets and key cards. (we had to use real keys for the door) My biggest complaint was that the boiler broke and we had no hot water...and in Vermont, the water out the tap is frigid. Showering was a misery. All would have been fine had the issue been acknowledged with an apology at the very least. Nothing. Not an "I'm sorry for the inconvenience" or an offer to discount our stay, a coupon for breakfast. Nothing. Its charm was overshadowed by the poor customer service. Oh, and there's no elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Song4Ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Checked into our room early in afternoon, staff was very nice. We never went to our room until later that evening and we had no towels. Asked the attendant if he could get us some towels and he came back a bath mat, a hand towel and 2 pool towels. We had 4 people in the room. The faucet in the sink looked like it was going to fall off and the shower faucet as well. The floor in the room had white stuff all over. We had young children in the room with us and they wanted to play with their toys and I had to tell them to get 0ff the floor. The furniture was dirty. For the price I paid it is absurd and It was such a disappointment the condition of this room. The hotel 8 would have been better. Pipes and wires were exposed from a heater of some sort in the wall. The management should be ashamed of renting this room. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews