We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
91
16
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
16
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding reception beautiful property terrific hosts breakfast prepared wonderful weekend caledonian skiing stowe barn
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 118 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2016

We enjoyed a nice winter visit to the 1824 House this past weekend. We stayed in the Caledonia room, which has a wonderful view outside from the bed. Breakfast was made for us each morning. One morning we enjoyed a ham & cheese omelet. The other morning, we had a frittata and yogurt with granola. The food was so tasty and the portions were large and filling. We're getting married at the 1824 House in the fall. We love their view of the mountains and their old rustic barn for dancing. The innkeeper and staff couldn't be any nicer and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2016

There are lots of nicer, prettier and better run inns and B&BS in the Mad River Valley to chose from. The owner is not a resident innkeeper, and the inn is not well maintained. Plumbing problems persisted during our five day stay, our rooms were not cleaned, and the innkeeper was unable to address our needs in site preparations for our wedding. It is lovely venue for a destination wedding, but the spectacular setting did not compensate for the substandard service. The so-called event coordinator (daughter of the owner) was not present on site during the wedding preparations, was unprofessional and not responsive to our needs, and was rude to outside vendors and guests alike. Our guests stayed at various locations in the Waitsfield area and all had more positive experiences than our wedding party.

Room Tip: Avoid a second floor room where your head will head the ceiling and you can't stand up in the shower.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S, Manager at 1824 House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you, Paula, for taking the time to share your experience at the 1824 House. My name is Emily, I am the property manager and a member of the family that owns the property.The Inn was indeed built in 1824, and while it has been renovated extensively, old houses occasionally have problems. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with a small maintenance issue, but I ask for your understanding and acceptance of our efforts to remedy the problem. I assure you that our family invests both time and money in order to maintain the buildings on the property, while respecting the country charm our guests expect. The miscommunication regarding the responsibilities of our innkeeper in terms of wedding site preparations was unintended, and we have amended our documentation as a result. If you have occasion to travel to the Mad River Valley in the future, I would like to invite you to return to the 1824 House so that we may provide you with an experience that more accurately represents our commitment to impeccable customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2015

The inn is old but completely restored, with wide board wooden floors in the upstairs bedrooms and a combination of antique and contemporary furniture and beautiful Vermont-theme pictures on the walls. The place is spotlessly clean and freshly painted in appealing pastel colors. It was ski season but a late warm fall, so the town still had not filled with tourists. The several good restaurants and many shops were in full swing, both in the town of Waitsfield in surrounding idyllic towns of Warren, Stowe, etc.

The inn manager Stacy was the nicest hostess we can remember in many years of "inning". She made wonderful breakfasts to order, was a great conversationalist, and made sure all of our needs were met.

The "barn" next door is worth seeing, even if you're not looking for a place for a wedding reception or other event.

There are several nice inns and B&B's in Waitsfield, and the 1824 Inn is probably the best. It was also quite reasonably priced.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views of surrounding mountains and farms. Our room was the largest of the 8 in the inn, except the honeymoon suite.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2015

We chose to stay at The 1824 for two nights during our fall foliage forage. We selected the Washington room and found the room and the 1824 both to be a great place to stay and a good value.

The house was spotless, room very spacious and well appointed. Stacey the hostess was very helpful and attentive. Freshly baked treats awaited guests upon their arrival. Breakfast was served between 8 and 930 in the dining room.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank friantfoodsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2015

We stayed in the Caledonia room during the July 4th weekend. Our host Stacey was incredible. Always available in person or via cell phone but not intrusive at all. We were able to bring our dog which was great as well. Our room was phenomenal - the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up in the morning, but the delicious breakfasts made it a bit easier. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying at Stowe/Sugarbush.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vlad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews