We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
91
16
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
16
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptionbeautiful propertyterrific hostsbreakfast preparedwonderful weekendcaledonianskiingstowebarn
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 118 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2017

We visited the house as 4 families with children, and wanted to do some skiing but also have the option of relaxing and exploring some of the other charms of the area. The 1824 House was a great place for us. Our kids really enjoyed the sledding hill in the back, and we had space to spread out and have a nice vacation. The house is close enough to Sugarbush and the shops in Waitsfield, which was convenient. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Our daughter recently got married at the 1824 House and although it rained the entire weekend, that did not put a damper on the wedding. First of all, Gwen and Stacey were fabulous. They could not have been more accommodating. They took care of our every need. We felt so comfortable there -- almost like we were at home. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially the homemade cottage cheese pancakes. Gwen made sure that every detail of the wedding was taken care of. We had no last minute panics, in fact the morning of the wedding was more like a very relaxed gathering of family and friends. Everything went smoothly. Stacey could not have been more accommodating and attended to whatever need we had. We had two dogs there and they were treated like they were part of their family. There is much to be said for staying in one location for a wedding and not having to travel back and forth. We walked from the bed and breakfast to the barn on the side of the house for the wedding to a heated tent in the back for dinner. It does not get better than that! The food that we had for the wedding reception was terrific and prepared on the same grounds, as there is a chef's kitchen under the barn. We opted for the buffet at the wedding which got rave reviews from our guests. Everything from the barn to the dinner tent was set up and decorated beautifully.
All our expectations were met. We would definitely recommend anyone who has a wedding in the future to speak to the 1824 staff you will not regret it.. and we will be returning there at a future time for another great weekend! Thank you Gwen, Stacey and all the staff that made it possible...

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank sciummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2016

This place is beautiful. Friendly staff. The house has very steep and narrow staircase. Breakfast is very good, but there is no wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. We stayed there three nights, and the room was never clean, even after we put out the sign and make personal request. We only got new towels ! With that being said, we don't mind staying there again in future

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hieverybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

My husband and I recently got married at the 1824 House and were beyond happy! When you book this property you are getting so much more than a wedding venue - you are getting a home in which to entertain friends and family for a weekend!

As a wedding venue it was perfect. The barn was lovely and the tent out back really allowed us to have a separate space for dinner. We were able to set up lawn games in the front and there was plenty to keep everyone entertained! Unfortunately, our wedding had pretty bad weather (raining and 96% humidity) but there were plenty of spots for people to keep dry and have fun while doing it. It's such a beautiful property and the Vermont backdrop created our dream wedding. We also had such a lovely stay at the Inn - the breakfasts and snacks were delicious, we were made to feel very welcome, and our two dogs were completely doted upon.

The staff was also really great. The Innkeeper Gwen served as a day-of wedding planner making sure that we stayed on schedule and everything got done (I didn't realize this was part of our stay, but it was such a welcome surprise!) The catering staff were all very professional and everyone remained very flexible to accommodate the unfortunate weather.

I would recommend this venue to anyone who really wants to feel like they are getting married at home but with the conveniences of a wedding venue!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Our daughter was married recently at the 1824 House. The venue was spectacular. The wedding coordination provided by Gwen was just terrific. The bride and groom and immediate family members stayed at the House and we just can't say enough about how well we were treated. The innkeeper is a wonderful cook and served us great breakfasts. The rooms were clean and very comfortable.

Our guests continue to tell us that this was the best and most beautiful wedding they ever attended. Thanks to all at 1824 House for making it happen.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews