We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of 1824 House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1824 House Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2017

If you are looking for a nice location for a wedding reception, this works. Lodge can accommodate 14 or so and the facilities behind the house include a barn and a place to put a large tent. Innkeepers were great and the place was well kept. Good location with easy access to Waterbury, Stowe, Burlington. Mountain biking, skiing, hiking, fishing, breweries, swimming all close by. I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Bennington room comfortable queen bed and quiet. Steep staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kielar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed in the Caledonia room, which has its own patio and looks out on beautiful rolling hills. The inn keepers couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating and helpful. We had a great fourth of July weekend, complete with hiking, swimming, relaxing and great dining. All in all, a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Caledonia is on first floor and has a private patio. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KarenMartin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

My husband and I live locally and chose to stay here for our first wedding anniversary and it exceeded expectations; clean, delicious, down-to-earth, and cozy!

The innkeepers, Karyn and Eric, were personable, friendly, down-to-earth, and make delicious Vermonty home-cooked breakfasts to order (and yummy cookies!). The property is beautiful, and was immaculately clean. All the amenities you might need for a quiet weekend away are included; coffee/tea and breakfast, great shower products, AC if needed, wi-fi, and a community fridge and freezer guests are welcome to use. Even better, the property is dog friendly. We were able to bring our dog with us and stay in one of the dog-friendly rooms for the weekend.

Within 30 minutes of the 1824 House Vermont attractions of all kinds abound, and many even within 10-15 minutes. We loved our time at the 1824 House, and highly recommend to anyone looking to enjoy the Mad River Valley in Vermont!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We visited the house as 4 families with children, and wanted to do some skiing but also have the option of relaxing and exploring some of the other charms of the area. The 1824 House was a great place for us. Our kids really enjoyed the sledding hill in the back, and we had space to spread out and have a nice vacation. The house is close enough to Sugarbush and the shops in Waitsfield, which was convenient. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Our daughter recently got married at the 1824 House and although it rained the entire weekend, that did not put a damper on the wedding. First of all, Gwen and Stacey were fabulous. They could not have been more accommodating. They took care of our every need. We felt so comfortable there -- almost like we were at home. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially the homemade cottage cheese pancakes. Gwen made sure that every detail of the wedding was taken care of. We had no last minute panics, in fact the morning of the wedding was more like a very relaxed gathering of family and friends. Everything went smoothly. Stacey could not have been more accommodating and attended to whatever need we had. We had two dogs there and they were treated like they were part of their family. There is much to be said for staying in one location for a wedding and not having to travel back and forth. We walked from the bed and breakfast to the barn on the side of the house for the wedding to a heated tent in the back for dinner. It does not get better than that! The food that we had for the wedding reception was terrific and prepared on the same grounds, as there is a chef's kitchen under the barn. We opted for the buffet at the wedding which got rave reviews from our guests. Everything from the barn to the dinner tent was set up and decorated beautifully.
All our expectations were met. We would definitely recommend anyone who has a wedding in the future to speak to the 1824 staff you will not regret it.. and we will be returning there at a future time for another great weekend! Thank you Gwen, Stacey and all the staff that made it possible...

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank sciummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This place is beautiful. Friendly staff. The house has very steep and narrow staircase. Breakfast is very good, but there is no wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. We stayed there three nights, and the room was never clean, even after we put out the sign and make personal request. We only got new towels ! With that being said, we don't mind staying there again in future

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hieverybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

My husband and I recently got married at the 1824 House and were beyond happy! When you book this property you are getting so much more than a wedding venue - you are getting a home in which to entertain friends and family for a weekend!

As a wedding venue it was perfect. The barn was lovely and the tent out back really allowed us to have a separate space for dinner. We were able to set up lawn games in the front and there was plenty to keep everyone entertained! Unfortunately, our wedding had pretty bad weather (raining and 96% humidity) but there were plenty of spots for people to keep dry and have fun while doing it. It's such a beautiful property and the Vermont backdrop created our dream wedding. We also had such a lovely stay at the Inn - the breakfasts and snacks were delicious, we were made to feel very welcome, and our two dogs were completely doted upon.

The staff was also really great. The Innkeeper Gwen served as a day-of wedding planner making sure that we stayed on schedule and everything got done (I didn't realize this was part of our stay, but it was such a welcome surprise!) The catering staff were all very professional and everyone remained very flexible to accommodate the unfortunate weather.

I would recommend this venue to anyone who really wants to feel like they are getting married at home but with the conveniences of a wedding venue!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
5.2 km away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
328 reviews
6.9 km away
The Hyde Away Inn
The Hyde Away Inn
#12 of 15 in Waitsfield
69 reviews
6.7 km away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
245 reviews
1.3 km away
Mad River Inn
Mad River Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
114 reviews
8.4 km away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1824 House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1824 House Inn

Address: 2150 Main St, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6173
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $189 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1824 House Inn resonates with the charm of the past, while retaining the comforts of today. Conveniently located on historic Rt 100, The 1824 House is just minutes to both Sugarbush and Mad River Glen ski resorts. We are proud to offer eight comfortable rooms with private baths, featherbeds, beautiful views and hearty homemade breakfasts. Guests also enjoy our cozy fireplace, wi-fi access throughout as well as a television in the common room. Swim in our clear Mad River swimming hole in the summer and snowshoe or sled our property in the winter! The inn also serves as an idyllic Vermont wedding and event venue. Don't miss our rustic barn or the views from our river-front pasture and hilltop meadow which serve as the property's most celebrated event sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1824 House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1824 House Inn Waitsfield, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing