We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
91
16
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
16
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptionbeautiful propertyterrific hostsbreakfast preparedwonderful weekendcaledonianskiingstowebarn
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 118 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We stayed in the Caledonia room, which has its own patio and looks out on beautiful rolling hills. The inn keepers couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating and helpful. We had a great fourth of July weekend, complete with hiking, swimming, relaxing and great dining. All in all, a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Caledonia is on first floor and has a private patio. We loved it.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KarenMartin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

My husband and I live locally and chose to stay here for our first wedding anniversary and it exceeded expectations; clean, delicious, down-to-earth, and cozy!

The innkeepers, Karyn and Eric, were personable, friendly, down-to-earth, and make delicious Vermonty home-cooked breakfasts to order (and yummy cookies!). The property is beautiful, and was immaculately clean. All the amenities you might need for a quiet weekend away are included; coffee/tea and breakfast, great shower products, AC if needed, wi-fi, and a community fridge and freezer guests are welcome to use. Even better, the property is dog friendly. We were able to bring our dog with us and stay in one of the dog-friendly rooms for the weekend.

Within 30 minutes of the 1824 House Vermont attractions of all kinds abound, and many even within 10-15 minutes. We loved our time at the 1824 House, and highly recommend to anyone looking to enjoy the Mad River Valley in Vermont!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017

We visited the house as 4 families with children, and wanted to do some skiing but also have the option of relaxing and exploring some of the other charms of the area. The 1824 House was a great place for us. Our kids really enjoyed the sledding hill in the back, and we had space to spread out and have a nice vacation. The house is close enough to Sugarbush and the shops in Waitsfield, which was convenient. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Our daughter recently got married at the 1824 House and although it rained the entire weekend, that did not put a damper on the wedding. First of all, Gwen and Stacey were fabulous. They could not have been more accommodating. They took care of our every need. We felt so comfortable there -- almost like we were at home. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially the homemade cottage cheese pancakes. Gwen made sure that every detail of the wedding was taken care of. We had no last minute panics, in fact the morning of the wedding was more like a very relaxed gathering of family and friends. Everything went smoothly. Stacey could not have been more accommodating and attended to whatever need we had. We had two dogs there and they were treated like they were part of their family. There is much to be said for staying in one location for a wedding and not having to travel back and forth. We walked from the bed and breakfast to the barn on the side of the house for the wedding to a heated tent in the back for dinner. It does not get better than that! The food that we had for the wedding reception was terrific and prepared on the same grounds, as there is a chef's kitchen under the barn. We opted for the buffet at the wedding which got rave reviews from our guests. Everything from the barn to the dinner tent was set up and decorated beautifully.
All our expectations were met. We would definitely recommend anyone who has a wedding in the future to speak to the 1824 staff you will not regret it.. and we will be returning there at a future time for another great weekend! Thank you Gwen, Stacey and all the staff that made it possible...

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank sciummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2016

This place is beautiful. Friendly staff. The house has very steep and narrow staircase. Breakfast is very good, but there is no wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. We stayed there three nights, and the room was never clean, even after we put out the sign and make personal request. We only got new towels ! With that being said, we don't mind staying there again in future

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hieverybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews