We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal if you want close to the mountain, otherwise families should stay elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ideal if you want close to the mountain, otherwise families should stay elsewhere”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for the New England Tough Mudder. We wanted to be close to the start, so the location was ideal. It was very exensive, and worth it to be close, but it wasn't value for money.

The staff did an amazing job everywhere in the hotel, and did an awesome job with the huge influx of visitors for the weekend. The cafe downstairs was great to get breakfast supplies and lunch.

The biggest downside is the building itself; its creaks and groans and there is no noise proofing whatsoever - which was annoying given the party going on upstairs and we had an early start. We spoke to management the next morning, and the half dozen youngsters above us were checking out that day. That night though security was walking up and down the corridors to ensure that the fun didn't get out of hand. That said though, the noise problem still exists even if there are considerate guests above.

If you don't absolutely have to be mountainside, I would suggest checking out some of the smaller inns and lodges around the area. The place is probably great for singles and couples, but families should look elsewhere.

Again, staff were great, but this place is over priced to be value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, so that you don't get kept awake by the noise from rooms upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    133
    36
    26
    14
See reviews for
115
91
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The staff was accomidating and extremely friendly! Ski check was a great help and I loved being able to basically ski up to the door of my hotel. Outdoor hot tub was hot and relaxing, as were the steam room and sauna. It was great and would be wonderful for families. Me and my girlfriend will be going there many more times in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel would be 5 stars if it taught the staff more about customer service. The first thing they need to change is the big badge rent-a-cops that patrol the area. They have guys at the pool and health center who appear to live to yell at the pool guests for things like playing with a ball or having children in the hot tub. Don't these guys know guests are paying over 500 per night for lodging? Just low rent kind of attitude.
The lodge is very nice, it is a bit overpriced but the market bears what it bears. The restaurant is very good but is somewhat inconsistent. We had some 5 star meals mixed with poorly cooked meals and even a good milk gone bad dessert; try sour milk in the creme brulee...yuck!

If you have money to burn and want to be slopeside, and don't mind being treated like you spent half of what you spent, check out Grand View. If you want to spend a little more and be treated like you did, try Okemo, though the downside at Okemo is no valet, haul your own suitcases beotch!

Room Tip: get the first floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwcjbush, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We appreciate that you provided feedback on your visit, and apologize for the challenges that you encountered. We strive to maintain an above average experience and we will share your comments with the staff so we can work on solutions to reduce these concerns in the future. We do hope despite this issue, you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that we have to offer and will take the opportunity to try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is great amenities like a fantastic spa, great fitness area, great deli, restaurant but the best part is the skiing back to your room. The hotel is very friendly and a great staff especially Tom who knows everything about the slopes. The only thing is the hotel is older and so is the bedding. The room is clean. The pull out couch mattress is very thin. The Murphy bed is better but the blankets were standard. Overall the hotel is worth it.

Room Tip: Bring extra blankets and rooms closer to the lobby is better for getting to your room faster. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at the Grand Summit for the first time for an overnight during the week. It was easy to get to and we had a great time. Other than the great skiing, the highlight was swimming in the outdoor heated pool and hot tub at night in February - the kids (ages 11 & 15) got a big kick out of that (so did we!).

We stayed in a studio room overlooking the mountain. It was clean and neat, with a Murphy bed (which was surprisingly comfortable) and a pull out couch, which was fine for the four of us. It had a kitchenette, (which we didn't really use, but it would be nice if we were staying a little longer). The bathroom was nice (and I'm a stickler on that) with an additional sink outside of the bathroom.

We ate at the restaurant right in the hotel and the food was good and reasonable priced. We also got breakfast coupons and ate at the Vermont deli right at the hotel in the morning and the breakfast was excellent. Omelets, scrambled platters, pancakes, plus the sides and a drink were all included.

Because it was during the week, the rates were better and it wasn't busy. I am sure that weekends and holidays are a different story. I would recommend this spot - and we loved the convenience - we could drop our bags and skis, and didn't have to go out for anything. We'll be back there again soon and stay for longer!

Room Tip: Ask about which side of the mountain your room is facing. An upper level room avoids the foot noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have been going to Mt Snow for 12 years, and every year they have tried to incorporate new improvements. This year they brought on a new chef and we had some of the best meals on resort in the past 12 years we have been going.

Their work on the mountain is terrific. Even after a very rainy Friday, we had an enjoyable day on the slopes Saturday.

It has been a rough year with the terrible flooding in the late summer and lack of natural snow this winter. Anyone that enjoys skiing should make a weekend trip to Mt Snow and spend some money in the local shops.

Great stay, looking forward to 2013.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CubFanInSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have stayed here many times. Great location for families. Right at the base of the mountain and close to all lifts, rentals etc. Great pool and work out room as well. Spa and yoga are also very good. Food...OK...but some of the smaller places in town are better. Also..it can be a bit noisy if the hotel is full as many families do use this location.

Room Tip: Get the slopeside view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwitsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.5 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
168 reviews
26.4 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
297 reviews
16.6 km away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
349 reviews
26.2 km away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
4.8 km away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Address: 39 Mount Snow Road, PO Box 2805, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escaping to a world of complete relaxation and exhilaration to fulfill your next great adventure craving has never been easier than visiting the Mount Snow Grand Summit Resort Hotel. Located in the renowned Green Mountains our idyllic, year-round resort is an incomparable staging ground for your outdoor vacation activities with family, or for a romantic getaway. We offer guests just about every amenity imaginable so there is truly something for everyone. This is in part why we’re fast becoming a leading wedding and conference destination. Let us help you begin your Grand Vermont adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit West Dover
West Dover Summit
Grand Summit West Dover
Grand Summit Resort Hotel Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing