We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Dover B&B and Inns
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Snow Goose Inn and each stay was wonderful. Cyndee is a great host who makes you feel welcome and goes out of her way to assist with accomodating guests. We traveled with our dog and enjoyed one of the dog-friendly rooms. The breakfasts are fabulous. You can also go up a little before breakfast and grab a cup of coffee to take back to the room. If you're looking for brand new everything, this isn't your place. But if you care more about feeling welcomed and staying in a friendly inn, don't pass by the Snow Goose Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors would be quieter, but warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHtraveler65656565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    36
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
206
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

the snow goose inn was the perfect choice for our romantic getaway ~ our suite was very private clean and cozy ~ we enjoyed delicious country breakfasts delivered to our suite in a lovely wicker basket each morning because we chose to sleep in ~ we enjoyed the wonderful roomy jacuzzi by candlelite ~ we lounged by the wood burning fireplace in our lush robes that were included in our romantic package ~ we enjoyed champagne and incredibly delicious strawberries that were hand dipped in deep rich chocolate also included in the romantic package we chose ~ we were made to feel like family by cyndee who we visited with as we enjoyed wine and cheese each afternoon downstairs ~ we will remember our romantic stay at the snow goose inn fondly. without a doubt we plan to return to this lovely paradise north and look forward to visiting with cyndee again ~ she is the sweetest person and perfect hostess

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Snow Goose Inn. Cyndee Frere is a warm, friendly hostess who really makes you feel comfortable. From the charming wine and cheese hour to the incredible breakfast choices, you feel like you're in a good friend's home. Our suite was great with it's quaint fireplace and huge jetted tub. Thank you, Cyndee, for a memorable stay!

Jim & Chris B

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

What a wonderful, homey inn. We were greeted with a message on the bulletin board (just like Mom used to do!) and we got to wander through the house to find our room. It was a brilliant way to manage the vageries of guest arrivals while making us feel at home. The "family" gathers around the fireplace for wine in the evening. Inn-keeper Cyndee can describe all the menus/specials of the local restaurants, and helps everyone pick the perfect place for their meal, even making last minute reservations.

Cyndee is also the breakfast chef - make sure you try the Snow Goose version of eggs benedict - they're excellent! We had such a wonderful time - our trip was made even more special because of the warm welcome we got at the Snow Goose Inn. Try it - you'll like it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy-in-Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We recently took a weekend trip up to the Snow Goose Inn, what a perfect way to spend a few days. We were gifted with the Living Social deal and knew little about West Dover, Mount Snow or the Inn. We can't wait to go back! Our room was quite large, the jacuzzi was lovely and the balcony offered a place to sit and and get some fresh air. Cyndee made our weekend away feel like we were right at home, complete with homemade country style breakfast that kept us full well past the lunch hour and great conversation over wine and cheese in the evening. There are so many options when looking for a place to go for a weekend but you're hard pressed to find Cyndee at any of them! It was the most perfect way to spent a weekend away from every day life. We were even lucky enough to meet Ron while dining at Two Tannery up the street, what a treat!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have been going to Snow Goose Inn for the past 5 years, This is the only place where we can immediately enter the foyer and relax. Its like a home away from home. We have also turned our friends into Snow Goose regulars and they're sun worshipers. The owners Cyndee and Ron are masters at hospitality. They can help you with things like lift tickets and restaurant reservations.

The inn almost has a dual personality. If you just want to escape and be alone with your significant other, have a romantic vacation, and go antiqueing, you can do that. If you bring your family to enjoy skiing, hanging out, sip wine and eat cheese at Cyndee's evening fireside chats, that's totally doable.

Now the best part, the breakfast. The maple cured bacon is devine! The eggs benedict, devine. The oatmeal, delicious! The scrambled eggs with Vermont cheddar is out of this world. You get a superb breakfast to get you ready to hit the slopes at Mt. Snow (which is only a mile away).

After a day of moguls, black diamonds and yard sales, you can return to the inn and relax, some rooms have jetted tubs. If you're starving, take in the local fare, to which Cyndee is expert. She has a plethora of knowledge and menus.

I am thoroughly satisfied with the Snow Goose Inn! You must pay them a visit. Wake the kids and call the neighbors. Cyndee and Ron will treat you like family and we consider them family. Kudos!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quite comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TS_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk,NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our visit to the Snow Goose Inn was great. We love Vermont and our stay, even in mud season, was very enjoyable. We arrived before check-in and were able to go to our room early. I really appreciated this. The Inn is very pleasant and Cyndee, the innkeeper, is terrific. She welcomed us with wine and cheese time before dinner and made sure that every guest that joined us was comfortable. Each day she provided restaurant suuggestions geared to our liking, and room in her refrigerator for leftovers. The breakfast she served was excellent; cooked to order with a homey feeling including warm blueberry muffins right out of the oven. The dining room, like the rest of the Inn, provided a chance to mingle with other guests if you wanted to, but didn't require it. Our room with a fireplace and jacuzzi was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. It also had a porch which allowed us to get a breath of fresh air as we wanted it. I enjoyed the common areas with plenty of books to read and lots of windows to look out. At Cyndee's suggestion we visited the area attractions of The Vermont General Store and the House of Mary at Ephesus. Our trip also took us to the Honora Winery for tasting. There is plenty to do to fill your day and quiet time to sleep. I would highly recommend the Snow Goose Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancersurvivorSCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.0 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.5 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
2.3 km away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#6 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 km away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.3 km away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing