We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overrated and overpriced”
Review of Kitzhof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kitzhof Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
New England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Way overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Kitzhof is in a great location for skiing at Mt. Snow. It also has a nice "vibe" to it and the owners are nice. There is a big common room on the first floor with several sofas, a TV, game tables, etc., so it would be nice for larger groups. There's also a fridge available for anyone to use, which is nice.

On the other hand, as many have noted, the walls are paper thin. It's really weird because they seem to be wood paneled, but it's like there's nothing behind the paneling. In the bathroom it was like there was someone standing right next to you talking. It didn't seem very clean, for example in our bathroom there was old carpeting that had a stain on it near the shower, and a sign that said to please tuck the shower curtain in. There was also a sign that the toilet handle needed to be held down to get a complete flush. This was very annoying. Fix the toilet folks. The breakfast was included and was good, but it's not offered until 7:30! The lifts open at 8:00, so of course there's no way to get your free breakfast and be at the lifts when they're open. There are also no coffee makers in the rooms.

Our bill was over $180 with tax for one night. This was really expensive for the quality of the room. The bed wasn't even very comfortable! We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    40
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Kitzhof. The good: The owners seemed nice and the breakfast was served quickly and was quite tasty. Nice way to start the day. The building is interesting and the common rooms have a warm welcoming feel. The not so good: We checked in after skiing. My wife got a hot shower but by the time I got in all I could get was lukewarm -- and on the cool side of lukewarm. Would be fine in the summer, but after skiing a hot shower is a must. The bedspread had a bad stain on it. It may have been clean but wasn't very appealing. There was a clunking noise that repeated during the night. Woke me several times. I think it was water pipes when folks flushed toilets. More minor criticisms: There was no hair dryer in the room. I can't recall staying anywhere that didn't have hair dryers in the rooms. We never even considered packing one. When I went to the desk to get one I was told that if we used it very long the breakers would trip. We had no Wifi in our room. I'd heard the owners telling someone else that the wifi didn't extend to all of the rooms and that they'd need to go to the common rooms. It wasn't a horrible experience and I'd definitely stay there if we got stuck in town during a snowstorm and it was the only room we could find. But otherwise we won't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitzhof, Owner at Kitzhof Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your response and I am glad you liked most aspects of the Kitzhof Inn. It is a characterful building and has corresponding quirky ways and noises about it which is in line with its age. Sometimes when everyone comes in at once and takes a shower the hot water slows down but picks up again if you wait a short while. I am sorry you were not aware of this and we applologise for not telling you as we usually do. Hair dryers are available at reception on request. You will be please to know we have installed boosters for the WiFi due to greater demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Pro:
- They were able to make me good gluten free pancakes.
- Indoor hot tub
- Great location near the mountain
- They have some pet friendly rooms (though not a free feature)
- Rooms have essentially what you need, though that's about it

Con:
- Thin walls and super thin doors, so sound will travel very easily
- Tiny bathroom
- Hot tub has some kind of foam issue when the jets run....hot tubs shouldn't look like a bubble bath
- On the ground outside the second door to the inn (not the main front door), there is a lot of broken plastic and maybe glass, some of which looks sharp. My dogs don't wear shoes, and I had to steer them away from these shards so they didn't get their feet cut up.

Reasonably priced overall, and I would likely stay here again, as none of the cons were unforgivable or unfixable (though they are not likely to replace all the bedroom doors of the inn).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant or living room if you want a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iLoveSantaNellaHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easton, conn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My daughters and I had a wonderful stay at the Kidzhof Inn last weekend! We just wanted to ski for "ski your age day" at Mt. Snow and were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and friendliness of the owners! Our stay coincided with another group for a 40th birthday party but we still had a great time and plan to return again! It is wonderfully close to Mt. Snow and Simon is very generous with vouchers for discounts at local ski rentals and restaurants.
The Kitzhoff Inn is rustic but very clean, we have been disapointed before in Vermont because some hotel/Inn owners let their places get really run down.
We will be back!

Debbie, Christa, Casey and Catherine

Room Tip: Ask if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This place was a great surprise. So relaxing and friendly, we only stayed for one night but will definitely consider going back for another trip. The owners are a really nice couple from England who take great care of their guests. Our room was large yet cozy, with a very clean and comfortable bed. The bathroom is small but functional. The breakfast is included and very tasty. This is a BYOB place so you can make your own cocktails and bring them to the common areas- warm, relaxing places to unwind where you can meet new people, watch TV, or play games with friends. I would highly recommend this place for families or couples looking for a little getaway or ski weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIfoodie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Absecon, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had a wonderful week staying at the Kitzhof Inn. Alison and Simon were the perfect hosts and treated us like family. The Inn is very clean and the breakfast awesome. We will definitely be back for another vacation at the Kitzhof Inn. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avmpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My wife and I were back to the Kitzhof Inn last week and as usual Alison & Simon were the most wonderful host. They most certainly treat everyone as part of their family, not just a guest, which makes the Kitzhof Inn a great place to stay. We’re back there real soon for the Mother’s for Daughters motorcycle event in May which they are proudly one of the host inn’s for this great event. Kudos Alison & Simon.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
17.6 km away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
193 reviews
0.6 km away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
126 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
3.3 km away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
162 reviews
0.2 km away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitzhof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitzhof Inn

Property: Kitzhof Inn
Address: 332 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-9701
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kitzhof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Swiss style Bed & Breakfast Inn at the foot of Mount Snow offers a warm & friendly atmosphere. 24 rooms include Family, Queen, 2 x Double and Triple Rooms. Own bath and cable TV in all rooms. Prices includes cooked breakfast. Hot tub, fireplace lounge, BYOB bar, games room and outside swimming pool in the summer months. Free wireless internet connection is throughout the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Kitzhof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitzhof Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing