We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wilmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wilmington Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Marvellous Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a very pretty Bed and Breakfast, on the large side with 9 guest rooms, but with a warm, "welcome home" feel to it. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever been priveleged to enjoy and the surroundings are wonderfully relaxing. Your host and chef are the owners who treat you like family and feed you like royalty. This is a marvelous place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    72
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
204
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband & I needed a get away - time to regroup from demanding jobs and some family health challenges. We live in VT & chose to stay in-state. I selected the Wilmington Inn & Tavern after checking it out online and then reading some reviews on tripadvisor.

We arrived on a Saturday and were greeted by a friendly man named John - the owner it turns out - who checked us in and showed us to our room, explaining the workings of any amenities. He quickly recognized that the gas fireplace in our room wasn't working and committed to getting a technician in to work on it or let us know he would give us a credit on the room. (John followed through with the credit, which we appreciated as we were looking forward to a romantic fire).

Our room was as advertised - a comfy king-sized bed, sitting room with a TV and DVD. You can find my review of the restaurant in the restaurant section of tripadvisor; suffice to say, the meals were fabulous. We slept in, had leisurely breakfasts at the Inn, relaxed in the room and on Sunday toured Wilmington's main street stores (Route 9).

Any time we walked through the lobby John or his wife, and sometimes their son and his pal "owly", would greet us. Their staff know guests so well that some returning and departing visitors are greeted or sent off with hugs and wishes for safe journeys until the next visit. It felt more like an old family manor than it did an inn.

I am a pretty organized person and fairly compulsive about packing up. By check-out time on Monday we were so relaxed I left a few clothes in the closet when we went to load the car. I stopped to sign the guest book while my husband went up to grab the items & left my water bottle by the guest book. We got all the way back to Middlebury and realized that my husband had left my shoes beside the car while he was packing the trunk!

The owners are working on the inn as they go - upgrading items - you can see how lovely it's coming along. It is an old inn and while the room walls might let a little noise through, we slept comfortably, relaxed thoroughly (obviously), and were treated as friends the whole time we were there. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Joseph Courtemanche Suite has a skylight in it; be prepared for the sunrise. Many skiers stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtbrowncoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Enjoyed our stay very much. The inn is lovely. We were skiing Mount Snow and really enjoyed staying in Wilmington instead of on "the strip" along route 100. The staff was super friendly and our room was very comfortable- loved the fireplace. Dinner was amazing from the appetizers through to the desserts. I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We visited for a wonderful dinner with friends! If you're looking for fine dining in Wilmington, this is where you need to go! Amazing food and great atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The owners are very friendly and clearly interested in making the guests feel at home. I would absolutely recommend this inn to anyone looking for a great place to stay on a ski trip. It is rare to find accommodations this close to a mountain where the owners are on hand to chat and make your stay more enjoyable. Also, the bed in our room was, by far, the most comfortable thing I have ever slept on. I will absolutely stay at this inn on my next trip to Mount Snow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael0Brien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

After deciding to get away for a ski weekend, we were pleasantly surprised to find on a Friday morning that they had a room available for that weekend. We had a wonderful stay here, friendly staff, and a clean and cozy room. We just wish that we tried the restaurant for dinner!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We truly were amazed with cleanliness of the hotel. Every staff member were helpful and friendly. Very cosy place, nice fireplaces in the lobby and at the restaurant. Nice view. Perfect location, 3 min walking to a free shuttle to the mountains.Recommend it to everybody who really wants to enjoy their vacation in Vermont mountains.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank koanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
10.6 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 km away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.1 km away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
8.0 km away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
9.2 km away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmington Inn

Property: The Wilmington Inn
Address: 41 West Main Street, Route 9, PO Box 636, Wilmington, VT 05363 (Formerly The Wilmington Inn & Tavern)
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1894 main house with an attached carriage house. Located on a knoll at the edge of the village.Main building has 4 rooms, a large suite,fireplaced living room,Lincoln library,pub,and fireplaced dining room that is also open to the public.Carriage house has 3 rooms and a suite.Guest rooms decorated individually -antiques,country furnishings,and a splash of the owner's travels.All rooms have private bath some with whirlpool tubs and gas fireplaces.Full breakfast is included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Wilmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmington Inn And Tavern
The Wilmington Inn & Tavern Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing