We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Good Stay For Me” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Bedford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Bedford
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Good Stay For Me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

Spent 2 nights here. 2 story property, all interior corridors, no elevator. Not much of a selection of hotels in Bedford, except for a couple of independents around, there's Super 8 and a Days Inn. I didn't have any of the issues other reviewers described. Used my GPS to get there, but there is a fairly large visible sign out front. Check in was smooth, quick and friendly. They gladly filled my request for a ground floor room. Room was clean and comfortable although bed was a little firmer than I prefer. Microwave,fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer. Good TV reception with a decent channel lineup. Desk but no rolling chair. Wi-Fi worked very well. No noise from adjacent rooms (and they were occupied) but you could hear doors slamming in the hall and I think someone in the room above me was practicing their dancing. Nice view of the mountains out my window. Heat/AC worked fine and was quiet. Breakfast had the usual, pastries, bagels, cereal, 3 types of bread for toast. No waffles. Hotel is fairly convenient to what few restaurants there are in Bedford. Overall, a pretty good stay and I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    87
    60
    31
    25
See reviews for
106
57
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Our party had 2 double rooms for one night on July 19, 2008. Our stay started out well, as the lady working the desk was very pleasant, and even offered the tip that to get the best rate at a Super 8, one should call the property directly, rather than working through the 800 number. However, once we got to our room, things changed. The room (105) had a used Q-tip on the floor, and was crawling with tiny ants - in the bathroom, all over the headboards and on the nightstand. We were in the room about 15 minutes before we noticed the ants, and then grabbed up our things and went back to ask for a new room. The desk lady was very apologetic and nice, and was able to immediately put us in a different room (204). That room seemed clean enough, although the next morning we found something sticky all over the hairdryer provided. The other room in our party (212) seemed clean enough until someone dropped something, and when they retrieved it, they found candy and a Cheeto on the floor. The beds were not very comfortable, and the train whistle woke us up several times in the night. On the plus side, both rooms we actually stayed in had spectacular views of the mountains. When we checked out in the morning, the (different) lady working the desk was also very apologetic about our room, and very nice.

The continental breakfast consisted of a couple of boxes of stale mini-donuts in their Wal-Mart boxes, two kinds of cereal, and some other individually packaged muffins. Once we realized the donuts were stale, we went east on 460 (to the other end of Bedford) and found a Huddle House, which had a great breakfast.

In summary, this property has done a great job of recruiting and training their desk staff. However, they really need to work on checking behind the housekeeping staff, and should just offer coffee in the morning and give up on the "continental breakfast". I don't think I'd stay here again, but if I did, I would check my room very carefully before I brought my things in.

  • Liked — Friendly desk staff
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms, awful breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We attempted to check in on a Friday afternoon and there was a large party in the lobby checking in requiring several rooms. They would book a room, then send 2 or3 up to check it out, each time returning to say it was not suitable. The 2 spokeswomen for the group would not move aside to let anyone else check in while all this was going on, and half an hour later when they were satisfied, there was no room left that could accomodate our party of 4. The young lady at the desk made a snide remark that we should have made reservations, even though she said earlier that her computer was down, and she had no way of checking reservations. Widepark's review above is correct about the sign being hard to see, if I had not looked at the Super 8 website I might not have known where the place was at all. The website also said the was a Golden Corral restaurant next door, but the restaurant had been closed for some time. We left there, and went west about 1/2 mile down 460 and found a Days Inn, where we had much better service.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank donniedrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

Motel is not very old, in good quite location on hill away from highway 460, with view of mountain range from the back rooms.

No Motel 8 sign at drive entrance. Later saw a small low "MOTEL" (what motel?) sign obstructed by the high grass.

After driving 5 1/2 hours, wanted to check in just to change shoes to tour the D-Day Memorial. Room was not ready. The sullen clerk reminded me that it was 10 minutes to 2 PM check-in time. I registered anyway, and changed shoes in the parking lot.

Returning later, entering from the side door, paper trash and cigarette butts on stoop and ground. Room had hole in wall ( no door stop, so door handle hits the wall). Hole was stufffed with toliet paper. Bath sink had no drain plug/screen. Mold on celing and wall above bath tub. Carpet worn and sticky. Found second TV remote control on floor -how long since vacuumed?

View out window marred by poorly cleaned streaked glass, paper trash and empty 5- gallon paint can. Wood wall around dumpster broken and laying on side. Housekeeping and maintenance is deplorable.

Walls are poorly sound insulated. A "stomper" was walking about in room abve. TV in adjacent room going to 10:30 PM, and back on at 6:30 AM.

  • Liked — Quite location away from highway, view of mountains
  • Disliked — Maintenance and housekeeping
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank widepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

We made a reservation 3 nights prior to our arrival and requested specifically a quite room at the top floor. When we arrived to the motel we were amazed to discover that we were given the worst room in the house: the ultimate 2 AM walk-in room, first floor, facing 3 noisy vending and ice machines, and the lobby (TV on of course), people getting ice from the ice vending machine and the whole shebang. When we asked for another room we were told that this was the last one, but they can offer us the 120$ upper suite for 10% less. When we said we made a reservations 3 nights before the receptionist said they are operating on a first come first served basis. Most respected places pre check-in the reservation according to the request in the morning.
Well, needless to say that we had little sleep (waking up every 5 mins from 5.45am because of people filling their ice buckets ). The room itself was poorly decorated, shabby, stale and the bath was nowhere near clean.
Do yourselves a favor and stay away.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Knoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2006

Had to stay here (I'm a resident of Bedford) during a power outage where I was living. The staff were courteous, helpful, and gave very affordable rates. If you stay here book a room at the back and you'll get a beautiful view of the Peaks of Otter.
It is about 5 minutes drive into the town of Bedford. If price is a consideration it was clean, comfortable, and friendly.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Off the highway but wasnt noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Request room at back of property for beautiful view
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2005

This was a nice enough motel for the price. There was no elevator so if you have heavy suitcases ask for the first floor. The rear rooms have a view of the mountains. It was clean, but nothing special. Okay for a one night stay.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank Sioux-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
13.1 km away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
31.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
32.4 km away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
37.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
22.4 km away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Bedford

Property: Super 8 Bedford
Address: 842 Sword Beach Ln, Bedford, VA 24523-2440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Bedford 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 in Bedford,VA is located at the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The Peaks of Otter provide guests with a scenic view. The Super 8 is a two story motel with no elevator, each room contains a 32" flat screen TV with cable including 3 HBO channels, micro/fridge, coffee maker and hairdryer. Complimentary continental breakfast is available from 6AM to 9AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Bedford Hotel Bedford
Super Eight Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing