We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, Not Generous With Platinum Members” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Not Generous With Platinum Members”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a nice Courtyard. People are nice. My only beef is with Courtyards in general as they really don't give so much to Platinum Marriott members. I do think it's one of the nice hotels in Blacksburg, if not the nicest.

Room Tip: Ask for a whirlpool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucedavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear brucedavidb,

Thank you for your post! We appreciate your review of our property and your candid feedback in regards to the Courtyard brand and Marriott Rewards Platinum Membership. Our General Manager is sharing your comments with our Ownership and Marriott corporate.

We look forward to your next visit (just remind us to put you in a Spa King!),

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    45
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
22
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is a fairly new hotel. I stayed there for two nights and was impressed with the way the room was arranged. The room was a standard size but the bed was turned facing the window. It was just nice to see something different. The decor in the room was very pleasant. The TV was flatscreen with tons of choices and menus. The refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot with real coffee cups were a plus. A phone next to the commode was something different. The pool and whirlpool tub were nice and the staff was too. My wife left her toothbrush at home. We went to the desk and the desk clerk gave her a new one, in a case, at no charge. When I made the reservations on-line, I paid extra for the breakfast and it turned out to be a good deal. The food was good, all you can eat with eggs cooked to order. I don't have any complaints about my stay. I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: 211, 311, 411 have the roof of the lobby outside the window. We were in 211 first and moved. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear glenrms,

Thank you for your detailed post! We are delighted that you enjoyed our property's amenities, layout and breakfast.

Looking forward to your next visit,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My family spent Thanksgiving at this delightful hotel because it was a central point for all of us to gather. The hotel was quite lovely, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. The only disappointment was that the pool was quite cold and we could not enjoy it as much as we had planned. We did just fine with the hot tub and will certainly stay here again if we are in the area. Thank you's to the entire staff for a wonderful "first Thanksgiving away from home."

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor on the back and never heard ANY outside noise. We had adjoining king and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear BMAndy,

We appreciate your post! If you couldn't be at home for the holiday, I am glad you were at the second best place visiting with us! Thank you for notifying us about the pool temperature, I will make sure our Engineer investigates the issue.

With Hospitality,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Va
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Very nice hotel- about a 5 minute drive to campus. Nice part of town- very close to an upscale shopping district known as First and Main. Great stay overall!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTEspino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear VirginiaKaraM,

Thank you for your informative post! Located approximately two miles from the Virginia Tech, we are a short drive to campus. Great to hear your stay went well; we are looking forward to your next visit!

With Hospitality,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

First stay here and not our last! King size room was spacious. All typical room amenities worked and were good quality, with exception of tv remote, which front desk promptly replace with brand new one. Liz at front desk was especially helpful. I don't usually name names in reivews, but her attitude and service were exemplary-she checked restaurants and local activities and printed out directions-but mostly she was cheerful and a great ambassador for Marriott. As for the hotel-one minor improvement would be nice-the fitness center needs yoga mats and exercise stability ball(s). Breakfast was great, all items hot and well prepared. If you plan to have breakfast and there are 2 or more people in room, have the cost added to your room bill, so as to pay half price. if you buy breakfast separatly from the room charge, you pay by the person.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, I don't think you can get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear skiwe,

Thank you for visiting with us and for your post! Liz is actually one of our newest team members and we have passed along your kind words to her. We appreciate you and look forward to your next stay!

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbern, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Blacksburg in one of the kind spa suites. The room was fabulous, roomy, and clean. The customer service, both at the front desk and at the breakfast buffet, was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Jane R,

We appreciate your post! Our spa king rooms are great for rest and relaxation. Our most prized asset is our staff and I am glad they delivered excellent customer service during your visit!

With Hospitality,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I am a Marriott loyal with Gold elite status for years, a Marriott hotel is my first choice in selecting an accommodation; but I do not mind to give a bad review if a particular hotel is not to our expectation. This courtyard in Blacksburg met our expectations and more. The hotel is very clean; feels like it was just built. Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, and showers are powerful. The breakfast was good, although there was no hot buffet that day (very low occupancy that morning), ordering from the menu was sufficient. Service and front desk assistance were courteous…. They were very friendly and accommodating.
I highly recommend it to any one, especially those on business trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear TOURtheWORLDMexPal,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Brand and for your post! We are pleased you had an excellent visit with us! Although we opened four years ago in October 2007, our staff works hard to upkeep our property and we appreciate that you noticed it.

We look forward to your next visit,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
4.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
4.2 km away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.4 km away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.0 km away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing