We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about how wonderful this experience was!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about how wonderful this experience was!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Mike & Tanya, the Innkeepers, have the most wonderful home EVER! Spotless, quiet, accessible, wonderful food & most comfortable beds. Everyday was a wonderful feast at the breakfast table! If I could give more than 5 stars, I would! Already planning our next trip to VA in November and plan on staying with them!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPeace1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill is a beautiful farmhouse located in the middle of corn and cotton fields. Like its name suggests, it truly is a peaceful, quiet, tranquil location that is perfect for a retreat or quiet getaway. Though located on farmland, Williamsburg is an easy 25-30 minute drive. The rooms are lovely and decorated in a style that suits the house without being too stuffy or 'gimmicky'. We stayed in the Holdcraft Room, which had gorgeous views of the farm and a private bath with a large clawfoot tub (Love it!). The screened-in back porch has a lovely view across the lawn and fields, and you can relax in a rocking chair or hammock there. Dragonflies buzz all across the yard, and rabbits frequently hop by to say hello. Since there are only three bedrooms on the property, the bed and breakfast is not overrun with people, and you receive excellent personal attention.

The innkeepers, Mike and Tanya, pride themselves in taking care of their guests and adding personal details to everything. From our welcome letter addressed to us personally, to the chocolates in my room that were continually restocked, to the mini-frig with drinks for us, to the amazing breakfasts, no detail was overlooked. The breakfasts were large, country style breakfasts with eggs, bacon or sausage, baked goods and fruit. Everything was beautifully prepared and delicious to eat. The rosemary scones with homemade strawberry jam were divine! We were so excited to find extra scones in the gift bag we were given when we left--another wonderful touch.

Mike and Tanya go out of their way to pamper and bless their guests, and they receive great joy by doing it. Staying at the B & B at Peace Hill was a wonderful experience that we hope to repeat very soon!

Room Tip: The Holdcraft Room has a private bath. The other two rooms share a bathroom, which makes it a perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

had a very nice experience staying there. the hospitality was wonderful. plan on going back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenann2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Mike and Tanya went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. When we arrived they greeted us outside and helped to take our bags in. We found a tray of cheese and grapes and hot out of the oven muffins ready for us as we relaxed on the screened porch. The rooms were somewhat small (normal for a house this age) but nicely decorated and clean. In the morning we sat down for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised with how delicious it was. We would definitely stay here at Peace Hill again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B! It was very peaceful and the innkeepers added many nice extra touches. They were friendly but allowed us enough space to fully relax as well. We would definitely return here!

Room Tip: Larger room w/clawfoot tub is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krussellpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We were in the area for a wedding at one of the James River Plantations. This B&B is an old farmhouse, very comfortable and an excellent value. The owners Tanya and Mike were welcoming and friendly and made us feel right at home. Very tranquil, serene location, perfect for touring Williamsburg or the plantations or just go, kick back and relax.

Room Tip: We loved the Holdcroft room with the claw-foot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill was the perfect choice for our weekend get-away! The house was beautiful, the setting was peaceful and relaxing, the room was clean, comfortable and came with a view and breakfast was awesome-better than any restaurant (Tonya's Rosemary Strawberry Scones were out of this world!) there was enough food for 2 meals.

Mike and Tonya are extraordinary Inn Keepers . They met us at our car as we drove up and from that moment on we were welcomed with warm, open arms. Mike and Tonya had information about the local area (restaurants, sightseeing, etc...) along with maps and directions. They love what they do and it shows from the welcome to the small good-bye gift of yummy scones! Getting to know Mike and Tonya was an added blessing to our short weekend retreat.

The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill will be our "go to" place whenever we are in the area. We look forward to going back! Thanks Mike and Tonya.

Room Tip: Give Tonya a call, she'll do the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceforeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles City
16.8 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
23.0 km away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
712 reviews
23.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
25.0 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
584 reviews
21.3 km away
Edgewood Plantation
Edgewood Plantation
#2 of 6 in Charles City
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill

Property: The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill
Address: 18401 The Glebe Ln, Charles City, VA 23030-3825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charles City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect place for a getaway whether it be romantic; girls' trip; fathers & sons; families. We pamper our guests and provide a place so peaceful that they tell us they have had the best night's sleep ever. Our breakfasts are full Southern country cuisine and are served right to your table so you can chose your helpings and have seconds - or more. We include hot, delicious biscuits, muffins or scones with each breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast At Peace Hill Charles City, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing