We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic full service suburban hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic full service suburban hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

One night stay mid December. Check in went fast mid evening. Priority Club gets you a discount card for breakfast or dinner at the restaurant.

Room faced side parking lot (same side as Indian restaurant which I've tried on previous visits...very vood food there btw). see if you can get a room there # in high 20s if you are sensitive to traffic noise which starts around 630 am. Room was clean. Nice flat screen tv. Multiple HBO channels. Room quiet even though guests in rooms either side.

Restaurant excellent for breakfast and dinner. Stays open til 10.

Exercise room is not stellar. Two treads each worn and needing repair. a stairmaster & stationery bike all circa 1990s. One tread ok as long as you weigh less than 140 and dont want incline. the other I would nickname 'Bucky'. tv in there is circa 1990s too. A refurb is indicated although you can risk your life darting across Emmet Rd to the gym acros the street at no extra charge.

Not a bad stay overall. Excellent if you're of couch potato persuasion.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regman2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    107
    73
    37
    31
See reviews for
99
63
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel a couple of times and wrote an honest review, but never published.
The people work there are very polite for sure. I got upgrades every time due to the platinum status (Priority Club). But the property is aging and needs renovations badly. The room and part of the hotel like fitness room are smelly. After one of these stays, my credit card was charged with a small amount that I did not charge. So, check your credit bill after your stay. I do not recommend this property if you have another choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMXlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

A very nice property that had the only pool open though the week we spent out in DC area in June of 2008. Everything was clean and really nice, staff was very helpful, location was really good. Breakfast got messed up, they were doing a big catering for out group and at least 1 other big group, and ran out of alot of the foods, but did get more out later, so at least did get something.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This property is nicely redone. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Traffic outside the hotel on Rt. 29 can be very heavy at times. This property is very close to UVA, and its proximity along with the friendliness of the staff make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackstone_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
467 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Unfortunately surroundings are highway/mall style. However UVA is very close, employees are extremely friendly, hotel is a great deal, with a fantastic indoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: Back side with a nice view on the forest, avoiding highway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed in Rm 521. My comments about the state of repair and decor apply to this room as I found it, and the rest of the building as I saw it.
The bathroom shower rail was loose, and the plug on the tub broken. The bathroom was not very clean. The bed was about as supportive as a broken trampoline, but sleep was also disturbed by the loud snoring of the guest in the next room, so soundproofing is an issue.
The telephone in my room was inoperative, as there was no plug on the cable. The room had insufficient power outlets, so extension cords were being used potentially a fire hazard.
The patio door opened on to a five floor drop, with a railing in place. A sign on the door warned that it was modified to prevent it opening more than four inches. This was not the case. It opened fully, which would be worrying with children.
The corridors and elevators were scuffed and in need of redecoration.
The room was carpeted and among other stains I was surprised to tread on a screw. Judging by the rest of the room it could have fallen from anything!
The best thing in the room were the Holiday Inn pillow choice.
The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and deserve a better hotel to work in
I was impressed by the Hotel Airport shuttle and have nothing but praise for all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steveandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I used my reward points for this stay. I would not pay, unless it was Priceline. Older, very dated property. Dinner in retaurant was good, breakfast was not a good value. Worst part was getting stuck in the elevator. Hazard of an older hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momma0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.0 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing