We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So charming!”
Review of Oakhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakhurst Inn
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“So charming!”
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We stayed at the Oakhurst Inn for two days as a getaway from DC. The whole thing was incredibly charming. While our room (a standard queen) was on the small side, the space was incredibly lovely, and we enjoyed the public areas -- a library with fireplace, screen porch, etc. I also LOVED the cookies every night and San Pellegrino in the lobby. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S, General Manager at Oakhurst Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for this charming review! We consider DC to be the perfect extension of the Oakhurst experience. It is a wonderfully stylish town, blending rich history with modern appeal. I personally keep an apartment in Cleveland Park in order to enjoy the city for a few days each week. It is such a quick drive through beautiful central Virginia or a simple train ride away. We welcome many guests here to Oakhurst from the Nation's Capital who come for a few nights in the heart of the Piedmont without having to give up great attractions, fabulous dining and of course, luxury accommodations. Thank you again for this wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Charlottesville Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    63
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
146
180
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Very quiet and spacious. For the price however I expect somewhat nicer furnishings. No comfortable chair in the room. Great location and the staff is very helpful. $ 10 for valet parking seems like a add on expense.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S, General Manager at Oakhurst Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for this review. It is very important for us to have such feedback and I want to thank you for taking time to write of your experience. Guest comfort and satisfaction is the highest priority and we have worked with fabulous designers and local craftsmen to fashion unique and historically fresh furnishings in every room. Your comfort matters very much. Thank you again for your helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We had brunch there for a special occasion. We determined it is THE BEST brunch in Charlottesville
The food is outstanding. The ambiance is lovely. The service excellent. Philip and Hannah are wonderful owners and hosts I highly recommend Oakhurst Inn.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gigillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S, General Manager at Oakhurst Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you again for choosing to share your wonderful occasion with us! We love seeing you and your family. Please join us anytime. It is our great pleasure to have you.

-Phillip + Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Oakhurst Inn from Sunday to Monday. There were very few guests, which allowed us to have a quiet stay.
The staff was professional and friendly. Robert welcomed us and worked closely with us to ensure we were happy and comfortable with our room. The place was clean, including the linens. There are also espresso machines in the common areas, which made us very happy!
I'm giving Oakhurst Inn a 4 because of limited parking. The circle has controlled parking during the week, so plan to spend an additional $10 for parking.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SJSierral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S, General Manager at Oakhurst Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. Our goal is to make parking the last thing you need to worry about when you arrive at the Oakhurst Inn. We are indeed in the heart of the University area where parking is in high demand, which is why we have 24 hour valet service to our garage, just pull up on the Circle and hand your keys to our attendants. Your car will be ready in minutes whenever you have need.
The best part about staying here in the heart of Charlottesville is that so many of the best restaurants and attractions are within walking distance. The shops at the Corner are a quick walk through Thomas Jefferson's grounds. Scott Stadium and the rest of the University of Virginia is just steps away. The shops and restaurants in "Mid town" are a walk down Main Street and the historic Downtown Mall is accessible via the free trolley which passes by our circle every fifteen minutes.
We are always striving to improve upon every guest request and I want to thank you for your warm review and thoughtful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Oakhurst on your next visit to Charlottesville Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2014

I stayed at Oakhurst for a few nights while doing renovations on our house. It ended up being a great "stay-cation". The rooms are clean and sleek; combo of beautiful custom wood furniture, plush white bedding, modern baths, and large seating area--got a suite. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast at their café (located in an adjacent building) is the BEST breakfast in Charlottesville. I ate there every morning during our stay and have been back several times since. Since I'm local, this is the hotel I would recommend to family and friends coming to visit me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S, General Manager at Oakhurst Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
It is always a pleasure to host a neighbor. The Charlottesville community is unique in this world and just as we turn to our neighbors, we are doubly honored with the chance to welcome you, a fellow Charlottesvillian, with everything you just described, clean, sleek, wonderful rooms with excellent service and the best breakfast in town!
Thank you for this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again and again at our Inn and Café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2014

This property is conveniently located near the University of Virginia campus, situated on a corner lot of a charming Charlottesville neighborhood. Our small room was very clean and quite comfortable, offering all the modern creature comforts. Admittedly, we were concerned about being placed in a room that sits above the busy onsite Cafe.The staff calmed our worries by offering a Dohm noise maker and while we used it... it was not necessary.

The breakfast menu at the Oakhurst Cafe is fantastic- offering fresh squeezed orange juice and carrot ginger juice. The service offered by the young staff at the Oakhurst Inn was outstanding. From check-in to departure, our experience was excellent. While my husband and I were in town for work related events, we plan to return to the Oakhurst Inn, making this a future romantic weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Enjoy the charming town of Charlottesville and worry not about the small rooms at the Oakhurst Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSternReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S, General Manager at Oakhurst Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and post about the Oakhurst Inn. Our Tavern Rooms are the newest addition to our facilities here and your feedback is especially helpful. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast in our cafe and the rooms above. We couldn't be more proud of our little corner here in the heart of Charlottesville, surrounded by the grounds of the University of Virginia. And we couldn't be more proud of our team. Thank you for your thoughtful review.

We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2014

My daughter and I were on the last leg of a nine day college tour exhausted and ready to get home. We randomly stumbled across the Oakhurst Inn when another place we had booked fell through at the last minute. The staff could not have been more welcoming, the room was modern charming and the bed was sooo comfortable! The location is perfect if you are visiting UVA. This inn is a jewel!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S, General Manager at Oakhurst Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
What a delightful review! Thank you. We were so glad to have you as our guests when your other plans fell through. Please come back and visit us soon. We wish you and your daughter all the best (and can't help but hope she chooses UVA!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 km away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,737 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
750 reviews
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
300 reviews
4.0 km away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
711 reviews
2.1 km away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Inn

Property: Oakhurst Inn
Address: 100 Oakhurst Cir, Charlottesville, VA 22903-3249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhurst Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel at the University, the Oakhurst Inn offers modern luxury with historic charm in the heart of Charlottesville, Virginia. All twenty-seven elegant guestrooms have been carefully renovated to provide modern comforts while preserving 1920's craftsmanship. Our four historic buildings are connected by garden paths, just steps away from the grounds of the University of Virginia. Libraries have been arranged with custom and antique furnishings where guests are welcome to relax by the fireplace and enjoy complimentary refreshments, games and books. Many rooms are accessible by stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oakhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing