We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Mayodan, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Looking for a room in Charlottesville, found most of the less expensive ( under $100) allowed for pets. Speaking honestly, I doubt anyone cares where their dog urinates in a hotel room, not to mention the fleas etc. It's nasty!
After checking and smelling a few of those hotels, was ready to bike the bullet and stay at the holiday inn (which was gross) when we happened across the Budget Inn, no pets allowed, thank you!!
Price was around $60, very clean, nice smell, comfortable.. friendly staff.
Also only about 5 minutes from UVA medical center.
Def a safe bet!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    55
    34
    17
    16
See reviews for
49
41
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pezenas, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here 1 night when visiting Monticello. Reception was friendly & efficient & the room was adequate. Hey, for $59/night, we didn't expect the Ritz Carlton.

The location was convenient & the view out of our window was the soccer field where we could watch practice. The hotel was virtually on the U VA campus, which we unfortunately did not have time to explore.

Breakfast was limited (cereal, packaged pastry, juice, coffee) but was enough to fill our tummies before we headed to Monticello. Definitely worth the prices & would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

While the location is close to UVA, the hotel is in disrepair. We felt unsafe during our stay. The walls and sheets were dirty and the air/heat unit was noisy, and odorous. The hotel is on a busy, noisy street, which you can hear in your room. A train runs literally in back of the hotel (look at a satellite image). It runs day and night, is extremely noisy and shakes the hotel. There is not enough parking for all guests. The complimentary Continental Breakfast is s few packaged danish and an instant coffee machine. Beware of their non-posted “UVA & SPECIAL EVENTS CONDITIONS” which will cost you extra money. By far, one of the worst places we have ever stayed. Don't waste your time, money, and peace of mind. Not only will you not want to sleep there, you won't be ABLE to sleep with the room condition and outside disturbances.

Room Tip: Any room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INCAAM, General Manager at Excel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Your comments are appreciated but the reality is that you booked via Expedia and the 2 night stay with "CANCEL BY 4PM 3 DAYS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL" policy in effect. Based on the hotel policy, a refund was not issued for the 2nd night. On Mon Oct 31, 2011 we cordially discussed your reservation and I directed you to discuss the matter with Expedia. Your opinions are truly yours and I am afraid they would have been different had there been a refund.

Thank You!
Budget Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Herndon, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This motel is "no frills" but very clean and a nice place to stay on a budget. I was here to visit my son who is a student at UVA. This motel has a great location and the staff is very friendly. I will defintiely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

friendly staff, clean room,safe environment, unlimited free calls to USA & CA, close to everything, will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cretekia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

we stayed here one night to tour university of virginia. i couldn't get any room anywhere else because the town was very busy (had a football game that week-end.) the motel has a very convenient location, walking distance to the university. also, it's across cavalier inn which is more expensive than this motel (they're both motels). checked in late and the gentleman at the front desk was pleasant. parking was full, only 1 parking open for our car. it's a little expensive for the price of the room, $110.00 with tax. breakfast is included, mostly muffin, pastry, juices, cereal, coffee (that's it). the back of the hotel is railroad tracks but, didn't bother me (i am a light sleeper). the room is basic, old tv, bathroom with soaps and a tub. they have a small fridge and microwave with plastic cups. they need to change their carpet, it smells moldy in the room. there's only 2 floors so, no elevator. the mattress is better than expected. i have one big complaint, "there was a bug crawling in the bathroom sink!" i saw it the next morning and my husband told the front desk after we checked out.
if we ever come back in this town, i will book our lodging way in advance. that way, i can choose a better place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

This motel is within easy walking distance of the University and the main drag, and offers clean and pleasant, though somewhat dated, accommodations. Oddly enough, however, the towels were unusually plush for a budget motel. The room also featured a small fridge and microwave, as well as a flat screen TV. The front desk staff is very kind and accommodating. Breakfast is quite limited (cereal, packaged muffins, juice, coffee) and the breakfast room is a postage stamp, but it is certainly better than nothing. There is a railroad line visible nearby, but we were not disturbed by RR noise. For those on a budget, this is a very good choice.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 km away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.2 km away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.2 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Property: Excel Inn & Suites
Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Excel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing