We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for vacation on Chincoteague.”
Review of Dove Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dove Winds
Certificate of Excellence
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay for vacation on Chincoteague.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed at Dove Winds for 5 years now. Our granddaughter loves it! After spending several hours at the beach, she goes to the indoor pool and swims to her hearts' content. We would not stay anywhere else! Plenty of room for a family of four. I love the kitchen and the fact that we can cook some of our meals. The units have always been very clean and everything functional. The owners are very helpful with information re: dining, sights, etc.

Room Tip: We are in a townhouse and have never had any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dusty141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dale City, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our family of four has been visiting Chincoteague (often several times a year since 1999) and we have stayed at least nine different establishments ranging from motels to private cottages. After all of these visits Dove Winds is our first choice for places to stay on island. It is located very close to the beach on Assateague, clean and affordable. Dove winds is family owned and the Daiseys are great hosts, who will go out of their way to help you. The kitchens in the mini-town homes give vacationers the option of not having to dine out. In our view Dove Winds is the best place for a family to stay on the island.

Room Tip: We like the mini-town houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenWoXing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and I have family on the island and have stayed in many of the hotels during our visits the past 10 years. None compare to Dove Winds. This past summer was our first time staying at Dove Winds and I'm so thankful we found it. The minute we walked in the room we knew we found the perfect place for us. The entire unit was so clean! We have a family of five, including a baby who was under 1 the first time we stayed and had just turned one the second time we stayed (we stayed over Thanksgiving for our second time). The kitchen is wonderful - stocked with pots/pans/silverware/cooking utensils, dish soap/plates/cups etc. The two bedrooms are great, along with having two stories if you had children that like to get up early :-). They can go downstairs and watch tv while you sleep in a little! The pool is very clean and my children love the changing lights under the water. The location is great, the owners are wonderful - I have no complaints at all! We will be staying at Dove Winds for the rest of our vacations to Chincoteague!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have stayed there almost every year with my family, and love it. We stayed there 2 years ago and forgot to bring a bed rail for my son, they did not have one, but got one for us to use for free. It has everything you need in the kitchen. It is also in a great location, very close to Assategue island ( sorry if this is spelled wrong).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have used this vacation spot twice this year and will use the Dove Winds again in the near future. A family owned hotel with mini townhouses to give you all the comforts of home. The location is right down the road from the beach. They have an outstanding heated pool and hot tub! The Daisy family provides clean rooms, home environment, and are always super friendly and willing to help.

We will continue to use the Dove Winds again, year after year! This is truly a great place to stay.

Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaciNJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moundsville, WV
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have stayed at the Dove Winds. The accomodations
have always been neat, clean, and comfortable. Tom and Mary Anne Daisey are great hosts.
Chincoteague is a wonderful place for a family vacation. We hope to go back next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moundsville_WVMamaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirmeanstown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Some family recommended Dove Winds and I think I've found the place that I'll always choose when we go to Chincoteague Island! MaryAnn was so calming and thoughtful. She even referred me to a local garage when I had a flat tire. The repairman came out to me immediately.
We stayed in the Bradley Lane house and it was perfect for our family with young children. The house was clean and sheets and towels were provided which saved a lot of packing. The setting was quiet, we canoed on the creek behind the house, and had relaxing evenings. I've already recommended Dove Winds to friends and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
2.7 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
748 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,190 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
160 reviews
1.5 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
296 reviews
0.1 km away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Winds

Property: Dove Winds
Address: 7023 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2105
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Dove Winds Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing