We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for weekend getaways”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Poplar Corner
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Clean, comfortable, and perfectly located. My fiance and I spent a summer weekend at the Inn at Poplar Corner in Chicoteague. We drove up from DC with our Brompton folding bikes. The Inn was a convenient home base to cycle to the 3 mile bike trail on Assateague wildlife refuge, to the beach, to town center, to some of the best BBQ and food truck-style restaurants on the main road, and best of all, to the Island Creamery where we had ice cream that was out of this world. We stayed in the 3rd floor bedroom at the Inn, where it was quiet and clean. The breakfast selection was perfect for our needs (coffee, cereal, and bananas before our bike rides), and the porch was the ideal place for a bottle of wine and a good book in the evenings. Wouldn't change a thing! We are planning to book another weekend next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Won C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Poplar Corner. Charity was the perfect host. We enjoyed the homemade goodies. The beds were comfortable. Being a short walk to the interesting shops, the location was excellent. It would definitely be our choice of accommodations for a return visit.

Room Tip: Each room is unique in its own way. All appear to be comfortable and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 668johndoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Had such a wonderful experience this Labor Day weekend! Took full advantage of the coffee & snacks, bikes, jacuzzi, private porch in the main view room and shared wrap around porch. Couldn't be happier with the location, the amenities, and all the friendly people we met during our stay. Hope to be back again one day :) 100% recommend the Inn at Poplar Corner!

Room Tip: Main View Room is the best with its own private porch on the 2nd floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nessakranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Beautiful interior and exterior inn with a gorgeous wrap around porch. Convenient location to down town Chincoteaque and just a few miles from Assateague Island. We have stayed at the Inn on two separate occasions with different rooms each time. Both large, clean & extremely comfortable. The place is welcoming with a great deal of well thought out amenities/little extras to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We made a last-minute decision to visit Chincoteague on an August weekend. The Inn at Poplar Corner still had a room available (perhaps it was a last-minute cancellation). So we booked it for a Friday and Saturday night.
We stayed in the Grand Gables room, which is on the third (top) floor of the house, for two nights.

Positives:
-- Clean, spacious, and comfortable room. Comfortable bed. In-room fridge.
-- Spacious en-suite (private) bathroom; plenty of towels, Jacuzzi tub.
-- View of the water and the bridge.
-- Convenient location.
-- Ample free parking.
-- Quiet.
-- Quick breakfast (fruit, cereal, muffins, hardboiled eggs, granola bars) provided. Also, snacks in the afternoon.
-- Laundry facilities available.
-- Management was very accommodating, as we arrived very late (2:30am!).

Very minor negatives:
-- The double doors to the bathroom: they were difficult to close fully and they were mostly window. Even though there were shades over the windows, I like a little more privacy in the bathroom.
-- The house has central air conditioning, but even so, the third floor gets warm, so there is a window unit in the Grand Gables room, which cooled the room nicely. If the noise of a window unit bothers you, that might be a problem. It didn't bother us.
-- The room is on the third floor, so you have to go up two flights of stairs, which might be a problem for someone who is infirm.
-- The Inn uses Airbnb for its bookings.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, be aware that the Grand Gables room is on the third floor and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BetaJDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I first stayed at the Inn at Poplar Corner a few years ago. My extended family came together for a trip that was far too short. The breakfasts were amazing, the inn was immaculate, and Charity and her family were incredibly gracious.

When I told my friend how incredible the trip had been, I learned that visiting Chincoteague was on her bucket list. I immediately suggested the Inn, and once again, Charity did not disappoint. Having stayed in Main View before, I offered my friends that room and I stayed in the Lavender Room. After a long day of traveling, the jacuzzi tub was a wonderful treat - as were the yummy treats that were waiting for us upon our arrival!

We were never hungry or bored during our stay. The refrigerator is well-stocked with bottled water and Diet Coke (my favorite) and we were able to bring leftovers back with us from the many great nearby restaurants. There were snacks and fresh baked goodies available all the time. Main Street offers plenty of shopping within walking distance and the beach is a very short drive. You can also bike to the beach. Comfortable beach chairs are available to borrow. Charity is a wealth of information about the island and is always willing to offer suggestions. Molly was a delightful junior hostess and very helpful!

We only stayed 3 nights, which was not nearly enough for me. The Refuge Trek at the visitor center is well worth the time; we saw so many different birds and the wild ponies crossed the road right in front of us. The beach is clean and not at all crowded. I loved watching a ghost crab cross the beach and enjoyed the laughing gulls, even though they tried to steal my sandwich. My friends thoroughly enjoyed the visitor center at Wallops Island. The Island Creamery is everything people say it is, but be prepared to wait in line- it is worth it! There is so much to see and explore. There is something for everyone. And at the end of the day, the cozy beds of the Inn await.

I hope to return very soon!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank niff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We spent a lovely October weekend at the Inn at Poplar Corner. The setting was delightful and it was an easy walk to two delicious restaurants.
The rooms were beautiful, transporting us to an earlier era with lace and antiques. Nicely decorated yet having all the conveniences including a Jacuzzi in the large bathroom. We had appetizers on the private porch outside our second floor room.
Ample parking.
Because we came off season, we missed the great breakfasts, but were fully compensated with snacks and a gift card.
Poplar Corner provided us with a delightful getaway near the ocean.
R & K Rock

Room Tip: All rooms are charming. The third floor room is one of a kind - unusual
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
2 km away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,017 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,334 reviews
1.3 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,387 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,312 reviews
0.7 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Poplar Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Poplar Corner

Address: 4248 Main St, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2802
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: $164 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing