We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time in the off season!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time in the off season!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

While I was home on leave, my girlfriend and I made our way down to Chincoteague. She had never been there before so it was up to me to show her around. The hotel was great! We had only planned to stay for 3 nights but when we decided on a 4th night, the management was more than happy to work with us regarding room rates before the weekend price took effect. Even though we were there in the off season, the hotel was as busy as ever. The breakfast provided had to be the best I'd ever had while staying in a hotel. Needless to say, we'll definitely be returning to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACsmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It is so nice to know it is appreciated and noticed; we do try so hard to make sure all of our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
Again, thank you. We look forward to seeing you and your Girlfriend again in the future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    112
    45
    29
    25
See reviews for
109
96
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
york, pa
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel itself is ok. The bedding is very comfortable. In fact, I'd like to find out what kind of pillows they use because I want to purchase of couple of them. The pool area was nice--I really like the gazebos for the extra shade that they provide. The location is excellent. The best part was their customer service. Due to a family emergency, my sister and I had to check out a day early to come home and tend to our mother who was taken to the hospital. We explained our predicament to Raj, the desk clerk and he graciously did not charge us for the final night. We didn't even give him 24 hours notice. We figured that they'd charge us anyway. But they didn't. They were incredibly understanding. This seems to be a family-run hotel so perhaps that makes them a bit more understanding than other hotels--I don't know. So thank you Raj, for not charging us the extra night. It made a big difference. Namaste!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
On Raj's behalf I want to thank you for your kind words about his service to you. He is a wonderful employee and we all think very highly of him. We are very forunate that all of our personnel are very helpful and understanding, however, we do seem to be a little more than average. As for our wonderful pillows I fully agree with you. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

So many things to say about this great location and hotel. Summer getaway with family. This hotel has very friendly staff and nice amenities. Very nice continental breakfast daily, clean rooms, nice pool etc.! soft beds and great linens will return again.

Room Tip: stayed on first floor and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aroadmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you so very much for the great review. We all do try very hard to insure that all our guests are happy in every way. Again, we thank you and look forward to seeing in again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

we went to chincoteague for a weekend get away with our little chiuahua...we made the mistake of not locating a pet friendly hotel before arriving...everything was booked with the exception of quality inn

definitely not quality especially for $176 a night...the rooms smell of mildew/mold, the ac did not keep the room at a consistent temperature, we had to constantly adjust it...flies everywhere, bathtub not only dirty and stained but it didn't drain and the best part is finding stray hairs on the sheets...thankfully there were 2 beds...we slept on the one without hairs

overall this place was a rip off and we will never stay here again...it will be the pet friendly b&b not too far away

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoniej74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review all comments are important to us. We are very sorry you had a problem during your stay with us. If we had known you had any issues at all, they would have been taken care of immediately. Your satisfaction is first and foremost! However, you must tell us so we can make it right. I do hope you will give us another chance and I hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chincoteague Island hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Chincoteague is one of our favorite beaches near Washington, DC and we go at least once a summer. This time we stayed at the Quality Inn and found the room to be perfect for our needs. When my car battery died on the day we were to return the person running the front desk was EXTREMELY helpful and did everything he could to help including giving me a jump from his car. When none of that worked he rebooked us for one more night until a local repair shop was open to help me. We'll go back here!

Room Tip: Some rooms have cabin feel, others are standard. Depends on what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viewbychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thanks so much for your recent review. It was our pleasure to help you when you had the car trouble. We always try to help our guests with whatever problems may come up. Thank you again, we hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely, Janet Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbeson, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I went down with a group during the pony swim event. We were given room 134, a first floor king room located on the end of the building. Immediately entering I smelled mildew, so I phoned the front desk to request a room change. They gave me a choice of two rooms, one on the first floor, the other on the second floor. They explained that the buildings are built up off the ground, and rain water sometimes pools under the building causing the dampness and mildew smell. While I could appreciate the explanation, I couldn't live with the smell. I ended up taking the room on the first floor, it had 2 double beds, but that's better than smelling mildew and having allergies bother me the whole time. The room charge was $135 a night, kind of high due to the pony swim event.

I was surprised when we arrived to see so how many hotels and B & B's there were, many options available.. Although I wasn't the one that planned this trip (I was part of a group), the Quality Inn was fine, but I bet you could find something nicer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoying_Life27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that you did seem to have a problem with the first room you were assigned. We did make it right immediately by offering a larger more deluxe room on the upper level of that building, however, you did choose the lower level room. When your group coorderator reserved the rooms for your large group... he wanted all the rooms to be together and facing forward so that you all could watch over your Motorcycles! We gave you that lower rate because of all the rooms that were reserved for your group. Again, I do appologize for any inconvenience you incurred when you first arrived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had a fine stay here--clean room, nice pool, walking distance to many things on the island. I would recommend requesting a room on the second floor--the guests in the room above us paced their room at 6 am and it sounded like elephants above us--our only complaint.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlg3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.6 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#14 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#18 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2618 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn, a hotel in Chincoteague VA near Assateague Island National SeashoreIdeally located in the center of town, the Rodeway Inn(R) hotel offers easy access to many exciting things to do and see. This Chincoteague, VA hotel is close to the Oyster and Maritime Museum, the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, the Assateague Lighthouse and the NASA Visitor Center, Wallops Flight Facility. Assateague Island National Seashore is an amazing destination, offering pristine beaches and plenty of activities like swimming, surfing, shell collecting, biking, hiking, fishing and much more. During your visit, keep your eyes peeled for some of the island's beautiful wild horses. You won't know what to do first in this charming, seaside town: rent a bicycle, scooter or boat, or take a stroll through town and enjoy the many specialty shops, art galleries and restaurants. The local seasonal Island Trolley offers transportation around the area and is easily accessible from the hotel. This Chincoteague, VA hotel offers fabulous amenities and features, including: •Free continental breakfast with hot items & free coffee •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Seasonal outdoor pool After a busy day of work or play, enjoy our picnic area with barbecue grills. Business travelers to this Virginia hotel will welcome additional conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Non-smoking rooms are offered. Be sure to ask about our cozy, cedar-lined cabin rooms. Ample parking and laundry facilities are provided on the premises for added guest convenience. The next time your travels bring you to the beautiful Virginia Eastern shore, the Rodeway Inn hotel in Chincoteague offers you everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Chincoteague Island
Quality Inn Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing