We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, quiet, cozy, and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
side view porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Front of house
side view
porch
bedroom 2
eating area
kitchen
kitchen w/granite counters
bathroom
bathroom
entry
living room
master bedroom
master bedroom
bedroom 2
bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chincoteague Island, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EllBonn
New England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, cozy, and comfortable”
Reviewed May 24, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I rented this house initially with the idea of just me being there (to cover a rocket launch), but had 2 close family members join me for most of my near week-long stay. And how we all loved it! The house is far enough from the main street to hear not a thing, but close enough to town and bayside views to walk, dine, and see sunsets. There was little road traffic, and the neighbors were quiet. The kitchen had everything, right down to salt and pepper shakers. Other amenities and aspects we enjoyed and appreciated were the screened in porch, fast wifi, comfortable seating in the living room and spacious dining area, and having full size laundry facilities. Booking, checking in, and checking out were easy and trouble-free. I recommend this rental, not only to TripAdvisor members, but to my friends and family, and when I return to the area, I'll be looking first to rent here rather than even consider a hotel or other rentals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was a good location, very close to a lot of stores and attractions. Very cute layout, with a stocked kitchen, screened porch, and a lovely breakfast nook. The beds and blankets were comfortable and it was nice to have the washer, dryer, and coffee maker. The only issue was that one of the upstairs beds has a metal frame and was horribly creaky which made it hard to sleep. The slats on the bottom of the bed would fall out too, which can be very startling during the middle of the night. The dishwasher took a little finesse to get it to work, you have to push in just the right spot for the latch to activate.

Overall a very pleasant stay, my family and I had a wonderful time in Chincoteague and visiting Assateague, so many nice things to do and see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for the feedback.We will address the bed frame soon. Thank you for staying at Bayside Retreat come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient stay.”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed our stay here. Cozy and close to downtown. All appliances and A/C functioned well (except the vacuum cleaner -- never figured that one out). Screened porch was convenient for our bikes. Front porch was a nice quiet retreat for evening coffee.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thanks Gary. That is one thing we love to do on the island. There is talk about a new bike path from downtown all the way to the refuge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Latifa B
1 review
“Great getaway”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Chincoteague Island is a charming town and this cottage is also charming. Perfect for families on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd, Virginia
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Flemington, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
We're happy that your family enjoyed the house as much as we do. We would be glad to have you back and add you to the growing list of returning guests. Remember we are open year round .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing