We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price Lowest Anywhere”
Review of Country View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elkton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hot water was hot, tub drained well, great water pressure, bed was comfortable, room was warm on a cold night. Ask for extra blankets if needed. We had a fridge, microwave, & TV. Coffee in the office. It was clean but very worn & security non existent just a "credit card" door latch, the chain was broken (see pic). The walls are thin so ask for a cabin. No cell reception or wifi. We went to McD's 5 miles to Elkton for coffee. Ladies, you may wish to bring your own lighted make up mirror & definitely a male companion. Our stay was 8 nights in April.
Elkton is a beautiful area & views from the motel are picturesque.
Currently the motel is listed for sale. Bob is a great guy with significant health issues. The going price $50/nite or $250/wk tax etc included. If you can do better than that, please tell. He asked if we needed a ride from the airport! Must have meant SHD not RIC.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin when you make your reservation. Wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhea_257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We weren't looking for luxury but the motel didn't meet our expectations at all. The room smelled like smoke, the furniture was old, bath room appliances very old and the mirror dirty. The overall impression was filthy. Yes, the room rate is cheap but I definitely do not recommend staying there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank StuttgartSchulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here the week-end of the 25th of January 2014. Bob and shadow greeted us like old friends. The motel room was clean and homey. Two of us stayed in the cabin and enjoyed the stay. Its not the Hilton but for the price and comfortable homey feel this is it. Bob is a navy veteran who enjoys talking and making you feel welcome. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cblike200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here two nights in one of the cute little cabins in November 2013. It was clean and well kept. We were happy that our little doggies could stay too at no extra charge. The owner Bob is very friendly and extremely accommodating. Great location and nice views of the mountains. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for one night before beginning the skyline drive. The room was dated and slightly in need of repaid, but the bed was large and comfy, the shower worked well though did run out of hot water, and there was cable tv. Great location and price ($50) - perfect for walkers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhea_L195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Thank you, Bob ! Our trip on November 2, 2013 to see the trees changing color was fantastic ! The cabin was just what we needed for the $50.00 , and our dog " oscar " enjoyed it, too. He felt at home. The room was clean and tidy and we enjoyed being able to watch our college football games on your good cable television. We were close to excellent restaurants and shopping in town and also very close to the Skyline Parkway. We will definitely be back, and after telling our friends, they want to come with us. Thanks , again, Bob !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You can't beat this location right outside Shenandoah NP. Bob, the owner, is a sweetheart and his dog, Shadow, is a cutie. We stayed in a small cabin which was clean and tidy. The furnishings were a bit outdated and worn but the microwave, fridge and kitchen table were great. We paid just $50 which is an outstanding bargain for the location. We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkton
28.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
24 km away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
24 km away
Motel 6 Harrisonburg
Motel 6 Harrisonburg
#17 of 23 in Harrisonburg
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,334 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Country View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country View Motel

Address: 19974 Spotswood Trl, Elkton, VA 22827-4000
Region: United States > Virginia > Elkton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing