We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a day makes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a difference a day makes”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

So, having stayed at a Best Western in Newport News the night before, we had some expectations of what to expect when we checked in to this location on Saturday evening. It was soon clear that we were not in Kansas anymore. While both locations were reserved online, this one needed my credit card, my AARP card, my car information, etc. It was kind of a hassle, and I mentioned that the night before all of that information was in the system already.

Although we'd requested a first floor external room, because we'd also requested that we not be put in a room with a mildew smell (as mentioned in some of the reviews) they put us in an interior room. As we were unloading in the room, they call to tell us that they saw us bringing a pet in and we would have to pay extra for that. Busted. Now, ok, it is a hotel's right to charge a pet fee, but how about making that evident on the online reservation system? And honestly, our pampered show cat is cleaner than their hotel. We stay in hotels all over the place with our show cats, never before have we had to pay a pet fee. Only in a run down Best Western on the Eastern Shore. But, whatever.

We were there to look at real estate so we both had a tablet pc and had intended on doing some last minute homework on the properties we were seeing the next day. No Wi-fi. Despite the table top sign about the "Free internet access" that sat there taunting us, there was no signal at all to be found. A call to the front desk got an offer of an ethernet cord we could use, but the tablets are not equipped for that. They told us we could come sit in the lobby and maybe the wifi would work there. Come on. Nobody wants to sit in a hotel lobby when they can be relaxing in their rooms. Extremely disappointing. Especially to read a review here that says it's been down since at least September of last year. Buy a new router. People have come to expect this service and plan around it.

The room itself was showing some age although comfortable. The bathroom fan was connected to the lightswitch and it was extremely noisy. The sink, toilet and shower were all in the same room, unlike the Newport News BW from the night before, that had the sink separate from the toilet/tub. There was a small fridge/microwave with a small set of cabinets and a countertop.

We didn't even look at the free breakfast, we went to the diner next door. This particular location was not welcoming, or friendly, or even up to the chain's standard. I could not recommend it. I surely hope it isn't indicative of the "captive audience" mentality that you can run into in more remote areas. Rt. 13 on the Eastern Shore is a very well traveled road, there are plenty of other choices in the immediate area. This location really should try harder.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms that open to the outside are the ones that smell moldy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekend_warrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    25
    25
    19
See reviews for
57
43
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Rooms and staff were great. Nice diner/restaurant right next door and food was really satisfying.
I will stop again next trip to my sisters house and Florida after my vacation

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
393 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel on september 20th when we were driving from Dover to Norfolk.
The first room we got (#106) the wifi did not work and the guy at the frontdesk gave us an other room (#216).
These 2 King Rooms do not have micro or refrigerator. The wifi signal was weak in this room. If you skype, you can not make much movement in front of your camera. Sit still and talk and it works.
The breakfast was good and the room was quiet even this room on the streetside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our family of 6 and 1 dog stayed just one night at the hotel as a stop over on the way to the Outer Banks. We checked into our 2 rooms and they were just as reserved. The rate could not be beat which made it very economical. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was skeptical about the free breakfast, but it was actually pretty good. There was a wide variety of items and everything I tried was good. If we make the trip again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel is a nightmare. I wanted to shower twice before leaving, but not in this hotel! I stayed the night before checking into the OBX coming from the North as a lay-over.

I cannot believe that Best Western has the audacity to charge $105 for this place. It's in a run-down town in Virginia, has no elevator, is damp and dirty. The bathrooms are not clean and the rooms have a smell. I walked into my bathroom and had two hairs on the bathroom shower wall and a bright yellow stain in my shower curtain. The outside is unkempt and was an overall disappointment.

This is the first time in my travels that I felt the need to slam a place and warn others from staying. There's a Holiday Inn Express down the road a bit and if I ever travel that way again, that would be my choice!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmore hotels

CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a perfect mid-way location for an overnight when we travel down to the Outer Banks. We had two rooms - one was fine and other had a very musty smell to it. Jay at the front desk was great with a dinner recommendation. Wifi is free, though our daughter did need a cable as wireless was fairly weak. The continental breakfast was pretty basic and not bad.

Would we return? Probably, but only if this hotel is quite a bit less expensive than the other 2 newer ones in Exmore.

Room Tip: Room with exterior door by the pool smelled pretty bad - other interior room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Traveling with my son, daughter-in-law, and my 2 g'kids ages 2 and 4, I knew we would all need a break 1/2 way to our destination. For this- the Best Western Eastern Shore Inn
fit the bill. We arrived mid afternoon on the Friday of Fourth of July weekend. Arriving 2 hours before "official" check-in, was no problem for staff. Front desk staff was gracious, and helpful. The hotel appeared clean, the pool area was well maintained with plenty of lounge chairs, tables and umbrellas. Grounds were clean cut and maintained. Across a common driveway , is a very nice little diner/restaurant with reasonable prices and fair food and alcoholic beverges if the need arises. The complimentary breakfast was not great..but the coffee was hot and there was a decent variety of food. The kids went away well fed. This was not a luxury hotel...then again we weren't paying for luxury. It provided the comfortable break we needed at a fair price. Warning: there are no elevators in this two story hotel--which may be a problem for some travelers.

Room Tip: Handicapped travelers should request 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyb135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmore
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
38.5 km away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
The Inn at Onancock
The Inn at Onancock
#1 of 6 in Onancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.2 km away
Virginia Landing RV Campground
20.2 km away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 2543 Lankford Highway, Exmore, VA 23350 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Exmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Exmore, Virginia hotel offers convenient access to Tangiers Island, Kiptopeke State Park and more!Located on Virginia's U.S. Route 13, we are the only hotel in the Exmore area with an adjacent restaurant. We offer clean comfortable accommodations and a convenient location for a reasonable rate. This Exmore hotel offers easy access to local beaches, art galleries and attractions such as the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge and Kiptopeke National Park. Each well-appointed guest room features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and high-speed Internet access. Start the day off with a complimentary continental breakfast with hot items, or breakfast at the full service Sage Diner located adjacent to the hotel. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry and some business services. Pets are welcome!Just minutes from the hotel, guests can visit local attractions such as The Painter Gallery or the Turner Sculpture Gallery. Take a quick day trip to Tangiers Island or NASA Wallops Island. Guests will also enjoy spending the day exploring the Eastern Shore Railway Museum, the Decoy Factory Gift Shop or the Maritime & Oyster Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastern Shore Hotel Exmore
Best Western Exmore
Exmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing