We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This isn't the first time we have stayed at this property and probably won't be the last because of its location and the fact that the restaurant is right next door (the Holiday Inn Express and Hampton in Exmore are further removed from decent (not fast food) dining. There is nothing fancy about this place and they do not have wi-fi...and the room placement for the hard wire cord is nowhere near the table one would use to put the computer on (had to more the table). Phone didn't work...in fact the "plug" had been cut off...but the desk clerk quickly replaced with another phone. Continental breakfast was much more extensive than I had expected...more like Hampton Inn. Staff (all) were very pleasant. And the price for the room and breakfast couldn't be beat! Room is spacious if somewhat drab...but clean. All in all, not bad.

Room Tip: An inside room (facing the pool) is nice. It was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

So, having stayed at a Best Western in Newport News the night before, we had some expectations of what to expect when we checked in to this location on Saturday evening. It was soon clear that we were not in Kansas anymore. While both locations were reserved online, this one needed my credit card, my AARP card, my car information, etc. It was kind of a hassle, and I mentioned that the night before all of that information was in the system already.

Although we'd requested a first floor external room, because we'd also requested that we not be put in a room with a mildew smell (as mentioned in some of the reviews) they put us in an interior room. As we were unloading in the room, they call to tell us that they saw us bringing a pet in and we would have to pay extra for that. Busted. Now, ok, it is a hotel's right to charge a pet fee, but how about making that evident on the online reservation system? And honestly, our pampered show cat is cleaner than their hotel. We stay in hotels all over the place with our show cats, never before have we had to pay a pet fee. Only in a run down Best Western on the Eastern Shore. But, whatever.

We were there to look at real estate so we both had a tablet pc and had intended on doing some last minute homework on the properties we were seeing the next day. No Wi-fi. Despite the table top sign about the "Free internet access" that sat there taunting us, there was no signal at all to be found. A call to the front desk got an offer of an ethernet cord we could use, but the tablets are not equipped for that. They told us we could come sit in the lobby and maybe the wifi would work there. Come on. Nobody wants to sit in a hotel lobby when they can be relaxing in their rooms. Extremely disappointing. Especially to read a review here that says it's been down since at least September of last year. Buy a new router. People have come to expect this service and plan around it.

The room itself was showing some age although comfortable. The bathroom fan was connected to the lightswitch and it was extremely noisy. The sink, toilet and shower were all in the same room, unlike the Newport News BW from the night before, that had the sink separate from the toilet/tub. There was a small fridge/microwave with a small set of cabinets and a countertop.

We didn't even look at the free breakfast, we went to the diner next door. This particular location was not welcoming, or friendly, or even up to the chain's standard. I could not recommend it. I surely hope it isn't indicative of the "captive audience" mentality that you can run into in more remote areas. Rt. 13 on the Eastern Shore is a very well traveled road, there are plenty of other choices in the immediate area. This location really should try harder.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms that open to the outside are the ones that smell moldy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weekend_warrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Rooms and staff were great. Nice diner/restaurant right next door and food was really satisfying.
I will stop again next trip to my sisters house and Florida after my vacation

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel on september 20th when we were driving from Dover to Norfolk.
The first room we got (#106) the wifi did not work and the guy at the frontdesk gave us an other room (#216).
These 2 King Rooms do not have micro or refrigerator. The wifi signal was weak in this room. If you skype, you can not make much movement in front of your camera. Sit still and talk and it works.
The breakfast was good and the room was quiet even this room on the streetside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our family of 6 and 1 dog stayed just one night at the hotel as a stop over on the way to the Outer Banks. We checked into our 2 rooms and they were just as reserved. The rate could not be beat which made it very economical. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was skeptical about the free breakfast, but it was actually pretty good. There was a wide variety of items and everything I tried was good. If we make the trip again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank krp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel is a nightmare. I wanted to shower twice before leaving, but not in this hotel! I stayed the night before checking into the OBX coming from the North as a lay-over.

I cannot believe that Best Western has the audacity to charge $105 for this place. It's in a run-down town in Virginia, has no elevator, is damp and dirty. The bathrooms are not clean and the rooms have a smell. I walked into my bathroom and had two hairs on the bathroom shower wall and a bright yellow stain in my shower curtain. The outside is unkempt and was an overall disappointment.

This is the first time in my travels that I felt the need to slam a place and warn others from staying. There's a Holiday Inn Express down the road a bit and if I ever travel that way again, that would be my choice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmcandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a perfect mid-way location for an overnight when we travel down to the Outer Banks. We had two rooms - one was fine and other had a very musty smell to it. Jay at the front desk was great with a dinner recommendation. Wifi is free, though our daughter did need a cable as wireless was fairly weak. The continental breakfast was pretty basic and not bad.

Would we return? Probably, but only if this hotel is quite a bit less expensive than the other 2 newer ones in Exmore.

Room Tip: Room with exterior door by the pool smelled pretty bad - other interior room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmore
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
38.5 km away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
34.8 km away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
299 reviews
20.4 km away
The Inn at Onancock
The Inn at Onancock
#1 of 6 in Onancock
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 2543 Lankford Highway, Exmore, VA 23350 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Exmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Exmore, Virginia hotel offers convenient access to Tangiers Island, Kiptopeke State Park and more!Located on Virginia's U.S. Route 13, we are the only hotel in the Exmore area with an adjacent restaurant. We offer clean comfortable accommodations and a convenient location for a reasonable rate. This Exmore hotel offers easy access to local beaches, art galleries and attractions such as the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge and Kiptopeke National Park. Each well-appointed guest room features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and high-speed Internet access. Start the day off with a complimentary continental breakfast with hot items, or breakfast at the full service Sage Diner located adjacent to the hotel. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry and some business services. Pets are welcome!Just minutes from the hotel, guests can visit local attractions such as The Painter Gallery or the Turner Sculpture Gallery. Take a quick day trip to Tangiers Island or NASA Wallops Island. Guests will also enjoy spending the day exploring the Eastern Shore Railway Museum, the Decoy Factory Gift Shop or the Maritime & Oyster Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastern Shore Hotel Exmore
Best Western Exmore
Exmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing