We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in fairfax”

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #64 of 495 Restaurants in Fairfax
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 2, 2018

I love this place. The salads are amazing. I love the pea soup with barley too. The small plates. I don't even think i've had the pizza! recommend

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank RitaS371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2018

When we lived near CPK's over 20+ years, we went often and loved it. Upon returning to a city where we could find one after 5 years, we went with high expectations of a great experience. Sadly, CPK failed in almost every dining category. Arrived @ 5 PM on a weekday and were seated at a table not cleaned with restaurant nearly empty. After a 7 minute wait we asked to be reseated. The staff looked at us as if we were aliens for making this an issue. Nice 2nd waitress took our drink and food order and things were looking up. No way. The drinks ok but the food terrible. The pizza had almost no ingredients on top and no sauce on bottom, the Jambalaya made with southwestern ingredients, not Cajun. The dumpling starter had no filing. Since we had already made a not so good impression with the table issue, we left without any feedback to the staff. Not our usual way as I feel it is important for a place to know of any problems. But we just wanted out. We cannot understand what happened to this chain. Either the local manager wants to show a good bottom line (not a good idea when profit drives customers away never to return - hence an empty restaurant) or the corporate plan is to go cheap and stand on reputation only. Maybe diners expect crap now, who knows. Overall, a memorable and bad meal. Bye forever. The California food experience we always loved out west or other has a case of neglect in quality.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scottmeese2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

first of all this restaurant has brick oven that is very close in authentic Italian brick oven that have used for thousand of year to make real pizza, the food at this restaurant it just best, the size is right, taste is great, and the price is acceptable. the service is really good with very friendly staff. try wild mushroom pizza, you will not forget it

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 336warias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Visited this restaurant with a group of friends, total 10 people. The menu has changed considerably. The number of pizza offered are much less than before. They should also change their name since Pizza are not offered exclusively. For appetizers we ordered chicken dumplings and tortilla rolls. Both were good. We ordered California Club pizza, Chipotle Chicken Pizza and kids menu chicken fingers. The crust for all the pizza was very chewy and we had to really struggle to eat. Definitely gave a workout to our jaws. The server was not attentive at all. She messed up the tortilla rolls order and got only one order instead of three. Also she kept on saying that the bread is still in the oven and would bring only plate at a time even after asking several times. Very disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yusuf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile

We typically go out to lunch one afternoon during the week, and CPK is one of our favorites. The lunch menu has enough variety to satisfy a lot of different tastes, service is quick & friendly, and I can pay with my app. The personal sized pizza & salad combination is just the right portion size, and everything is fresh. Consistently good service as well.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Egreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing