We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Grandeur”
Review of Lackawanna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lackawanna B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Tucked into the folds on the outskirts of Front Royal, this B&B was truly impressive.

The building itself is splendid, and although it appears to be 1900s painted brick structure.
The grounds are enjoyable, but need some upkeep.

Food: Breakfast was Excellent
Service: Friendly
Beds: Comfortable
Towels: Ample
Bathroom: Nice & Clean
Rooms: Large
Front porch: Great place to realx and enjoy the evening
Parking: Small gravel parking lot
Garden: Small one adjacent
Location: Just north of town
Price: Reasonable for a B&B

Would recommend.
Would go back

* we actually stayed here in July 2011 for wife's birthday weekend, but they weren't listed on TripAdvisor back then

Room Tip: Ask for directions to hiking trails. The old fire watch tower was a nice short hike (wife was pregna...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Lackawanna B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay, the home was nice and relaxing along with amenties we did not know we would receive, complementary wine and goodies, there was even a back and foot massaging machine! Sandy and Phil were friendly and helpful, they made their home ours. The morning coffee on the front porch was the best! The breakfasts provided were wonderful and plenty to eat. I would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: pick the Rose Room, but they are all nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had a great weekend getaway at Lackawanna B&B. Phil and Sandy were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the quiche and freshly baked muffins the second morning. The room we stayed in (the Webster), is very well furnished but small (but cosy). The only tiny issue we had was the position of the TV in our room. Instead of placing the TV in front of the bed the TV is placed on the left side of the room which makes viewing from the bed a wee bit awkward. But this does not take away anything from the overall quality, service and value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Alright travelers to B&B's..........if you want a great location , beautiful home , outstanding owners , excellant advice on things to do , and wonderful breakfasts then this is the place in FRONT ROYAL !
Phil and Sandra were wonderful but not intrusive . Enjoyed a peaceful retreat here and learning about the renovating they did on the inn . If you are starting or ending a trip on SKYLINE DRIVE this is the place.
Happy 50th anniversary PHIL and SANDRA !

Tom & Patty (Boston )

Room Tip: Pick the Jay West
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midpointgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. I felt very comfortable as if I were staying at a relative's house. The hosts were charming. The room was comfortable and clean. We did have to go out into the hallway to get to our private bathroom. They provide bathrobes for their guests just for that purpose. The breakfast was not gormet, but was good. Excellent poached eggs. Great place for porch sitting and nice view. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Beautifully done in authentic period furnishings. Very quiet peaceful location. Our room was comfortable and the overall stay very pleasant. Our hosts were accommodating and helpful but not intrusive. Would like to stay again if we're in the area.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The owners were chilly and self absorbed. The bed was extremely uncomfortable – it took the term ‘firm’ to a new level. It was equivalent to lying on the floor. The decorations were stuffy and heavy. We love B&B's but would never return to this one.

Room Tip: Choose another location.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jscjbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlesVirginia, Owner at Lackawanna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Oh my. We are so distressed to receive such an unpleasant review. The review process is a good thing as it gives us an opportunity to improve on what we are doing wrong. I do not know what bed the guest slept in so we are at a loss on how to analyze that situation. We are not aware of being self absorbed so not sure what to do differently there. Our b&b has always received excellent feedback from our guests on our decor and often told it is not overly decorated like many b&b's so again not sure what to correct. Since this guest had such an unpleasant experience I would not blame them for not coming back, however, we are at a loss on what to do differently. Based on 11 years of operation with many satisfied guests, we wonder if they actually stayed at Lackawanna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
857 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.3 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#5 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
11.9 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
89 reviews
1.0 km away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lackawanna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lackawanna B&B

Address: 236 Riverside Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range: $234 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lackawanna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing