We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, great food, great hosts and great dogs !!!”
Review of Lackawanna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lackawanna B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This is a beautiful historic house that has been lovingly restored. Our hosts made us extremely welcome and told us the history of their wonderful home. We were shown where we could help ourselves to drinks and snacks. My husband loved their wine.
The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We loved meeting the couple's two giant poodles Chloe and Lily. Would recommend to anyone.However, I would not take young children there as this really is for adults or older teenagers. I would hate to see any of the
lovely furniture damaged, after all it is a registered historic home and much care and love has been put into the wonderful restoration.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Lackawanna B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

My two days at the Lackawanna Bed and Breakfast were very relaxing but certainly not enough. I would have loved to soak in more of Sandy and Phil's hospitality. They have been innkeepers long enough to know exactly how to pamper their guests. Just about everywhere you look there is a comforting surprise...wine...pretzels...lots of other snacks...biscotti right next to the coffee maker. I won't say too much more because I don't want you all to take all of the available rooms when I can go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well equipped and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marie-Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlesVirginia, Guest Relations Manager at Lackawanna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you will be coming back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We spent a few days hiking in Shenandoah National Park and were looking for a different sort of place to stay for our last day. We found this one on line and were not disappointed in the least. Phil and Sandy are excellent hosts and the home is a wonderful restored mansion, circa 1869. Despite its age, all facilities are totally up to date, including central air, which was a big help during our stay, as the temperature got into the high 90s. We don't have a lot of experience with Bed and Breakfast, but we were really impressed with Lackawanna!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful inn. Hosts Phil and Sandra very generously shared stories with us about the house's history and restoration as well as their various interesting endeavors and collections. The garden areas are so peaceful, and we enjoyed their elegant poodle Chloe too. We had a comfortable stay in the J. Webster Room, and breakfast was a real treat - fruit cup, coffee or tea, juice, bacon, poached eggs, and pecan waffles. Be sure to check it out if you are traveling through Front Royal.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twodillmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlesVirginia, Owner at Lackawanna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lackawanna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We were looking for an overnight to attend a wedding and found this place. It was a great place to stay - the home built just after the Civil War, but fully restored and in great condition in a nice location. The B&B breakfast was excellent. Nothing exotic--just scrambled eggs, bacon, and silver dollar pancakes, but prepared with the best ingredients and care. Bacon cooked perfectly and tasted great. Pancakes served with real maple syrup warmed up. Great coffee too. Also had a red, white and blue parfait (strawberries, yogurt, and blueberries) for Memorial Day. The host and my husband are from the same home town so they had a nice walk down memory lane. The owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Room was cozy with a very comfortable bed and nice linens. The bathroom was well equipped. The added touches at breakfast were nice. Our hosts were pleasant and very informative regarding the history of the house and Front Royal and the surrounding area. We loved Lillie and Chloe (the two family pets.) The house is secluded enough for privacy but close to town for easy access. We will definitely visit again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We stayed for one night in September. The house has been beautifully restored and the welcome is very warm. The personal touches are great and breakfast was the best we had during our two week tour. The room and bed were very comfortable and were individual.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
857 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
3.3 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#5 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
11.9 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
89 reviews
1.0 km away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lackawanna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lackawanna B&B

Address: 236 Riverside Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range: $234 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lackawanna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing