We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$78
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn Motel(Front Royal)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Ridge Motel(Front Royal)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Front Royal Motel(Front Royal)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$132
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Front Royal)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
83
17
2
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
17
2
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchrose roomgracious hostscomplimentary winehistoric housebed and breakfastbiscotticroissant french toastcold beveragesclaw foot tubquiet surroundingsother guestssitting roomvery pleasant stayphilsandyrestored
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 106 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2017

My two days at the Lackawanna Bed and Breakfast were very relaxing but certainly not enough. I would have loved to soak in more of Sandy and Phil's hospitality. They have been innkeepers long enough to know exactly how to pamper their guests. Just about everywhere you look there is a comforting surprise...wine...pretzels...lots of other snacks...biscotti right next to the coffee maker. I won't say too much more because I don't want you all to take all of the available rooms when I can go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well equipped and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marie-Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlesVirginia, Guest Relations Manager at Lackawanna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you will be coming back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2016

We spent a few days hiking in Shenandoah National Park and were looking for a different sort of place to stay for our last day. We found this one on line and were not disappointed in the least. Phil and Sandy are excellent hosts and the home is a wonderful restored mansion, circa 1869. Despite its age, all facilities are totally up to date, including central air, which was a big help during our stay, as the temperature got into the high 90s. We don't have a lot of experience with Bed and Breakfast, but we were really impressed with Lackawanna!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful inn. Hosts Phil and Sandra very generously shared stories with us about the house's history and restoration as well as their various interesting endeavors and collections. The garden areas are so peaceful, and we enjoyed their elegant poodle Chloe too. We had a comfortable stay in the J. Webster Room, and breakfast was a real treat - fruit cup, coffee or tea, juice, bacon, poached eggs, and pecan waffles. Be sure to check it out if you are traveling through Front Royal.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twodillmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlesVirginia, Owner at Lackawanna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lackawanna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2016

We were looking for an overnight to attend a wedding and found this place. It was a great place to stay - the home built just after the Civil War, but fully restored and in great condition in a nice location. The B&B breakfast was excellent. Nothing exotic--just scrambled eggs, bacon, and silver dollar pancakes, but prepared with the best ingredients and care. Bacon cooked perfectly and tasted great. Pancakes served with real maple syrup warmed up. Great coffee too. Also had a red, white and blue parfait (strawberries, yogurt, and blueberries) for Memorial Day. The host and my husband are from the same home town so they had a nice walk down memory lane. The owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2016

Room was cozy with a very comfortable bed and nice linens. The bathroom was well equipped. The added touches at breakfast were nice. Our hosts were pleasant and very informative regarding the history of the house and Front Royal and the surrounding area. We loved Lillie and Chloe (the two family pets.) The house is secluded enough for privacy but close to town for easy access. We will definitely visit again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews