We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great house, great hosts, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killahevlin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Front Royal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killahevlin
Ranked #2 of 11 Front Royal B&B and Inns
Asbhurn, VA
2 reviews
“Great house, great hosts, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We had a wonderful time at Killahevlin. Tom is such a wonderful host and his breakfast was better than I could have expected at a five star restaurant. The house is big and historic with great views and nice big rooms. The claw foot bathtub was a treat, I could nearly lie down full length. And the beer on tap was a nice bonus. I just poured myself a beer, got my book and settled into the big leather chair next to the fireplace.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    29
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
175
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed at dozens of bed and breakfasts over the years; few have been as perfect as Killahevlin. From the smallest details--there are tissues in the room! and more than one luggage rack!--to the bigger picture--an exquisite house, a comfortable living room you actually want to hang out in!, a delicious breakfast that's not the same-old same old, and hosts that are completely devoted to making your stay whatever you want it to be. Not to mention unlimited free wine and beer, including Harp on tap, in its very own bar. Much to our delight, we were able to make Hillahevlin our own luxurious home for a night, waited on like royalty.

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths. The Raspberry Room, it is said, is the largest, and it has a two-pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiawriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Killahevlin was a great place for my wife and I to stay as we enjoyed Virginia Wine Country for our anniversary. Tom greeted us and was very helpful all weekend. He gave us a great recommendation for NYE at a local restaurant and he even called and made the reservation for us. The bar in the B&B was fun and a nice touch. Breakfast was amazing both days and the kindness of Tom and Kathy did not go unnoticed. Great Place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Tom was extremely friendly and welcoming. Killahevlin was well kept and peaceful! My boyfriend and I had a very nice stay! Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The blue room was Amazing! The jacuzzi was gigantic, the room relaxing and the patio serene. Worth every penny!!! We will return... all the way from Texas!

Oh... The in-house private pub made the experience all the more Enjoyable. We were able to enjoy our own private night life!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biarose85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Killahevlin is a wonderful place to rest your head whil in the Front Royal Virgina area, but bring your morning appitite, The breakfast provided by Tom and Kathy is amazing and boy is there a lot of food. The hospitality and service is wonderful and the rooms are larger than expected. Over all this is a great value and i would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed at Killahevlin as a mini honeymoon following our wedding. Tom was a very gracious and accommodating host. He made us amazing breakfasts, offered great restaurant recommendations, and directed us toward nice places to visit/hike in the area. It was a perfect place to relax after the wedding.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was our second visit to the inn. We stayed in a suite in the Tower several years ago. This time we stayed in the main building and friends stayed in the Tower. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I enjoyed having no TV in our room.

Things I love about this place:

The tree in the front yard is AMAZING.
Smokers are welcome to light up in the casual gazebo in the yard, a nice hangout.
Breakfast is really good. My favorite was the eggs Benedict.
The yard is large and I was able to take quiet walks in the early morning.
There are two pianos you can play.
There's a pub on the first floor with a keg of Harpers. You are welcome to quaff as much as you like. We enjoyed a nice card game in the pub - very cozy.

I worry about the future of the inn because there are telltale beginning signs of hoarding. The staircase off the kitchen is filled with stuff. Stuff is accumulating behind the buildings in places that might seem hidden but aren't.

All in all a great place to stay. We enjoyed the hospitality and lodging.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a TV and some don't. If that's important to you, ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeCipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
5.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
2.4 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.9 km away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
14.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killahevlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killahevlin

Property: Killahevlin
Address: 1401 N Royal Ave, Front Royal, VA 22630-3625
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Front Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killahevlin is a circa 1905 mansion listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. We enjoy views of the mountains from all of our rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing