We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for breakfast!!!”
Review of Eggspectation

Eggspectation
Ranked #17 of 104 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed November 25, 2017

We go there frequently for family dinners. They have a couple of rooms for larger groups (one that seats about 15 or so) and the other is great for meetings of 20 +.

They have a bunch of Eggs Benedict - the ones I have had are great! My husband loves the French Dip - my current favorite is the Ahi Tuna salad.

Their wait staff is unpredictable - usually very good, but sometimes when they are not very busy, it takes a long time for the food, and they don't seem to be around to fill water pr ask about dessert or the check.

I have held meetings there, and have been very happy with both the service and the food.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 122 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2017

I don't know what they do differently to their grits, but OMG. I go there just for the grits. It's usually busy but seated quickly each time.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank abunchofheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

My daughter suggested this place when I visited her, and I had no idea what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise, as the menu was large and varied, the food very good, and the service was also good. The turkey club sandwich was large and had a lot of turkey. Good coffee, but the Chocolate Decadence cake was good, but not as good as some I've had. I would return when again in the area.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lipadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

The Lobster Grits w/shrimp and Chipped Beef Gravy were prepared to perfection and served right off the grill. Loved it and yes, both dishes were mine, I was a bit hungry!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Thomas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We dropped in on a lark because we had heard a lot of good reports. What a wonderful surprise that the menu offered a lot more than egg/breakfast selections (which we always enjoy). We wound up with three meals, one a sandwich selection, another a chicken dinner selection, and the third a steak and fries. We thought all three were great! The wait-staff was courteous and efficient, and the atmosphere was pleasant. We'll certainly plan to revisit to enjoy their breakfast selections. It's definitely worth a try!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eggspectation also viewed

Gainesville, Prince William County
Gainesville, Prince William County
 
Gainesville, Prince William County
Haymarket, Prince William County
 
Gainesville, Prince William County
Gainesville, Prince William County
 

Been to Eggspectation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing