We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was a great visit to the mountains.”
other travellers have booked this property
Fernwood Cabin - Close to Heaven, 1 mile from Blue Ridge Parkway/Now with WIFI
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fernwood Cabin - Close to Heaven, 1 mile from Blue Ridge Parkway/Now with WIFI
Butterflies, Blackberries and Cool Mountain Breezes Chances Creek View from Back Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Fernwood Cabin - Close to Heaven, 1 mile from Blue Ridge Parkway/Now with WIFI
Butterflies, Blackberries and Cool Mountain Breezes
Chances Creek View from Back Deck
Queen Bed Room Down Stairs
Upstairs, Double Bed, Single Bathroom and Landing
View from Front of Cabin
Back Porch, Table with 4 Chairs and 4 Rockers
Fire Pit
New River Trail.. 9 Miles From Cabin
New River - Canoe, Kayak, Tube, Fish on this Beautiful River
Creekside Brewery and Restaurant--Live Music
Personal Best Catch, Crooked Creek Fee Fishing Area---Wow- 3 miles from Cabin.
Historic Rex Theater--Live Music
Abundant Wildlife
Blue Ridge Music Center 5 miles from Cabin on Parkway
Views from Blue Ridge Parkway, 1 mile from Fernwood Cabin
Mayby Mill on Blue Ridge Parkway. Eat Buckwheat Pancakes. About 35 min. Drive
Crooked Creek -- Trails, Fishing, Horseback Trails--3 miles from Fernwood Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galax, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thanks for your review. We hope you enjoyed the mountains and the mountain music and sights. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HollyOsbo...
2 reviews
“Tranquil stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cabin was immaculate! We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the back porch nightly. The cabin is the perfect retreat into nature!

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you and your family will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky F
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you again Judy and Richard ,We really appreciate you sharing your Lovely Cabin with us once again. Anyone that wants to get away from it all ,should stay here .Your Cabin is so lovely and charming ,a very peaceful place to get away from it all .Nature at its finest and the Love put in this place truly is awesome .Everything you need is here .I have stayed many places and in many Cabins .But I have to honestly rate this place number 1 on my List .Till next time :) Have a Merry Christmas

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming and Cozy , beautiful Mountain veiw
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the cabin and the area. We try to keep the cabin clean and stocked with what ever you may need. Hope you will again visit. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the porches.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thanks for the kind review. The cabin is next to the Crooked Creek Recreation Area which has numerous animals. Hope to see you again.
Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
arbpkb
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This lovely, comfy cabin not only reflected the pictures in previous reviews, but surpassed them! Fernwood was cozy, lovingly decorated (including fresh flowers), and super, super clean! The view from the back porch was beautiful, and my husband and I, along with another couple (old friends) sat, rocked, sipped coffee, and listened to the sounds of nature. The kitchen appliances were great, the bathrooms more than adequate, and the furniture very comfortable. We took a day and traveled to Mt. Airy, NC (about 40 minutes away), where we toured the area and home town of Andy Griffith. We even rode around in "Sheriff Andy's" squad car! Judy was very helpful in recommending things to do in the area, and we so appreciated the loaf of bread she gave us. It was yummy! It was a glorious three days, and we hope that we can return!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin and view.
Liked least: Not having cell phone reception.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
I am so happy that you enjoyed the cabin and hope you will visit again soon. thanks for all the kind words. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky F
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mother Daughter get away”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Me and My daughter needed a get away to just have fun .This place was very warm and charming .We spent 2 days here laughing and having fun and getting to know each other again since she is a mother of 3 now herself .Its been long time since we had time to just goofing around and acting like kids ourselves .Love this place so quite and peaceful . We enjoyed looking at Gods creations all around us No smogged or lights from the city .Just looking at the sky at night was so beautiful ,to get back in touch with nature. Would recommend this place to friends for sure and also next time we need a get away this is the place I would like to go to again for sure .Judy was very friendly ,and made us feel welcome .

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed the cabin. It is nice sometimes to get away from all the distractions of everyday life and engage with a person. Hope you will return. Best wishes to you and your family. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcordero0...
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Greatly enjoyed our stay in this super clean and cozy cabin! What a great attention to detail! So many fluffy towels and so much extra bedding....
Did I mention how clean it was???
Love that appliances were modern and updated. Dishwasher was athe plus.

My 7 yr. old and I really enjoyed spending time together playing checkers. We all enjoyed watching family movies.. all things we don't have as much time to do too often back at home during our busy city life.

It was nice and convenient to be close to Walmart, Macados, and the Blue Ridge Parkway, while still coming back to this quiet secluded getaway.

I will recommend it to all my friends who are interested in a quiet, relaxing, "away from it" all mountain vacation.

Would've stayed longer if we hadn't been chasing snow! ;)
We're from Miami (hint hint)!!

If I had to make any suggestion at all, I'd say a small washer/dryer would really come in handy. :)
Hope to visit again soon!

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.