We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Comfortable Hotel Nestled in the Appalachian Mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Grundy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Grundy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Hotel Nestled in the Appalachian Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I started our week long road trip in southwestern Virginia near his mother's hometown of Haysi, VA. Since the area is sparsely populated, places to stay are limited and hard to find. We were so grateful when we discovered that the Comfort Inn in Grundy was only a half hour from Haysi! Our stay at the Comfort Inn was very comfortable. The room was spacious and well maintained. We couldn't wait to sink into the king sized bed after eight hours on the road! The bathroom was simple, but clean with plenty of towels. The free WiFi came in quite handy. In the morning, we enjoyed the continental breakfast downstairs before a hot day of walking in Haysi and Breaks Interstate Park. Thanks to the hospitality of the staff at the Comfort Inn! We definitely will stay here again when we're back in southwestern VA.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONtoNCtoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
8
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed 2 nites for a wedding. Many guests for this town! Hotel was booked yet employees were very good. Comfort Inn was very nice; someone always at desk willing to assist any of the wedding guests. Would highly recommend; right in Appalachia country.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

It's Grundy, VA and your hotel choices are limited. This is about the best it gets there. But the place needs work. Clerks are helpful but look like slobs. Button your color kids and don't have your t-shirt hanging out. Rooms need updating. The cheap Formica-topped furniture is is chipped and fraying and the carpeting in threadbare. No shears on the curtains and they didn't even close completely letting light leak in from the parking lot. It was clean but shabby, especially for almost $100/night with a AAA discount in a rural part of Virginia.

If you have to go to Grundy, this is about your only choice if you want to avoid very seedy and scary-looking motor court motels, but it should be a little better than it is given the prices they are getting.

And the business center--one junky computer with a painfully slow printer--is totally inadequate for 2010.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettInGlenAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Comfort Inn in Grundy is consistently clean, and the staff polite and helpful. While the hotel is designed as a standard hotel, the staff is very pleasant. The rooms are comfortable, and while older, still very clean. If you're in the area and need a place to stay, I would recommend this location. It's not fancy, but it's got everything you need for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtngirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

It was my first trip to the small mountain town of Grundy. I expected the rocks but did not count on the hotel being much. Boy, was I wrong. This hotel was probably my best stay at a chain hotel. I am admittedly a bit of a fuss-budget. I tend to look for what is wrong with a place to stay as much as what is good about it. Front desk personnel could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Housekeeping was friendly and made you seem as if they liked their work. And it showed! Our room was exceptionally clean. I could not find dust or dirt even in the places where you think no one would take the time to clean was clean. Went barefoot after a shower. Ended up with clean bottoms of my feet. A very nice continental breakfast included make-yourself waffles and sausage gravy and biscuits plus many other selections of things from which to choose. I kind of hope I have a reason to return now that I know this place exists. Two restaurants that give you a good deal as well as surprisingly very, very good food are the Huddle House behind the hotel, and Bellicino's that can be accessed through the front parking lot. Meateaters pizza is excellent with as generous of toppings as I have ever had. Sausage was real, not rabbit pellet sized crap such as the chains use. Grinders, (sandwiches), were excellent, too! At Huddle House, you can hardly beat their breakfast deal; 3 eggs, hash browns, meat choice and biscuit and gravy. Workers there really enjoy a nice sense of comraderie. It was nice to observe and they were constantly on the go trying clean or serve or cook. Great workers! Shower in our room was excellent and bathroom was roomier than expected. All in all, a most pleasant stay with nothing but good surprises.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spellingchamp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

Hard to believe there is such a nice hotel in Grundy, nestled in the mountains. They have no competition in Grundy, and they still have one of the cleanest, I mean the cleanest hotel you will find anywhere. The cleanliness of this hotel is hard to believe. Their breakfast is as good as any with the waffle maker, sausage & gravy, cereal, milk & juices. Friendly and helpful staff. Huddle House next door and open 24 hours is a great restaurant with great food and is also very clean. Something about the people in Grundy that make it a great little town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scalybark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

I stayed at the Comfort Inn from Oct. 13 through the 16th. I have stayed here every year in October to attend the N.P.C. The rooms are always clean. The staff is always friendly. The continental breakfast is always filling. Along with the normal breakfast fare of bagels, toast, cereals, oatmeal, and pastries, they also have breakfast burritos and omelets. I recommend this hotel to anyone in this area.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundy
34.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
40.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
40.0 km away
Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Grundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Grundy

Property: Comfort Inn Grundy
Address: 22006 Riverside Drive, Grundy, VA 24614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Grundy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Grundy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is one mile from the Appalachian School of Law. Additional points of interest include: Southwest Virginia Community College Buchanan County Courthouse Buchanan General Hospital Mountain Mission School We are minutes from Breaks Interstate Park. The area is famous for the numerous species of birds. Be sure to ask about bird-watching excursions. Our amenities include: Free local calls Free weekday newspaper Free coffee Free parking Fitness center Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers will appreciate access to voice mail, large work spaces and fax and copy services. Our meeting rooms can accommodate up to 55 guests. All guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, Serta Sleeper mattresses, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking rooms are available. Coin-operated laundry facilities are on-site. Whether you are traveling to the Grundy area for business or pleasure, make the Comfort Inn hotel your home away from home. We will welcome you with warm smiles next time you visit our lovely mountain town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Comfort Inn Grundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grundy Hotel Grundy
Grundy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing