We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Hardyston, NJ
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We LOVED our stay at Candlewood Suites in Hampton, VA. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well stocked. We liked that fact that our dog was welcome and there was a nice area to walk her & the hotel provided waste bags and disposal area....very nice!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snooks91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    34
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
29
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed there one night, but left a pillow in the room. We called later in the day asking if it had been found. We got a call back that they could not locate it, then about a half hour later, another call that they had checked further and indeed located it. They held it until I could arrange for someone to pick it up for us. Nice second effort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear john k , Thank you for taking the time to let us know about you stay. We were very excited that we could find the pillow you had left behind and appreciate your business and value each and every guest that walks through our doors here at Candlewood Hampton. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We've been here now for a few days, leaving today and I hate to... However stayed here while on a job for a year and a half. It was home and the staff made us feel that way. When we arrived in town this weekend this was the only place we considered staying. WOW, we walked in and they had upgraded all the rooms...we couldn't figure out why because they were all very nice and modern while we were here before. The staff is like no other and we saw the same faces which tells you so much! Free laundry, pet friendly which means everything to us, tucked in a wooded area setting with a pond to relax by...I could go on and on. Again, I'm very "anal" about where I stay and this is by far our favorite place and we've stayed in many. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeGee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel many times in the last year. We have always had a good experience here and would not want to stay anywhere else. Our pets are welcome here and well recieved by all the staff, they provide a nice area for us to walk them and there is a nice trail across the street. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the staff are always very accommodating. Even thru the renovations .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strombley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Providence, RI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great location for business stay in Hampton. Clean, quiet, great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We value our business guest. Since your departure we have started renovations and almost complete. We would love to see you again in the near future and see our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Under remodel but nonetheless a pleasant experience. Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay here at Candlewood Suites Hampton. Renovations are just about complete. Our goal during renovations is to ensure minimal impact to our guest. My team and I are excited about our new look. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spent over a week at this hotel and very seldom walked past the front desk when the person behind the counter wasn't in the middle of a personal call. The few times I needed something from the front desk I had to wait while they put thier cell phone down and I was treated like I was interupting them. I had the same problem with multple employees and wouldn't stay there again. Beyond that they allow pets which you could smell and hear dogs barking.

Room Tip: My room smelled like cats; if you have to stay there ask if they have rooms pets aren't allowed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTravel127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
First I would like to apologize to you for the unacceptable experience you had with us. Its important that we recieve feedback from our guest and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I have addressed this concern with my team members and how we did not deliver what we promise. We are currently under renovations, all of our guest rooms are getting a new look as well as updated bathrooms. We would love if you would give us another chance and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
3.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
7.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Property: Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666-1576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing