We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showy with little substance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Dulles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Showy with little substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great hotel to look at - visually appealing. Friendly counter staff. Very good food and restaurant. So why the mediocre rating? Walls are too thin. I could almost participate on my neighbors conversation and heard everyone in the hall. You have to go to the front desk or self-serve kiosk for your receipt rather than having it delivered. I will not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EduardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear EduardTravels,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our associates and your experience in our restaurant. I apologize that you weren't able to leave rested because of the noise you encountered during your stay with us. I did want to follow-up with you regarding your folio. As a company Hyatt does not deliver guest folios to the guest room anymore as an intitiative to be more eco-friendly and help cut down on waste. Guests can obtain their folios online through Hyatt.com or I can send it to you if you wish. Please feel free to contact me at melanie.walent@hyatt.com and I can assist you. Again, thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    347
    132
    65
    26
See reviews for
203
155
109
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Only stayed for one night and there are small signs of aging in this property but the service is so good that that compensates for the slight aging. Also, the fitness facility is VERY nice -- good selection of machines, very well looked after..one of the best hotel facilities I have used.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Nice rooms.Nice pool.Nice bar.Nice lobby.Nice location outside of DC.This hotel was a great stay for an extended vacation visiting Washington.We were more than impressed because it was better than the pictures and was located in an area that made driving in to all the tourist attractions of Virgina and Washington a breeze.Modern decor and clean and comfortable beds this hotel was well priced for all the amenities.Shuttles and a friendly and helpfull staff as well as free parking make this hotel well worth your stay.Its a buisness class hotel with clean and well landscaped grounds and family or work this hotel is for those who want a 4 star at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mono
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Bid through Priceline and very pleased with the hotel. Stayed 3 nights midweek on family vacation trip with teen. Free parking, spacious well designed rooms & bathroom/dressing room area with a coffeemaker (real milk would be appreciated rather than coffeemate). Hotel front desk staff is very pleasant and helpful. Very close to space museum (15 minute drive at most). Free internet use in business lounge in main lobby, complete with friendly, helpful staff.
Free shuttle bus to the airport every half hour (takes about 10 minutes) , then walk about 20 m to the platform for the bus to downtown DC ($6 each way, exact change required). Nice lap pool, hot tub and fitness equipment area -- not crowded, pleasant lifeguard.
Beds large and comfy. TV is large, easy to use and swivels so it can face the couch/living area or the sleeping area.
Housekeeping woke us up to fix caulking (they came back later). At about 3 am an electronic clock alarm went off down the hall or upstairs which didn't go off automatically (the hotel clocks should have an auto shutoff :)) which woke me up -- phoned down to the lobby & it was sorted out/shut off in about 10 minutes. No other noise from other rooms, hallway or airport.
Lots of different local food options within 10 minutes drive (Tada Thai was really good Thai food). Cinema within 5 minutes drive, mall within 15 minutes drive.
"Cab" at front of hotel was expensive ($22 to get to Sterling, Virginia, which is only about 10 - 15 minute drive), as was bottled water in the room ($5 per bottle -- the local grocery store, Giant, is only a 10 minute drive away).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizmom_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked a one-night stay with late arrival and early departure. We booked our room through priceline, which was my first time to use this type of travel-booking service and did end up saving about $80. I chose to bid on the 4-star hotel that had an excellent rating and was pleased to find out it was the Hyatt. The hotel lobby is very pretty. I attended a business conference here several years ago and the facilities are located in a corporate area and are perfect for that type of event. The room had a divided, separate seating area and desk with a comfortable bed. The linens and pillows were very comfortable and the room was clean. We needed a quick, inexpensive breakfast and there was a McDonald's nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
217 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Dulles Hyatt, in Herndon, is an excellent business-class hotel near Dulles Airport, ideal for overnight layovers at Dulles airport or for business travel along the Dulles Corridor.

Like most Hyatts, the hotel is modern, functional and very professionally run by all members of the staff. A free shuttle is provided to/from Dulles Int'l Airport, leaving frequently, starting early in the morning.

Highlights included:
-Friendly open lobby bar, with good food. I really enjoyed sitting down to a friendly server, a nice cold beer, buffalo wings and NFL, after a missed flight connection.
-Excellent breakfast! Numerous options, including made-to-order or buffet, and very prefessional serving staff.
-Room: Included a sofa and working area, with large plasma TV dividing sleeping area. Excellent bed with high-quality linens and pillows.
-Reception: Friendly, professional, well-trained.

Negative: Despite the very soundproofed windows, half the hotel faces the not-far-off highway, and with my jet-lag, awoke early in the morning to the low din of early commuting traffic at 6am. Not bad, but exists.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Washbrol,

Thank you for your very positive review about our associates and our facility during your recent stay with us. It’s not often that we receive such detailed reviews such as yours, and we appreciate the thoroughness in which you gave your review.

Best Regards,
Melanie Walent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

2 days personal, 3 days business. Wonderful breakfast buffet over the weekend. Rooms are a bit small but clean and efficient. Awesome conference service. Couldn't have asked for more. They anticipated our needs and delivered before we asked.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmpTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattDulles, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Dulles, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear CMPTX,

Thank you for your glowing review about our hotel during your recent stay with us. It’s not often that guests take the time to write positive reviews. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Best Regards,
Melanie Walent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.7 km away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
0.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.2 km away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Herndon / Dulles Airport - East
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dulles

Property: Hyatt Regency Dulles
Address: 2300 Dulles Corner Blvd, Herndon, VA 20171-3400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Herndon
#7 Business Hotel in Herndon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Dulles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service deluxe property offering 316 newly renovated Executive Suites, featuring the Grand Bed. New state of the art Executive Meeting Center with a full service complimentary business center, catering to the business/"tech-savy" traveler. Our Executive Meeting Center is IACC accredited and LEED Certified. Expanded Fitness Center and Lap pool with strength training and cardio vascular equipment, all equipped with touch panel screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Dulles Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Hotel Dulles
Hyatt Hotel Herndon
Hyatt Herndon
Herndon Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing