We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic but needs updating”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we loved the beautiful entrance and views. When we received our room we were more than happy at our amazing view of the mountainside. However, there were several stains on the sheet which really grossed me out. As I continued the day I felt that the experience was not the right price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliviarose117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead and for sharing your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room accommodations. We have just recently completed a $25 million renovation to the resort and more improvements are being planned, including the purchasing of new linens. It is our hope that you will return again in the future so we may show you a truly great Homestead experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,717
    1,241
    611
    302
    145
See reviews for
1,663
1,971
74
755
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, NC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is one of the "old style" resorts that folks used to spend a month in the summer and holidays on the grounds without leaving. The ambience is grand from the first sight of the grounds to the great service when you check out. Unfortunately, I was here on business so didn't get to use any of the special amenities that are available to regular guests. The room I had was one of the lower tier rooms for "special" rates. It was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the room had a distinct musty "old building, old air conditioner" smell. My room had a view of a tree, really, that's all I could see. Fortunately, again, I was on business so this didn't really bother me. Had I been here on a golf outing or some other package I would have been disappointed. They have just been taken over by OMNI and seem quite pleased with the new direction that management is taking them. Oh, don't try and follow your GPS, come in from Covington on the south and stay on 220 until you see the signs.

Room Tip: Try and not stay in the "Garden" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clloydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review of The Homestead and for recommending to your fellow travelers to not follow GPS directions to The Homestead. We do recommend that all visitors to The Homestead use our directions posted on our web site. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a fabulous time. The Omni really did a great job updating the facility. The pools were amazing. It's a great place to visit during colder months, espcially since the pools are heated year round. There were loads of activitities for us. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My girlfriend and I spend two nights at The Homestead and thoroughly enjoyed it. The place is huge, and was mostly empty when we were there, but it never felt uncomfortable (or haunted, as my girlfriend was worried!). The place reminded us of the resort in Dirty Dancing, somewhere that back in the day was for rich folk in the northeast to spend their summers, without ever leaving the premises. There are huge pools, golf courses, activities, history tours etc to pass the time, but most are charged additionally, so bring plenty of money if you want to enjoy all the Homestead has to offer.
The room was very large and very comfortable, and the service was excellent. It seemed sometimes as though there were more staff than guests. The food at the resort restaurants is overpriced (as is much there), but there are decent options nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanryan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We had been here before but many years ago. Since the Omni bought it I feel the service has improved. The rooms are being updated and we stayed in a newer wing. We enjoyed the golf and the main dining room is quite nice. From Richmond a very leisurely drive of 3 hrs., but well worth it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molarman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville VA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was here for a ladies golf outing, sharing a room, on the MAP plan. From our arrival at the front doors of the main hotel, tired and shabby were at the forefront. The carpet lat the outside entrance was worn and frayed, the front desk employees appeared rather unkempt and minimally welcoming. The bell staff were excellent, friendly and professional. High tea was being served inthe lobby, which was full of sloppily dressed guests, although many of the men had dressed themselves up with baseball caps. Our room was in desperate need of updating- dirty carpet, reddish brown stains on the coverlets of both beds, peeling & dis colored paint in the bath, two tiny pillows on each bed and worst of all, an ancient cooling system that wheezed off and on all night. The dinner was marginal and the service desultory. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The hotel charges $19.95/day for Internet access, ridiculous at the room rates.
The high point were the excellent golf courses and golf staff. However, the halfway houses on both courses are dilapidated, dirty and are nowhere near the quality you would expect to see at a resort with such fantastic golf.
I have been going to The Homestead for ten years and there has been a steady declines the physical plant and overall ambience of the hotel. Outdoor brick steps are shored up with planks, the golf women's locker room and the other restrooms in that building are horrid, smelly and dirty.
I realize that this place has recently changed hands for the second time in ten years. Hopefully Omni (new owners) will bring this charming resort back up to the quality it deserves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjd190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and for being so candid in your remarks. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit; however, we do apologize for not meeting all of your expectations. Just this year we spent $25 million to renovate many areas of the resort including our Spa, dining venues and other areas. Exciting plans are underway for more improvements in the future. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Springs, WV, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have always enjoyed visiting the Homestead. This was our first visit since Omni took over the Hotel. The Hotel is getting some age and while well maintaoned, it does show some small cracks. We feel it adds charater. We were extremely pleased with the food quality. Greatly improved in the Main Dinning Room. So good we ate there all 3 evenings. Woody Pettus and our waiter - Oscar treated us like royalty! We always enjoy talking to the staff. Maintance, lifeguards front desk, bellhops, doorman, clerks, everybody is extremely kind and friendly. They are what makes the Homestead special. We were glad to see the Cascades Hike Guide Brian is still there. He is great! New pool area is very nice. A wonderful weekend! Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank J. C. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Homestead to celebrate your 30th anniversary. It is always good to hear from our repeat guests as your opinions are very important to us. The experience that you've so candidly described is what we try to create for every one of our guests. Our staff genuinely loves to make special occasions even more "special," so we're always pleased when guests choose to celebrate their anniversary or honeymoon with us. Be assured that your kind comments will be shared with our staff and I know they will be pleased you took the time to recognize their efforts to be of service. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we hope that you will share many more anniversaries with us! Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
27.4 km away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
6.6 km away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
211 reviews
4.7 km away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
184 reviews
6.8 km away
The Anderson Cottage Bed and Breakfast
19.1 km away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Property: The Omni Homestead Resort
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs
The Omni Homestead Resort Virginia/Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing