We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prestine Getaway/Mini-moon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My wife and I recently returned from a 3 night 4 day Mini-Moon stay at the Homestead and it was the perfect retreat from wedding stress and city living caos. As this was our 2nd stay we knew what we were getting ourselves into, and already look forward to our next stay.

We booked a Jr. Suite, which we received as a free upgrade (nice surprise!). Between the amazing hiking trails, numerous activities, daily tea served butler style at 3pm and great dining you'll still have time to lounge and enjoy this Hotels Historic Southern Charm. Prices are comparable to DC, NYC dinners for the two of us ranged from $70-$160 depending on how many drinks we consumed. Lunch ranged from $40-$60 and the breakfast buffet (which is HUGE) is $25 per person.

Every hotel employee we interacted with was extremely helpful, pleasant and went above and beyond to assure our stay was excellent.

I do suggest booking dinner reservations, spa treatments and activites in advance as they tend to book quickly.

To end, yes the Homestead is difficult to get to (you're in the middle of no where in between mountains) and that's why its a great place to go!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeebs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,301 - 5,307 of 5,459 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

We loved our stay at the Homestead Owner's Club. The accommodations were beautiful and lush...the scenery amazing, and the property of the Homestead was exquisite, yet fun for the whole family. The kids and we enjoyed bowling (only $12 /person) and a family fun harvest fest on Saturday night. The food in the formal dining room was delicious, and the more dressy atmosphere was still kid-friendly; my daughter loved getting to dance with her daddy to the three-piece dinner orchestra.

Service was a bit slow at the restaurants, but otherwise, the staff was friendly and helpful. Shuttle service to and from the Owner's Club to the main hotel was quick and convenient.

loved loved loved it. We didn't take advantage of all there was to offer, but we crammed enjoyable activities into our weekend gladly. Kids especially loved the hour-long scenic hayride...complete with stop at the ski lodge's outdoor fireplace to cook s'mores!

expensive, so not for a quick cheap getaway, but if you want a special mini-vacation, go go go!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

What cool old place! We did the ropes course with my company amd had a great time in the lounge at night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I find this a very difficult hotel to review. It is in a nice setting but fairly well off the beaten track with not a great deal of interest (for us) in surrounding areas. The hotel looks and is imposing on arrival. The turn-off for me was the Reception staff who were so far up themselves it was untrue. Against that, other departments - door staff, restaurant, etc were good. Pettifogging regulations such as jacket, collared shirt required and tie preferred for dinner, or, no denim in the Great Hall (Reception) are, to me, both outdated and unnecessary. Others will think it maintains standards.
Room change required (due to extractor fan blowing outside the window) was effected pleasantly enough and the replacement room was excellent (still a great view of a flat roof and aforesaid extractor fan mind).
Absolutely excellent very large, vintage (1920's?) swimming pool with naturally fed hot spring water.
It's really not for us who like a relaxed, luxury hotel; many others will adore it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The Homestead gives a nice feel for the history of the place. How often do you get to stay in a hotel where 22 Presidents visited? The grounds are well kept and the town is unique. We did spa and golf and both were very good. The free room upgrade is a nice touch, as is the afternoon tea.

The service charge is a bit frustrating, but they tell you about it when you make the reservation. The room was clean and (minus a few maintenance issues) in good shape given the age of the building. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0rningc0ffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The confirmation stated "For your convenience a 20% service charge will be added to your services." I did not find it "convenient" that I had to pay 20% above and beyond the $230.00 fee for my 70 minute hot stone massage and body scrub and the $195.00, 70 minute facial. The services were rendered by friendly, professional staff, deserving of a generous service charge, but in my world I cannot justify to pay over $500.00 for a massage, body scrub and a facial, which does not even include deep cleansing...
Having my chin length hair washed and blown dry after the spa services was an additional $54.00...
Another surprise at checkout was learning that the daily charge for parking is $15.00 - hello, this is not New York!
Other than that, the resort is lovely, all employees are exceptionally friendly and accommodating and the food all in all was good, best at Sam Sneads and the 1776 Grille, mediocre in the dining room. The rooms are nicely appointed, but the loud air conditioning units are somewhat annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lablover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We have stayed at this location numerous times. We have stayed as part of the "Owners Club", a series of homes up the hill, as well as in the hotel itself on 3 seperate occasions (normal room twice, suite once).

NOT impressed with the A/C in the rooms. They are old, noisy, and hard to adjust to with the darn things cycling on and off to maintain a temperature. Not much you can do based on the outside temperature...

The hotel is lovely. Hiking the paths outside is a wonderful day-trip. Other activities such as the spa, the pool, bowling, etc. are all fun and worth doing. Bowling is a bit pricey though. The afternoon tea service is OK, not really a full tea but merely some drinks and a few cookie type items. Nothing to write home about, but fun to try.

A key point is that one should always ask on prices before doing events at the hotel. Their prices are way high, and service charges are tacked onto everything. They have lost our business due to the high prices, and lack of customer service on resolving issues that would seem academic. A good example - we were on the meal plan for one of our stays - big mistake. If you don't fit your schedule into their times exactly, you'll wind up double paying, and getting charges modified/reversed is very difficult, and not worth the effort.

Pay attention to your bills at the restaurant. They attempted on more than one occasion to bill the kid entree as an adult, had incorrect charges on the room and meal bills, and some restaurants (the 1766 grill I think), has surcharges for those on the meal plan, and has minimum charges to eat there. Arguably the food isn't worth those prices there.

It appears that the hotel is declining in service and quality. Having been going there 1-2 times a year for the past 8 years, we notice that the service is snarkier than ever, the prices higher, the occupancy lower, and the quality of food not something to write home about.

I have to give the hotel an average rating, and might have given it a lower one if I didn't wait a couple of months since being there. For the time driving from DC (about 5 hours), we could have flown to much better places than the Homestead.

Food - uninspiring for the price
Service - mediocre for the price
Location - very nice.
Rooms - ok, not spectacular, even the suites were fine in terms of size, but nothing great to write back about
Overall value? Go to a Fairmont for the price. Much better quality, attention, service, food, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
27.4 km away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
28 reviews
27.4 km away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
6.6 km away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
58 reviews
19.1 km away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
64 reviews
23.2 km away
Fort Lewis Lodge
Fort Lewis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Millboro
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445-2775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: $251 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs
The Omni Homestead Resort Virginia/Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing